KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Mondo Robot

Engaged Employer

Mondo Robot

Add a Review

Mondo Robot Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 15 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Mondo Robot Founder and Creative Director Chris Hess (no image)
Chris Hess
7 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "great people(in 6 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Exciting clients, smart staff, fun culture.

    Jul 29, 2021 - Senior Producer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mondo Robot attracts a variety of clients including breweries, ski resorts, athletic gear companies, as well as some great non-profits focused on improving the world. Definitely work hard, play hard type of company with lots of collaboration and extra-curriculars to enjoy.

    Cons

    Just like with many agencies, you tend to work long hours to hit deadlines, but thankfully the office environment, and team members you spend the day with made it A-OK.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Creative but chaotic

    Aug 17, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - creative atmosphere - great people

    Cons

    - client-driven so kind of scattered - some clients are using pretty old tech

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    You won't find a better agency to work for.

    May 15, 2018 - Interaction Designer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. You will learn A LOT by working at Mondo. (This one is been invaluable from a career development perspective). 2. You will be surrounded by some of the most talented designers and developers around. 3. You will work across a range of different projects during your time at Mondo. This includes everything from local Colorado brands to large corporate accounts. 4. You will be challenged professionally–regardless of what experience level that you're coming in at. 5. You will be encouraged to have a life outside of work. 6. You will have plenty of fun on the job. 7. When you accept an offer at Mondo, you're being invited into the family. You'll be treated like family from there on out. 8. You'll be inspired by your coworkers in and outside of work. 9. There are multiple kegs on tap that get their fair share of use. 10. There's plenty of room for growth both professionally and creatively.

    Cons

    It can be hard to focus on the work when you're having too much fun.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, culture, and work... overall an awesome place to work

    May 24, 2018 - Software Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work at Mondo is rewarding and challenging, but it's the culture and people that make it a great place to work. I worked for the engineering team for a little over three years and was continually impressed with the level of talent, desire to mentor and learn, and lack of ego shared by the team. The company focuses on quality and I enjoyed being a member of a team that put in the thought to develop well designed solutions. There is a focus on work-life balance. The benefits at Mondo were the best I've experienced at any company I've worked for previous or since. Lunch bike rides.

    Cons

    It is an agency and sometimes things can get hectic, but that's the nature of the work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best job I've ever had

    Aug 13, 2014 - Technical Director in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Mondo Robot has been deeply satisfying on many levels. The people are absolutely amazing to work with; they're talented, humble, and have great personalities. The work is challenging and diverse, between physical computing projects, projection mapping, motion graphics, iPad apps/games, immersive Web sites, wearables, and data-driven UX solutions that meet and exceed client KPIs. The work environment has a bit of a start-up feel, with kegs, ping pong tables, and subtle music playing in the background. We even have a 3D printer that employees use for internal and personal projects. I plan on being here for years to come.

    Cons

    More IPAs in the keg, please.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Fun Culture

    Jul 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mondo can be best described as young and fun. The attitude is to work hard but play harder. With beer on tap, and internal events constantly, they really live up to their motto. The people were the best people I have ever worked with and projects were the most fun I've ever worked on.

    Cons

    I fit in really great at Mondo (I left because I had to move) but it's because my personality fit with theirs. I saw some employees struggle to fit in and vibe with the beer drinking/snowboarding/ mountain biking scene. This specific culture is very protected so those who didn't fit in tended to have a harder time.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best place I have ever had the pleasure of working at

    Aug 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone is treated as a valued team member - The atmosphere is positive and encouraging - All employees are passionate and curious about the work they are doing, creating the best work is always something they want to do- it's never forced - Constantly surrounded by intelligent conversation, progressive thinkers, and insightful problem solvers - Fosters an atmosphere and culture for growth and improvement on individual goals. You want to learn to code and you're a designer? They provide you with the tools and team members to make it happen - Amazing respect for both personal and work life. You wanna go for a bike ride at lunch DO IT! - Agile process promises best work out of employees to produce the best possible product for the client - The office is sick - The Bulldog is entertaining - There is a creative space and a work space- always encouraging creative energy and atmosphere - The people are diverse in interests, backgrounds, and goals- but they all work together to make the company team as a whole, stronger - Nothing but honest, high quality, and passion driven work is pumped out of this place - It makes going to work every day exciting, knowing that you are surrounded by people that love what they do and will always put their best effort into it. - The design, code, and management is of the highest quality or else the Mondo Robot name wouldn't be on it

    Cons

    - The keg never has wheat beers in it - Sometimes its too loud with creative conversation - Sometimes meetings go over because collaboration has gotten too excited - Sometimes the dogs in the office are smelly

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    One of the best companies I've worked for!

    Sep 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are so many pros I cannot describe them all. The culture, the no-ego attitudes, the amazing amount of talent within each individual person is outstanding. The company outings, the work, the beer, the ability to 'just be you' is something you don't find in a lot of companies. Best decision I've made so far in my career.

    Cons

    The current space is very limited, but there is a new home in the near future, which is very exciting!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sorry I have to leave

    Aug 15, 2014 - Graphic Designer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    More of a family than a team. Everyone has their place and most people have multiple places. Monod Robot is a hive of creativity run by a swarm of dedicated, hard working, happy people. The work-life balance is great, and a variety of team building events, keep it fresh. Great support from a range of experienced peers, with more skills and tricks than a Yo-Yo champion.

    Cons

    They don't have a working fully robotic mascot. Seriously guys, sort this out. Ummmm. That's about it really. I'm sorry I have to leave.

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work for the right person

    Jan 13, 2017 - User Experience Strategist in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at Mondo Robot for just under 2 years. I relocated for the position from California, and the company served as my landing pad into Boulder. 2 years later, most of my close friends are former co-workers. The good: -The best company culture I've ever encountered and probably will ever encounter. Everyone is super cool, sociable, interesting, and someone you want to hangout with outside the office. -Great emphasis on cultivating company culture and social/fun atmosphere. The operations team does an excellent job creating numerous social events throughout the year to create a good balance of work hard / play hard. -Reasonable hours and good focus on lifestyle balance. There's a saying in Colorado that people work to live, not the other way around. I've found this to be mostly true, and this is definitely the mentality at Mondo. Everyone is busy outside of work and weekends with a whole range of hobbies and the company supports this. Chris, the owner and founder, has worked hard to create the company, but also is an avid cyclist, snowboarder, beer guzzler, and all around cool Colorado dude. -Cool office environment. Mondo moved into a new office about a year ago and it's pretty top notch to say the least. Great use of space, good lighting, kegs on tap, ping pong table, big kitchen, outdoor patio to work on, new desks and computers, etc. There's an emphasis on creating a happy employee and it shows. -Fun clients and work. During my time at Mondo I had the opportunity to engage Whistler/Blackcomb, Michael J. Fox Foundation, Avery Brewery, American Homebrewers Association, and Comcast just to name a few. You'll not only get to work with big names to boost your resume, but you'll also get to engage smaller passion projects. -Great perks and bonuses. Chris makes a point to reward his employees for overall company success. When the company does well, we all do well. Outside of this, there's relocation allowances, annual fitness/sports reimbursements, 3% matching IRA, gift cards commonly given for costume contests and birthdays, and usually a big xmas gift package for each employee. -Good resume experience. If you're looking at this you probably already know Mondo Robot has some great clout in the Colorado agency scene and beyond. It will be a step forward in your career.

    Cons

    I want to be honest and say Mondo isn't for everyone. The company thrives off a specific culture and if you aren't really the right type of personality, you probably won't enjoy your time here. -Mondo is currently a male dominated work environment. This isn't uncommon for a design and full stack development agency. The HR team is making huge efforts to balance the gender ratios. As a guy, I can't comment on the experience women have at the company. However, in my experience everyone is extremely respectful, friendly, and accepting. If you are used to being around a male dominant work environment, you'll do fine here. -Agency world. Nothing uncommon here, but the nature of agency work comes in ebbs and flows. Sometimes you're slammed, sometimes you're looking for work. Mondo is in a slight transition period where some long-term client engagements might be wrapping up and new ones are coming in. If you haven't worked at an agency, definitely do some research on this work flow to better understand if it's right for you. -Shifting company identity. This is a positive over the long run. In the short-term, Mondo is still going through a bit of a shift as it's gone from a smaller 20 person company to a bit larger company over the past few years. Departments have been much more clearly defined with immediate managers that oversee teams. There is some development work to be done with departmental synergies, but overall things run pretty smoothly. It will be interesting to see where things head as new digital technologies and experiences are emerging lately.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Work at Mondo Robot? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Software Engineer(3)

Mondo Robot Photos

+ Add Photo
Mondo Robot photo of: In the office

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Mondo Robot Job Seekers Also Viewed

Robot Entertainment Logo
Robot Entertainment

3.8

12 Reviews
Compare