Monterey Mushrooms Reviews | Glassdoor

Monterey Mushrooms Reviews

Updated 8 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Monterey Mushrooms CEO Shah Kazemi (no image)
Shah Kazemi
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Leadership Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monterey Mushrooms full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shah, the CEO, is a smart, caring and dynamic leader. He continues to invest in the business for the employees, not himself. Shah is a rare leader, unselfish, humble and hands-on. He listens before responding. It is a true blessing to work with such a great person.

    Cons

    I would like to focus on longer term strategic investments and development of a 3-5 year Stat Plan. Also would like to see increased cooperation with cross-functional teams as part of Go-to-Market Strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Make strategic investment today, perhaps outside of CA, for tomorrow.

    Monterey Mushrooms2018-04-17
  2. "lab tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Tech in Princeton, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monterey Mushrooms full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    none right at the moment

    Monterey Mushrooms2019-05-09
  3. "Great Company, Horrible Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Monterey Mushrooms full-time

    Pros

    Great culture/environment. Management team is smart and knows how to lead.

    Cons

    Way below average pay for supervisors with a college degree. Likely contributor to the high turnover rate.

    Monterey Mushrooms2019-01-16
  4. "Worker hourly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Monterey Mushrooms full-time

    Pros

    No pros as far as I know in 2 years of my job. Never enjoyed working for a low pay. Just doing it since had no option by

    Cons

    No respect No work life balance Rude HR

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay Change the HR

    Monterey Mushrooms2018-07-28
  5. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monterey Mushrooms full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary was ok Management was always nice Owner is friendly

    Cons

    Supervisors are not trained Too much turnover Low pay rates to entry-level and experienced workers No one takes accountability

    Advice to Management

    Risk management is needed for safety to eliminate so many injuries Supervisors could really use more training Give new hourly employees benefits on hire date

    Monterey Mushrooms2018-04-05
  6. "All Transportation and Logistics Positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monterey Mushrooms full-time

    Pros

    Great culture! The company is setting up regular route schedules and creating fair/competitive pay for drivers!

    Cons

    No cons that I can pin point.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Monterey Mushrooms2018-04-03
  7. "Distribution Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Coordinator in Princeton, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monterey Mushrooms full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    laid back environment, not micro-managed

    Cons

    poor communication within plant between management and staff

    Monterey Mushrooms2018-03-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Grower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monterey Mushrooms full-time

    Pros

    I dont really have anything postive to say about this place.

    Cons

    They pay the min for salary required by law and everyone is cut throat. This place has turnover like crazy. They want people with degrees to put up with long hours, horrible coworkers, an absent boss, and low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Either start paying fairly or stop looking for people with degrees.

    Monterey Mushrooms2018-03-29
  9. "Drive a 53 foot long trailer and deliver at several stops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A CDL Delivery Driver in Madisonville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monterey Mushrooms full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close to home local or over the road. Pay is okay coworker are friendly they help each other out. Equipment is not too old.

    Cons

    No set schedule and long hours. You basically work nights and a good part of the day and don’t get much rest.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the schedule take care of your drivers needs

    Monterey Mushrooms2018-01-16
  10. "Logistics Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Logistics Manager in Royal Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monterey Mushrooms full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Privately owned. Big company but runs like a small business.

    Cons

    Executive management disconnected from front line.

    Advice to Management

    The culture starts at the top.

    Monterey Mushrooms2017-12-03
Found 32 reviews