Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority Reviews

Updated 30 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority CEO Robert J. Soper (“Bobby”) (no image)
Robert J. Soper (“Bobby”)
2 Ratings
  1. "Diverse environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Players Club Representative in Uncasville, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    Relationships with other employees, Benefits, Discounts, Friendly, Diverse

    Cons

    Stand up for 8 hours No Gambling

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-04-15
  2. "Loved my job, wish I hadn't been forced to leave it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Coin Banker in Uncasville, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really loved everything about my job. The employees were great, supervisors were all very good. One hour paid lunch. Cafeteria was very good, and the food was amazing. Customers on the floor were generally nice, although of course you do get some jerks. I loved the perks of working at Mohegan Sun, too. Gym membership was really inexpensive, and their equipment was top line.

    Cons

    You're always in a smoking environment. This wasn't an issue when I worked there, because I was a smoker at the time, but it might be for some people. Customers can be real jerks sometimes. It's not our fault they lost all their money. Don't get hurt at work. If you become disabled for any reason whatsoever, you will be forced to quit (which is what happened to me). It's somewhat difficult to switch positions here,... although they do have a job board to which you can apply, but there are a LOT of rules as to when and what you can apply to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't really have any advice. Things ran quite smoothly in my department. I just wish I'd been able to keep working for them...

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-03-24
  3. "Great experience. The entire environment feels team oriented, friendly and fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    Great staff, pay, benefits, training, and more!

    Cons

    No sunlight for hours which can be a drag. However, it is an enjoyable place to work at and so beautiful inside!

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-03-18
  4. "Financially prudent company that takes care of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Uncasville, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    Opportunities to expand your career within the company, salary, benefits

    Cons

    Promotion of incompetent people, mean gamblers

    Advice to Management

    Promote the smart people not the connected folks

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-03-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Loved working for the culinary team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    Family type environment. Worked with great chefs and professionals in the industry. Worked in many different food outlets. I Was lucky to work with a great team.

    Cons

    Down turn in economy forced layoffs. Company got away from their values and didn't stay the course. Senior management made decisions based on profit instead of people.

    Advice to Management

    Management needed to stay the course. Don't get too big to fast because you will loose sight of who you are.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-02-27
  6. "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Transportation 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    Besides being able to make alittle money at times nothing.they just take away and keep taking

    Cons

    Tribal members work along side you and give terrible customer service but never get any reprimand. They will lay you off or fire you if they need to cut staff for no reason.

    Advice to Management

    Your some of the worst management I've seen.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-04-05
  7. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    Well, it is a job.

    Cons

    You have no rights as a worker, they can lay you off, take away benefits, cut hours, cut pay, which they readily do. The casino industry in CT is dying, so there's not enough money to go around. (Well the big guys still take the same pay, just not enough left for the rest of their employees)

    Advice to Management

    Get ready to close the casino, it's not going to last another 10 years.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-03-05
  8. "Shared Labor Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of departments, jobs and tasks change from day to day

    Cons

    High volume of customer interactions, different managers and coworkers for different events

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-02-26
  9. "Sometimes you need to stop blaming the players and start blaming the coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company health insurance plan was amazing, exciting environment and room for rapid growth

    Cons

    Poor leadership on some levels, when profits started to fail, they immediately cut employee salary and benefits before anything else was cut

    Advice to Management

    Get a new leader.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-02-16
  10. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    Low maintenance job easy to do.

    Cons

    No room for advancement unless tribal

    Advice to Management

    Bad

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2015-02-18
Found 82 reviews