Monarch (NC) Reviews | Glassdoor

Monarch (NC) Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Monarch (NC) CEO Dr. Peggy S. Terhune  (no image)
Dr. Peggy S. Terhune
7 Ratings
  1. "Arts Specialist Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist/Designer/Teacher/ETC in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Monarch (NC) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My job is the best!

    Cons

    I was2 sick 2 stay.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!!!!

    Monarch (NC)2016-03-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IIHS TL 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monarch (NC) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for many community mental health agency over the past 9 years in three different states, and this one has to be the ONLY agency in which I can't think of anything good about being an employee here. I don't feel that there really was anything GOOD that I enjoyed about the job honestly. I think anything beyond 6 months if you are working a direct care type of position with this agency is enough for you... to learn what you can, get trainings under your belt, and move forward in your career elsewhere.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you haven't worked there for at least a year and resign, you will NOT get paid out for any PTO that you accumulate during your tenure there. If you are a budding therapist, looking to really make an impact and difference, then Intensive In-Home services is NOT for you. About 65% of the job is case management and social work, maybe 35% actual therapy-related activity. Even with that small percentage of doing... therapy, I felt that most of what was done was ineffective, as there is not much emphasis on therapeutic success in this type of service, only productivity and how much money is being made. Your typical overworked/underpaid type of job even with a Master's degree and license. Work-life balance is really non-existent because you are in a supervisory role and there is always something to do in order to truly be somewhat useful and effective (if you take your job seriously, as some do not).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Evidence-based effectiveness because it doesn't seem that most of the individuals served in intensive in-home do not really benefit from the services because they almost seem pointless. The most important thing that management should pay attention to is the company morale as a whole. Everything seems to be focused on how much money is coming in and being micro-managed about every aspect of your job, which doesn't... increase anyone's motivation to report to work each day.

    Show More
    Monarch (NC)2019-04-04
  3. "Developmental Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Monarch (NC) part-time

    Pros

    The people we support, some new programs

    Cons

    Pay, rights violations, management's involvement, employee apathy

    Monarch (NC)2018-12-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Would be better if you really listen to people in the field and provide adequate resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QUALIFIED MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL 

    I have been working at Monarch (NC) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meaningful work Some great co-workers Flexible schedule

    Cons

    They want you to perform as a professional but do not pay you as one Not enough resources provided (use your own phone, car, etc) Feedback from those in the field is not always taken seriously - management kind of shrugs it off like "yeah, it sucks, but that's how it is" Sometimes put employees in no win situations where they can't do their job without breaking a rule but if they get caught breaking the rule they... risk getting in trouble You can move around to different teams, but not much actual advancement opportunities

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the feedback of those in the field seriously and make true changes accordingly. Don't expect highly professional services to be provided by people that you do not pay as professionals. Make sure your employees have the personnel, training, support, guidance, and resources they need and if you can not provide them, then don't expect the employees to perform without them - make adjustments and allowances for the... lack so that your employees aren't suffering. They can not help the vulnerable if they themselves are being exploited and burnt out by their agency so that reports look good.

    Show More
    Monarch (NC)2018-10-09
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Monarch (NC) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible with needing time off.

    Cons

    The upper management of this organization cares nothing about their employees. There are way too many Chiefs! Very top heavy. The worst communication of an organization ever! Favoritism is everywhere in this organization. Backstabbing on a daily basis. It compares to a middle school environment. Stay away from this place!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees!

    Monarch (NC)2018-10-30
  6. Helpful (4)

    "You literally would not believe how bad it is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monarch (NC) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the care-giving staff was absolutely selfless

    Cons

    poor management, poor pay, expect the most from their least-paid

    Advice to Management

    It is obvious that this company chose to work in NC for a reason, a complete lack of mental-health care at all. This company wouldn't have even gotten its doors open in most states. The care-giving staff are treated as expendable resources. The harder you work for the company, the more they take advantage of you. Raises are absolutely out of the question. In fact, they would not even permit us to discuss wages and... conditions amongst workers, stating "you chose this job" and "you are only here at the will of Monarch" as reasons. This is a federal crime and I have news for Monarch: You are only here at the will of the state of North Carolina, who I can promise you is going to hear about this.

    Show More
    Monarch (NC)2018-07-29
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Horribly Run Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monarch (NC) full-time

    Pros

    All the wonderful people with intellectual and developmental disabilities I worked with each day. It was the only thing that made the job bearable.

    Cons

    Poor management, extremely high employee turnover, horrible benefits, meager pay. If you truly care about the people and do a great job with and for them, you will be on the bottom of the totem pole. If you can speak like a politician with a forked tongue, then you may be able to get decent hours with half decent pay. Never count on decent pay though. The harder you work for Monarch, the more they will take... advantage of you without compensating you. I have truly never worked for a more horrible company. The only thing that kept me there were the members of the day program. I strongly advise anyone to think long and hard about working at any Monarch and only do it if you have no other options. If you do decide to work at Monarch, please don’t take your dissatisfaction out on the people served there. I saw this too many times, and it is not their fault Monarch is a sorry company. Seriously, be careful of working at Monarch.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees. Compensate them for a job well done instead of just paying lip service. Maybe then you could keep your good employees and help your turnover rate. You have a lot to do to get to that point Dr. Terhune.

    Monarch (NC)2018-05-19
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lcsw 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Monarch (NC) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Made some good friends at work.

    Cons

    No raises, no employee appreciation, extremely short staffed, high turnover, there is a disconnect between management and the employees, they have very poor insight into mental health care, nepotism is very much an issue, money hungry,poor communication.

    Advice to Management

    Begin caring about your staff

    Monarch (NC)2018-04-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "On my way out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Administrator in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Monarch (NC) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I made some really nice friends

    Cons

    Little pay, unorganized, nepotism, and management that do like marginalized populations.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and you could be a good company. Stop hitting family only. Quit laying off staff and splitting their salaries among the favorites.

    Monarch (NC)2018-01-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Look elsewhere unless you really can't find work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Monarch (NC) full-time

    Pros

    Helping people. This is why we do this work but it is hard to do it well at Monarch with the workload and other problems. My work friends are awesome.

    Cons

    Clearly there are huge money problems. Staff positions are not being filled that need to be. There are no raises. Salaries are poor to begin with. Everyone has more and more work to do because positions are vacant. Horrible micromanagement. Completely disorganized company with too many high paid leaders and not enough staff doing the work. More and more staff are leaving.

    Monarch (NC)2017-05-27
Found 24 reviews