Monash University Reviews | Glassdoor

Monash University Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Monash University CEO Margaret Gardner
Margaret Gardner
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you have the right skills then there are a lot of opportunities for career progression in mainly the academics field(in 10 reviews)

  • "low commitment for full time wages(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flexible and FUn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monash University part-time

    Pros

    They are happy to work around your schedule as a student and assist you with any issues you have within the system.

    Cons

    Very few cons, the only issue might be that your work life and personal life are very hard to separate.

    Monash University2017-08-02
  2. "Good environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lecturer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Monash University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, great and beautiful city of Melbourne.

    Cons

    Slow growth or promotion, heavy teaching workload.

    Monash University2019-01-19
  3. "PhD Candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Monash University full-time

    Pros

    Overall, the administration side of things is very good. There are clear systems in place to ensure that doctoral candidates can take full advantage of the resources of the university. Graduate funding is also generous.

    Cons

    I am a student in the Graduate Research Interdisciplinary Program, which is now called the Graduate Research Industry Partnership (GRIP). My experience of the program has been negative, with little consideration of the pedagogy of interdisciplinary learning and research.

    Monash University2017-12-14
  4. "Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Monash University full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues and good benefits

    Cons

    Far commute, campus could be nicer

    Monash University2017-01-24
  5. "Great range of sports and easy to use booking system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monash University part-time

    Pros

    great booking system and team to work with

    Cons

    Constantly changing work hours makes it difficult to organise your life.

    Monash University2016-12-19
  6. "Nice and relaxed environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monash University for less than a year

    Pros

    You can do so many things in the Campus Centre. They have banks, post office, travel agents, etc. People in the climate group were very friendly.

    Cons

    Salary could be better. Usually when they publish jobs they write the number including superannuation, so your actual pay is less that what it looks at first glance.

    Advice to Management

    Not really applicable to me. I was working with my PhD supervisor processing data from flux tower stations.

    Monash University2016-12-18
  7. "monash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Officer in Clayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Monash University

    Pros

    Fair, huge employer, good people

    Cons

    Lot short term contracts given

    Advice to Management

    xx

    Monash University2016-10-11
  8. "Enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monash University

    Pros

    My supervisor was so helpful.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything to say.

    Monash University2016-02-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good, apart from the usual problems of academia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Monash University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unpretentious yet high-achieving academic colleagues Comfortable modern facilities in Faculty of IT Senior academics generally supportive of career growth for juniors Flexible work arrangements Open to innovative teaching methods

    Cons

    Cynicism and distrust between professional and academic staff Increasing weight of bureaucratic micromanagement Lack of transparency Pessimism about the future of universities

    Advice to Management

    Universities can prosper in the future, but they need to transform themselves. To survive, you must be willing to invest in experimenting now with radically different educational models, such as MOOCs and gamification. And you must give students a reason to prefer your courses. Make education magical, inspiring and compelling. Hire people who can help you to do this, and give them the freedom and resources to... unleash their enthusiasm.

    Show More
    Monash University2015-01-14
  10. "Monash University Malaysia great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Executive in Petaling Jaya
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monash University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff are warm and friendly

    Cons

    Staff benefits are not up to expectation of a international brand

    Advice to Management

    Increase the staff benefits and compensation.

    Monash University2019-10-16
Found 319 reviews