Monster Worldwide "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Monster Worldwide Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 7 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Monster Worldwide CEO Scott Gutz (no image)
Scott Gutz
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The politics in the upper management and company's leadership(in 41 reviews)

  • "Hard Work or quality work will not be acknowledged by senior management(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Last year was 2011. Overall, a GREAT experience esp. if you are a Top Performer, there is GREAT income potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Internet Recruitment Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Base Pay is based on Experience & a Solid Sales Background. Commissions are based on Performance. Goals were attainable for me but many struggled during this time, as companies were recovering from the recession.

    Cons

    Sometimes Quotas would be unattainable esp. during the recession. I didn't have any issues but I was one of few to exceed quota during the recession. CEO & Upper Management. Turnover was a bit high in my 6 years, plus they were always realigning or changing things. This may not be a Con, if you are like me & always open to change and are flexible. It's a must in order to thrive in this environment, which is hard for some to adjust. High Quotas were driven by Stockholders as it is a publicly traded company. (MWW) I believe they were sold recently This wasn't an issue for me, once I knew what I was doing (expect 3 months to 1 Year to ramp for the learning curve & to get to know and contact your entire territory plus get to know your Contact & Companies Needs) They want you up and running in less than 3 months while performing exceptionally. That is quite stressful your 1st 6 months to A Year).

    Continue reading
    Monster Worldwide2016-11-17
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Going Under"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary was high, work life balance was good, PTO was great - 4 weeks to start - making strides to get the marketing team better but still a while out

    Cons

    layoffs are constant and unannounced, upper management is all new and they all came from the same company, no real career path because people are getting laid off and not replaced - the company is a thing of the past and being taken over by competitors

    Monster Worldwide2019-02-07
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Very Poor Upper Management But Good Lower Level Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Monster Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    - Lower level employees are great, nice, hard working, and know what they are doing - Some offices locations are pretty nice

    Cons

    - Upper management is in constant state of flux, resulting in no clear company direction - Company politics are prevalent, and can clearly be seen - Does not know how to invest in the teams that are keeping the company afloat, instead money is being put into hiring more management positions, and officers that are honestly not needed - Makes cuts on things that provide short term solutions rather then looking into how to invest in the future - Some office locations are not as good as other - Benefits exist but are absolutely abyssal for standards of 2018

    Continue reading
    Monster Worldwide2018-12-13
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Just NO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    1. The fact that despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary some of the employees still believe this company isn’t drowning.

    Cons

    1. Lack of leadership. 2. Lack of training. 3. Zero support from upper management and HR. 4. Company hasn’t met it’s revenue goal in over a year. 5. Terrible benefits packages - both for families and singles. 6. Zero employee engagement - we watch while BioGen hosts event after event. 7. Employees are expected to work overtime for minimum, base pay.

    Continue reading
    Monster Worldwide2018-11-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mostly good co-workers. Nice Facility.

    Cons

    Upper management untrustworthy. Sal and everyone he brought with him destroyed employee confidence.

    Monster Worldwide2018-04-13
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Incompetence Abounds at Monster Worldwide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Weston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll leave on time and you'll never work nights...

    Cons

    I've worked for several organizations throughout my career and Monster is right near the top as far as most poorly run. Upper management has no idea what they're doing, there is no pride in work, the culture is a disgrace, product managers have no idea what customers want and have no interest in asking because they think they know everything. The sales people are some of the laziest I have ever worked with and they have about 1000 too many of them. Monster never diversified and fell so far behind their competition that they will probably never recover which is why they were purchased for next to nothing by Randstad. I was there for 2 years and after just a few short months I knew major changes would eventually come and that I would be laid off. Like Nostradamus, I was correct.

    Continue reading
    Monster Worldwide2017-12-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations in Weston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Above average pay Nice amenities Co-workers Great PTO accrual Decent benefits WFH flexibility Starbucks on site Subsidized cafeteria pricing Free beverages

    Cons

    No development - Managers are unavailable Constant layoffs Inconsistent treatment within departments and the company Constant upper management changes Too many chiefs Morale is low

    Continue reading
    Monster Worldwide2017-08-19
  8. "Good Work for Location Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Monster Worldwide

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, flexible PTO

    Cons

    Not agile enough-upper management needs to be more open to staff

    Monster Worldwide2017-08-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Happy with my tenure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Recruitment Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, environment, and team work.

    Cons

    Communications from upper management wasn't always timely.

    Monster Worldwide2017-03-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Weston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Monster Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. On site cafe, Starbucks, underground parking, on site gym

    Cons

    Upper management makes decisions but never cascades them down. They do the same thing over & over and avoid (or dont see) the real issues. Do not listen to employees and sales to hear what is really going on. No employee development or promotions No cross-functional communication

    Continue reading
    Monster Worldwide2017-03-11
Found 41 reviews