Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority CEO Robert J. Soper (“Bobby”) (no image)
Robert J. Soper (“Bobby”)
2 Ratings
  1. "Sleazy company, all smoke and mirrors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    If there's nothing else available it serves as a way to make money.

    Cons

    We were given bonuses twice a year, we were given raises once a year. We were given a small gift at Thanksgiving and Christmas , we were also given a benefits package. They have eliminated all of the above as well as implementing policies to make it hard to get hours. We used to have a fair treatment policy to provide a check and balance but now they just fire you on the spot and walk people out the back door... with no recourse because there a sovereign tribal naton and are not bound by labor laws.

    Show More
    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-06-14
  2. "was great now is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Direct deposit, not far to drive to. Very nice parking garage. Color TV's in the dining room, with free milk. Free uniforms

    Cons

    Treated very poorly. Very low morale. upper management out for themselves

    Advice to Management

    Stop surrounding yourselves with yes people

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-06-30
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very nice people, great employee benefits at a great price, good pace of work

    Cons

    The tribal politics extend to the work environment. Tribal and Native American preference lead to less qualified people become managers and executives. The "right to rule" by bloodline didn't work for the kings and czars of Europe and it doesn't work in the business world either.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with the employees and turn career development for tribal members to the Council of Elders. They don't have to be re-elected so they can make the tough decisions.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-04-28
  4. "Increasing competition puts strain on workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Spectacular venue for hospitality & retail-oriented positions. Good initiatives in play to recognize outstanding contributions. Very rarely a boring day.

    Cons

    Training has become much more lax as of late. Increasing financial stress has naturally led to job insecurity, and morale-building is haphazard.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management does not project confidence in the current property and most strategic communication is regarding possible future properties. No real indication to current staff on how to procede if the market is tapped out. Benefits per dollar garnished have diminished dramatically. Due to lack of clarity in directives, some middle managers prefer cultivating relational and perceptual value instead of focusing... on efficiency.

    Show More
    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-04-08
  5. "Former Pit Manager with benefits rehired at BASE PAY and NO BENEFITS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pit Manager in Uncasville, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed building and developing friendships with many co-workers and players. The company offers free meals and unlimited free beverages throughout the shift.

    Cons

    No reward for a job well done. The layoff process was based on something as arbitrary as your time in current position and not time with the company or based on job performance. They are currently hiring many people back at full time with no benefits at the starting salary for all table game positions.

    Advice to Management

    Reward employees that do a good job servicing your guests and co-workers and get rid of the ones that do not. Put some thought into layoffs, if you must do them respect your good employees that are out there on the front line day in and out servicing your guests.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-03-18
  6. "It was ok."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shared Labor in Montville, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good people to work with, able to build relationships, new grill open for employees!

    Cons

    Hassle - getting there, employee shuttle, Uncas Mile back of house, you're lucky if your manager is nice.

    Advice to Management

    Place more of an emphasis in making Shared Labor employees happy. They deal with the majority of patrons but are treated the worst and looked down upon. Also, consider a pay raise.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-03-09
  7. "Usher and Ticket Taker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

    Pros

    You get time and a half on holidays.

    Cons

    You have to work on holidays.

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-02-18
  8. "clearly one of the best places I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Uncasville, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time

    Pros

    Exposure, exciting atmosphere, profesional training, and great opportunities

    Cons

    Thaousands of employees, and riding a bus each day from employee center

    Advice to Management

    Need to have more experienced management

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-01-16
  9. "Comfortable work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment,very team oriented and they do give back to their employes. They offer many benefits such as a free hot meals including a salad bar and many extras. Discounted dry cleaning and safe environment

    Cons

    It can be a bit hard to move up

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-01-06
  10. "it was great experience for me to work such a well known company because i have felt that greatness of the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    for best job experience and to breath what is real well known company

    Cons

    i dont have idea for the cons

    Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority2014-01-04
Found 82 reviews