Montana State University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Montana State University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
92%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Montana State University CEO Waded Cruzado
Waded Cruzado
107 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some jobs offer comparatively low pay(in 19 reviews)

  • "Wages don't really line up with cost of living in Bozeman(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "MSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Bozeman, MT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montana State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment and great professors to work with

    Cons

    None, everything is great for me

    Montana State University2019-08-29
  2. "Bittersweet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Laboratory Instructor 

    I worked at Montana State University part-time

    Pros

    Work environment is great, students typically down to earth.

    Cons

    Wages don't really line up with cost of living in Bozeman.

    Montana State University2019-08-21
  3. "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in Bozeman, MT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Montana State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flat organization, slow pace work environment, small work groups, outdoor recreational opportunities.

    Cons

    faculty don't care, no mentorship, too expensive tuition, poor programs.

    Advice to Management

    mentorship can be rewarding, be responsible for creating the next generation of leaders in science.

    Montana State University2018-06-11
  4. "All aboard the sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Montana State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great learning experience Was a wonderful environment to work in (for a time)

    Cons

    Residence life replaced almost all of the professional staff, some mid-year They have no idea what they're doing Moving toward a direction of WANTING to get students in trouble, rather than provide support for them Multiple people in the professional staff have Title IX reports against them Extremely lazy and questionable about hiring

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to "prove that we do something" to the rest of the college. It's like comparing apples and oranges.

    Montana State University2018-05-14
  5. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Montana State University part-time

    Pros

    - All around awesome work environment and colleagues. - Working directly with industrial affiliates exposes students to early industrial experience. - Small faculty allows for easier collaboration. - Variety of research projects and diverse faculty, visiting researchers, and students provides a unique opportunity for an interdisciplinary setting.

    Cons

    - Long hours, difficult for work/study balance. Depends on the PI.

    Montana State University2017-12-20
  6. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Montana State University

    Pros

    Flexibility Great opportunities Great people fun environment to work

    Cons

    Low salary Cold weather There is not much industry around

    Montana State University2017-10-27
  7. "The MSU Local Government Center is THEE BEST place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Bozeman, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Montana State University part-time

    Pros

    Seriously the best people to work with. Amazing. Energetic. They understand that a great work environment is essential for a successful business.

    Cons

    I was a student worker, so the pay is not fantastic and you have a limited number of hours you're allowed to work. Not a problem during the school year but during the summer you can still only work part time. As a student worker you also don't get benefits or bonuses and such.

    Advice to Management

    Get all employees at MSU to do some trainings through the Local Government Center. You won't regret it, I promise.

    Montana State University2017-06-24
  8. "Montana State University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Bozeman, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montana State University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive work environment, beautiful setting, research orientation, community supportive of the institution. Great colleagues, active student population, outdoor recreation opportunities, and supportive of individual growth

    Cons

    Montana State University does not have a pay scale in line with other states although the cost of living in Bozeman is quite high. It is especially challenging for entry level employees

    Advice to Management

    The issue of raising salary levels and opportunities for new employees is one that management is addressing and that needs to be a top priority to continue to attract the best talent

    Montana State University2017-05-26
  9. "good for entry level jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Montana State University full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work. productive work environment and beautiful campus

    Cons

    Get to know your supervisor and lab members before joining the lab.

    Montana State University2017-02-27
  10. "Center for Biofilm Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Montana State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly environment to work. Every department was helpful to fix problems.

    Cons

    I started as an undergraduate research assistant. Orientation took a little more time than I expected. Pay was OK for undergrads.

    Montana State University2016-11-11
Found 14 reviews