Montash Reviews | Glassdoor

Montash Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Montash CEO Roy Dungworth (no image)
Roy Dungworth
17 Ratings
  1. "Previous employer-Montash Advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Montash

    Pros

    Excellent working environment, regular recognition and appraisals, supportive management team, genuinely credible within their market space and excellent company ethics for staff, candidates and clients alike.

    Cons

    It is recruitment lets be realistic. The work life balance can sometimes lean more towards the work. However this is compensated by a generous commission structure and recognition/ rewards from the business on a regular basis.

    Advice to Management

    None- very supportive even through personal issues. Please keep doing what your doing :)

    Montash2015-07-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Really Positive and Enjoyable Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Montash for a little over a year now. I can honestly say, hand on my heart, it’s the best company, not even recruitment company, but COMPANY that I have worked for. So what brings me to say that with confidence? There’s nothing worse than going into work hating either your job role or the place in which you work. The working environment at Montash is far more positive than the previous companies I... have worked for. There is a mutual level of respect between employees across the organisation. My team colleagues are great as are senior management. We have some great incentives too which always helps! I have had a past personal issue which I didn’t want to interfere with my work, but I was able to go to HR, who were really supportive. Employee care is definitely great!

    Show More

    Cons

    My team sometimes expect me to make a cup of tea for them! Cheeky!

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for making this a really great and inspiring place to work!

    Montash2015-03-13
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Montash

    Pros

    Fairly decent offices & location Table tennis table Monthly lunchclubs/ annual holiday incentives

    Cons

    Long hours (8am-7pm mon-thurs, 8am-5.30pm on fri) Installing poor ethics on their staff (i.e. regularly posting fake adverts and lying to clients and candidates) You get worked like a slave with little or no reward. Starting on 20-21k as a Researcher working 55+ hours per week, on a per hour basis you’d get more money working as a cleaner than for Year 1 at Montash (even if you are successful!) Huge churn... and burn of employees – over 50% of the workforce have left in the last 9 months. Every single person that has left and stayed in the recruitment has moved on to better things. That tells you everything you need to know. Quality of staff depleted as company tried to grow - for every experienced consultant that departs, they are replaced with either an Apprentice or a Graduate to keep costs down. Quite simply, Montash are unable to attract nor retain talent. Sadly, Montash’ s practices are well known in the industry and their perception is not great that they have no choice but to hire at a lower level. No-one with any experience in the industry would touch them with a bargepole. Small fish in the market, no major house accounts. Even if you single-handedly bring on new business with a major client, chances are it will eventually get taken away from you. Huge gulf between staff and senior management. Montash isn’t a place where people stay and progress in the long-term. Some of management are too backward in their methods and have a lot of growing up to do to be effective team leaders. It doesn't help when they are given such responsibilities at such a young age. Having to sit beside one of them on a daily basis was like sitting beside a highly aggressive child with autistic tendencies. Consistently shouting sexist, racist and crude obscenities about clients and customers in the office should not be tolerated, not least when it is by an experienced manager. At Montash this behaviour was largely overlooked by the CEO, incredibly ironic considering ‘Quality’ being one of their main Core Values. Salary and commission structure – one of the absolute worst in the market. When you know of top billing consultants consistently bringing £300k+ to the business each year yet are still being paid a 25k basic it makes you realise how much ‘loyalty’ is rewarded at Montash.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take on board the overwhelmingly negative feedback from staff and start to provide an environment where people want to stay. Promote managers who gain trust and respect, not just those with the biggest egos. Next time you write another ‘positive’ review at least make it believable that one of your employees wrote it….maybe try using a different style or something?

    Montash2014-12-30
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Montash: where expectations exceed reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have genuinely met a awesome bunch of people whilst working here (albeit majority have now left or looking to leave) Free fruit & breakfast You're only chained to your desk metaphorically People who have left say they truly appreciate what they now have after going through this experience...

    Cons

    All the various reviews below sum everything up extremely accurately. When you try to impose a severely unethical way of conducting day-to-day business there is only going to be one result. Candidates and clients will run a mile, and employees will eventually come to their senses seek the nearest exit. Word of mouth spreads in this industry and reputation counts for everything. The company suffers from extreme... delusions of grandeur; everything from the offices, website, promotional material and so called 'core values.' It's mostly fake; just one big illusion to reel in the young and the naive. Nothing demonstrates this more pertinently than the company's ongoing battle to deflect the current truth away from the major crisis they are undoubtedly in. Just lost their biggest Account and a mass exodus of staff is still ongoing. and only going to get worse. The rot has set for some time and the ship is steadily sinking. Just make sure you have a boat and paddle....

    Show More
    Montash2014-12-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sad to see things haven't changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Back office staff Free fruit Hot drinks provided

    Cons

    Treatment of staff - nothing changes and no lessons are ever learnt Management - dictators and really if you don't fit in with them - then you're out. The same words always used in every review from current staff - know they've been told to write a 'positive' review

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the constant reviews on this site and wake up and change before your name becomes even worse in the industry. Treat your staff with respect and care and you may keep them. Sometimes people will put in the extra for that alone and not because of the threats.

    Montash2014-12-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Montash

    Pros

    Good location for drinking away the pain of working here.

    Cons

    Culture: With a seriously high turnover of good staff and below market rate salaries, the culture was uninspiring and dull. Instead of securing and retaining top talent and keeping ahead of the market, the CEO employed mainly 17 year old apprentices to deliver on the dwindling company accounts . It seemed like a bums on seats tactic. It's sad to see from a company that once had an ok reputation in the industry.... Brand: The company is marketed well, however 90% of the time when you call the clients they claim they work with, the person at the other end of the line has never heard of Montash. Salaries: below average market rate, starting for a researcher is 20k-21k and consultant £25k. They ask you at your interview to sign a contract immediately otherwise they claim they will withdraw the offer. This unprofessional attitude is the "company first, staff second" culture. Commission: below market rate. Pots: Researcher 30%, Associate 50%, Consultant 70% Splits: 0-10k (12.5%) 10-20k (17.5%) 20-30k (20%) 30k+ (25%) The bottom line is, you won't make hardly any money compared to the other agencies out there. They sell you the dream of working hard, and you should work hard, but for a company which rewards you more for it. The only people earning decent money there are the management, which says a lot. Hours: 46.5 hours a week Mon-Thur: 8 - 6:30pm Fri: 8 - 5:30pm 1 hour lunch at 12:30-1:30 only, no other breaks. You also lose one lunch hour every 2 weeks to cover the phones. You don't get this back. Holidays: less than market average: 22 holidays a year (3 have to be takOren Yakobovichen at Xmas) Benefits: None. As a consultant you get 2% of your basic salary into a pension, but that's it. You do get breakfast on a Friday and fruit twice a week, however you all also receive bizarre emails from the CEO threatening to remove these "benefits" if you don't do X Y or Z. Collective punishment in the workplace at it's finest. Overall, I would recommend avoiding this company. Montash struggle to follow their own core values and it's not a place to excel.

    Show More
    Montash2014-12-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Find out why more employees than ever before are leaving Montash,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The free Fruit bowl and back office team are great. Due to the constant revolving door policy you get to meet lots of new employees.

    Cons

    It is simply a matter of time until the broken promises , lies and pressure cooker environment gets to you. All consultants will have started to experience senior managements lies and personal attacks realizing that Montash are just in the game of extorting you as much as possible. A mass exodus has recently occurred due to treatment of staff and broken promises. Montash favors the deceitful approach rather than... creating long lasting relationships. Working here I have been made to post regular fake jobs, lie to my clients and colleagues - Yes lying to colleagues is a common theme here and working roles in secret without your permanent counterpart or junior members knowing is common practice. This is a old school mentality not fit for a growing company in the 21st century - As such we only have one account about to be lost, single deals here and there and a lack of honest professional managers. A very unhappy place and morbid environment. Honesty - Lie to everyone including your colleagues Leaders- Not in the industry and definitely not in managers Respectable - Bully Staff, Racism,Sexism, Specialist - Fake jobs and PDF's does not make you a specialist Quality - As above

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Old school recruitment is dead - Stop lying to your clients,customers and employees There is a reason we have no big accounts,no big teams and no respect in the marketplace

    Montash2014-11-21
  8. "a very energetic, supportive and meritocratic workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Montash full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a giant graphic on the kitchen wall which highlights all the different career paths you can take within Montash. This is so everyone knows where they can be, what they need to achieve and how they can get there. The company is a meritocracy and is very honest. I was told in my interview that regardless of my background or who I was, as long as I worked hard, I would be put in charge of people. The offices... are very stylish and scream technology, innovation and Montash. This is all thanks to the marketing team at Montash. They manage every detail. From the design of internal birthday cards and inspiring graphics on the toilet mirrors to LinkedIn profiles and Montash's website, everything is professional and well devised. At Montash they look after their staff. There is fresh fruit in the kitchen, free breakfast on a Friday, top-quality coffee and expensive 'Borg and Overstrom' filtered water-coolers dotted around the office. The offices are always very clean and the desks are spacious. Success is widely rewarded here in both terms of commission and recognition. Failure is rewarded with classroom, on-the-job training and attention from the supportive management here. The management want you to succeed as much as you want to. Nobody here wants to see anybody else fail. Montash is a friendly, energetic, fun and supportive team of talented professionals. The management have a good balance of authority, 'strictness', humor and forgiveness. Montash doesn't end at 5:30pm on a Friday. Everyone stays in the office to enjoy a cold beer from the fridge, good music, some table-tennis and a catch-up before continuing the Friday-feeling in various restaurants, bars and other past-times around London. Their offices are about a 60 second walk from Old Street tube station. The offices have great connections to the rest of the city via the Northern line, Central and Met line. The MD at Montash is a down-to-earth and all-around nice guy. He never hesitates to speak to you, whether he passes you by in the Kitchen or you make eye-contact from across the room. He sit's among everyone on the sales-floor too, giving out advice, motivating staff and just generally taking an interest in you personally. My favorite pro for working at Montash is the table-tennis at lunch. There is a full-sized, professional table-tennis table in the middle of the sales-floor; they don't just work professionally, they play professionally too. It helps new staff to get involved and socialize, as well as breeding a competitive yet fun environment. I myself got to know most of the people here, by playing table-tennis with them.

    Show More

    Cons

    As per any recruitment role, it is unlike any other office job, the hours are long and there is only an hour break in the day. The job is also very stressful, you need to be resilient and thick-skinned. You will hear the word 'no' and get rejected a hundred odd times, before you succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I can already see the company progressing and having an exceptional service with candidates and clients, they are setting a high industry standard. The company is already rapidly expanding, so my advice would be to ensure that the support and recognition given to staff continues with the ongoing growth of the company.

    Montash2014-06-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Andrew Larholt is one of the good guys of recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Montash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Came across this when looking up another company that I have been called to interview with and thought I would look up my first recruitment employer Montash. I am very surprised at some of the negative comment made about Montash and Andrew Larholt. Montash was my first job in recruitment and it was hard work. The rewards are good and looking back I did well out of it. I left and joined another recruitment company... but turned out to be a whole lot worse. I have now been in recruitment for some time now and I have to say Montash is one of the better ones out there. Andrew Larholt is a generous boss he is very down to earth and is one you can relate to very easily. Andrew Larholt made being in recruitment fun so don’t be fooled by some of the remarks on here who may just be jealous of what he has given the people who actually get to work for him. I made some good friends in Montash and still keep in touch with many of them who tell me a few people like me who left went back to Montash. I can go back but recruitment is not for me so I want something different. Andrew Larholt is a good boss. Don’t be fooled by those jealous of Andrew Larholt.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours Everyone knows how well or bad you are doing Limited choice of drinks

    Advice to Management

    Do not listen to those who think they are owed an easy ride in recruitment. I now realise that Montash is one of the better people to work for in recruitment.

    Montash2014-05-26
  10. "Work hard and play hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Montash full-time

    Pros

    Incentives, supportive management, meritocracy, good commission, young company, great offices, good location. A huge factor for me was knowing that I could grow my client base however I wanted, as long as I was successful in doing so. I made very good money compared with other friends my age, some of whom work for investment banks and large consultancies! Montash also boasts a very strong client base,... thanks largely to the quality of the service they offer. If you are interested in a career in recruitment, Montash is a great place to join.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any recruitment company, reward only comes with hard work (not really a con!) Fairly long hours when busy.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recognise individual strengths and adjust targets/roles to suit.

    Montash2014-05-16
Found 52 reviews