Montash Recruitment Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Montash Recruitment Consultant Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Montash CEO Roy Dungworth (no image)
Roy Dungworth
5 Ratings
  1. "A Recruitment Agency with integrity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Old Street, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Huge Commission potential that is very clear to follow (One of the best I've seen) - The most relaxing yet professional environment I've experienced - Everyone wants to help you - Excellent Company method and ambition - Incredible, ambitious atmosphere that is competitive without the ego, jock heads that plague this industry.

    Cons

    There isn't a lot to do in the office during breaks compared to maybe some other agencies (TV, Relaxing space etc)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Everyone seems to be having a good time and love the direction of the company.

    Montash2019-01-22

    Montash Response

    January 28, 2019Employer Response

    Morning, thank you for the positive feedback and we are happy that you feel that Montash is an agency with integrity, that is great to hear. Have a good week.

  2. "Great Culture - Clear Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAP Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Montash full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are thinking about joining Montash, or already have an interview lined up with them - be sure to know the Talent Manager will act as a true ambassador to the Montash brand. From the infectious, friendly greeting upon walking in to the office, to the in-depth prepping on what the senior management look for. He thrives when people do well around him and is always the first to motivate the team when morale is a... bit low. Join Montash and you will be: - Given the autonomy to run your desk like it's your own business - Subsided for your efforts by free breakfasts on a Friday, quarterly lunch clubs, beer on a Friday afternoon, weekly KPI incentives - Given the ability to earn cash straight away with their very competitive commission structure M.M

    Show More

    Cons

    Too many temptations working in a vibrant part of central London in the evenings.

    Montash2019-01-15

    Montash Response

    January 16, 2019Employer Response

    Hi, thank you for writing a review and giving Montash such positive feedback. We are happy that you have had a good experience with Montash.

  3. "Career, training, fun and reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Old Street, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with montash for a number of years and have really enjoyed my time. I have seen the company grow and with it I have grown. The people here are great, very helpful and supportive. Breakfast on Fridays Fruit bowl Promotions Good training and support Fun environment

    Cons

    Can't think of any major ones. Recruitment can be tough as there is a lot of effort required but that's the industry...

    Advice to Management

    Keep on growing, keep on investing in staff and lots of training pls.

    Montash2017-06-29
  4. "A new but old player"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Old Street, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Training and Development for all levels - A Culture that celebrates and drives success - Autonomous environment - A clear strategy and 5 year plan that the business is bought into

    Cons

    -Recruitment is a results based business that if you have the right motivation and drive can lead to huge rewards

    Advice to Management

    The MD has a clear plan in place. Keep pushing quality and the business will keep growing.

    Montash2017-06-04

    Montash Response

    June 5, 2017Employer Response

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. Montash is delighted to hear such positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel about Montash.

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Theres alot better out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some of the consultants are really nice

    Cons

    No strategy, no route to market, no training or development, No retention with clients, MD makes it up all up as he goes along. SO much better recruitment companies to work for.

    Montash2017-06-16

    Montash Response

    June 19, 2017Employer Response

    Hi, thank you for the feedback and Montash is very sorry that you feel this way. If you would like to discuss further please email us at info@montash.com.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Don't join...we're itching to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Old Street, England
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Table tennis table Free breakfast on Fridays Beer on Fridays 30 second walk from the tube Free fruit deliveries on Mondays

    Cons

    CEO Promise of progression and opportunity that never delivers Below market rate salaries No trust in employees Long hours, no flexibility

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your staff

    Montash2016-03-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "What a good agency can offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Montash full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friday Breakfast, Lunch clubs and made a few friends

    Cons

    Management seemed to have a complete disregard to staff and just focused on quick wins at the sacrifice of the team. "Backstabbing" was promoted and unfortunately it was represented throughout all levels of management. No smoke without fire and many angry people are leaving.This experience showed what a good agency can offer. Long hours and a very unstable culture led to stress and a genuine sense of depression... across the sales floor. Attempts to play music and lighten the mood only highlighted the disconnect management has with the sales floor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting this distorted Machiavellianism against graduates.

    Montash2016-01-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A Really Positive and Enjoyable Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Montash for a little over a year now. I can honestly say, hand on my heart, it’s the best company, not even recruitment company, but COMPANY that I have worked for. So what brings me to say that with confidence? There’s nothing worse than going into work hating either your job role or the place in which you work. The working environment at Montash is far more positive than the previous companies I... have worked for. There is a mutual level of respect between employees across the organisation. My team colleagues are great as are senior management. We have some great incentives too which always helps! I have had a past personal issue which I didn’t want to interfere with my work, but I was able to go to HR, who were really supportive. Employee care is definitely great!

    Show More

    Cons

    My team sometimes expect me to make a cup of tea for them! Cheeky!

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for making this a really great and inspiring place to work!

    Montash2015-03-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Montash: where expectations exceed reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have genuinely met a awesome bunch of people whilst working here (albeit majority have now left or looking to leave) Free fruit & breakfast You're only chained to your desk metaphorically People who have left say they truly appreciate what they now have after going through this experience...

    Cons

    All the various reviews below sum everything up extremely accurately. When you try to impose a severely unethical way of conducting day-to-day business there is only going to be one result. Candidates and clients will run a mile, and employees will eventually come to their senses seek the nearest exit. Word of mouth spreads in this industry and reputation counts for everything. The company suffers from extreme... delusions of grandeur; everything from the offices, website, promotional material and so called 'core values.' It's mostly fake; just one big illusion to reel in the young and the naive. Nothing demonstrates this more pertinently than the company's ongoing battle to deflect the current truth away from the major crisis they are undoubtedly in. Just lost their biggest Account and a mass exodus of staff is still ongoing. and only going to get worse. The rot has set for some time and the ship is steadily sinking. Just make sure you have a boat and paddle....

    Show More
    Montash2014-12-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Montash

    Pros

    Good location for drinking away the pain of working here.

    Cons

    Culture: With a seriously high turnover of good staff and below market rate salaries, the culture was uninspiring and dull. Instead of securing and retaining top talent and keeping ahead of the market, the CEO employed mainly 17 year old apprentices to deliver on the dwindling company accounts . It seemed like a bums on seats tactic. It's sad to see from a company that once had an ok reputation in the industry.... Brand: The company is marketed well, however 90% of the time when you call the clients they claim they work with, the person at the other end of the line has never heard of Montash. Salaries: below average market rate, starting for a researcher is 20k-21k and consultant £25k. They ask you at your interview to sign a contract immediately otherwise they claim they will withdraw the offer. This unprofessional attitude is the "company first, staff second" culture. Commission: below market rate. Pots: Researcher 30%, Associate 50%, Consultant 70% Splits: 0-10k (12.5%) 10-20k (17.5%) 20-30k (20%) 30k+ (25%) The bottom line is, you won't make hardly any money compared to the other agencies out there. They sell you the dream of working hard, and you should work hard, but for a company which rewards you more for it. The only people earning decent money there are the management, which says a lot. Hours: 46.5 hours a week Mon-Thur: 8 - 6:30pm Fri: 8 - 5:30pm 1 hour lunch at 12:30-1:30 only, no other breaks. You also lose one lunch hour every 2 weeks to cover the phones. You don't get this back. Holidays: less than market average: 22 holidays a year (3 have to be takOren Yakobovichen at Xmas) Benefits: None. As a consultant you get 2% of your basic salary into a pension, but that's it. You do get breakfast on a Friday and fruit twice a week, however you all also receive bizarre emails from the CEO threatening to remove these "benefits" if you don't do X Y or Z. Collective punishment in the workplace at it's finest. Overall, I would recommend avoiding this company. Montash struggle to follow their own core values and it's not a place to excel.

    Show More
    Montash2014-12-07
Found 13 reviews