Moo Print Limited Reviews | Glassdoor

Moo Print Limited Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Moo Print Limited CEO Richard Moross
Richard Moross
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No career progression - only recent changes have meant that you can do courses(in 5 reviews)

  • "Our Denver office only has a sales and design department(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Working at MOO is a blast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moo Print Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong brand, great benefits, smart & creative people everywhere you turn.

    Cons

    Started to feel more like a big company towards the end of my time. Not even really a bad thing...but a little big less fun than when they were growing like crazy.

    Advice to Management

    Innovate more, iterate less. Even when you launched new products that didn't go as well as planned, it was an exciting learning experience.

    Moo Print Limited2018-07-25
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moo Print Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company boasts about work life balance and free cake, food and beer but it doesn't make up for the way you're treated. Workers are not commended for what they do or paid for it. There is no career advancement unless you suck up and the manager likes you, very inappropriate relationships here and culture. It was fun and fluffy at first, but it's not long term centric nor is the pay. You can work the same... job, get more respect and less drama elsewhere.

    Show More

    Cons

    Managers are not experienced, it's a popularity contest and more like a high school cheerleading pep squad with much too much power. You're better off somewhere else the place is unprofessional and they cut your salary as much as they can. Work life balance is great but not if you pay your bills. There is no clear communication and when there is, it's not honest. They deflect real issues and don't give you a... platform to raise anything without it becoming office discussion and drama. You're better off on food stamps then dealing with the toxic work culture that also lacks inclusivity and diversity. There are no people of color or minorities in management, at all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit so people who know what they're doing can build people up and manage teams. Recognize people for their work and stop playing favorites. You are the main reason why you have a high turnover rate and you're hiring the SAME type of "yes ma'am" person in a company who pretends to care about "challenging the status quo." If someone calls you out on something you're not willing to change from the feedback but quick... to dish it out.

    Show More
    Moo Print Limited2019-11-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Moo Denver - Proceed with Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moo Print Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Relaxed office environment - Dog friendly office - Overall, great coworkers - Generous 401K match - Friday lunch - Generally easy job when they properly forecast and allow for obtainable and realistic goals

    Cons

    For starters, the Denver office is the red-headed step-child of the existing Moo offices. Lack of people-first culture, lack of transparency, lack of career opportunity, lack of communication from leadership, lack of budget (plenty for cakes and beers and parties but promotions? pay raise? Forget about it), lack of seemingly general interest from anyone NOT in this location. Speaking of "leadership" in the... Denver office, to sum it up, there isn't any. For those of you who love gossip over constructive career conversation, being measured by popularity vs. your work ethic & results, and being strung along by "career paths” like a mysterious and unattainable love interest - this is the place for you! Don’t get me wrong, overall, I genuinely think MOO as a whole has something really special going on. The product is truly great, the marketing is solid and they DO try their best to hire GOOD people. My time with MOO was not an overall negative one (despite what you may think after reading the above). I met some great people and left with some great memories! However, when it comes to the Denver office specifically, the culture, career opportunities and Senior Leadership is SEVERELY lacking. Seriously folks, how many more HR complaints (with clear and consistent feedback) and 2-week notices from GREAT employees does it take to get some real change over there? Anyways, I guess what I’m trying to say is don’t be blinded by the promise of cake and vacation time. Do your research in the Denver market as there are plenty of OTHER companies ready and willing to VALUE you as a person, PAY you what you are worth, and work with you to DEVELOP you as you begin/continue your career journey.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not sure what else I can tell you that HR hasn't already heard. For the sake of the employees still giving you their best, just LISTENING isn't enough. HEAR them, put together an action plan, and see that it is executed. Increase transparency and really take a deeper look into the people steering the ship.

    Moo Print Limited2019-11-05
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Great benefits. Low pay and poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moo Print Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Moo as a company offers great benefits including matching 401k and 25+ days off. Great work life balance as well. They hire based on culture fit which can bring in great people, but can also attract poor talent.

    Cons

    I can only speak to the Denver office. There were many amazing people who came and went during my time at Moo, but unfortunately they did not want to stay due to a few employees at the management level who allow for and feed in to the immature and unprofessional culture.

    Advice to Management

    Hire an HR presence in Denver. Too much power granted to management that is not trustworthy and consistently acts unprofessional.

    Moo Print Limited2019-09-04
  5. Helpful (13)

    "TOXIC ENVIRONMENT; LOW PAY; IMMATURE LEADERSHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moo Print Limited full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Some people are good.

    Cons

    First, I can only speak for the Denver office but where do I begin.... in the last few months at least 8 people have left the company, a manager included. Commission structure was drastically changed, abruptly. Management in Denver explained the commission structure in a misleading way and then when the changes occurred they told the reps that the reason it was explained wrong was because of miscommunication with... HQ. Speaking of communication, there is none. Management does not have your best interest in mind and they play favorites. If you are not liked, you will not succeed. You cannot voice your opinion or ask questions and if you do it will back fire on you. I wouldn't recommend working at MOO even to my worst enemy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire an HR presence. Take a serious look at the culture that has been created in Denver, culture always starts at the top. Take a DEEP look at management in the Denver office and make changes immediately. You are losing great talent by the day because of them.

    Moo Print Limited2019-09-06
  6. "Good in the print production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Norway, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moo Print Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    To be able to move the company forward

    Cons

    Not that I see the downside of the company but I believe if I have the opportunity to work with them, the little knowledge I have in printing professional can be of help

    Advice to Management

    My advice to the management is to be more focus to reach the desired peak

    Moo Print Limited2019-07-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I'm Having a Great Time, but Not Every Department is as Great as Mine..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Moo Print Limited full-time

    Pros

    - Amazing benefits (e.g. 100% paid health & dental, more vacation than I know what to do with) - Good people - Company has values (environmental sustainability, pro-LQBTQI+, charity matching & paid volunteer hours, etc) - Reasonably flexible work schedule (speaking personally--this likely depends on your manager / department) - Management cares about your development

    Cons

    - Outstanding work is not always recognized / rewarded appropriately - Poor performance from some individuals to the detriment of your own work, which is constantly pointed out but never acted upon (again, speaking from personal experience) - Cyclical performance reviews, which aren't a bad thing in & of themselves, I just very much dislike the self-assessment format - Your experience will likely depend on... your department / team - Attrition rate (seems like people are constantly leaving) - Lots of money spent on lunch, snacks, events, etc, which are all nice things, but you can't help to think that some of that money could go to compensating people fairly (a complaint I've heard from several colleagues & agree with) - Gender pay gap (management releases big reports about this and tries to make it seem like they care, but I (female) am personally aware of a male individual in a role junior to me who makes the same amount that I do

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the people who deserve it and take action against those who don't. People should not be able to get away with poor performance just because they're at a certain level, or be promoted just because they've been with the company for a certain amount of time. I was promoted at the same time as someone else in my role who had been there for a few years longer than me, but is well-known not to be helpful or... particularly skilled (there have been several instances where I've had to do their work because they didn't know how/couldn't do it quickly enough). I'm not trying to be salty about it, but it was a bit of a slap in the face.

    Show More
    Moo Print Limited2019-06-18
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Not a long term option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moo Print Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall pretty good benefits- they have AMAZING health/dental/vision and 401(k), free food, flexible dress and beautiful offices, great technology- very easy to communicate across offices with skype, facetime, google chat, hangouts, slack, etc. Good place to get started in sales, customer service, or marketing, but mostly not a long term option. Management in Customer Service was the best around when I worked... there.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a lot here. Management is inexperienced at all levels, in all departments. They don't know how to handle difficult conversations, and there is no one there to train them on how to do so. So critical feedback is avoided until things get so bad that employees get terminated- instead of being given consistent feedback, managers just suddenly tell them it's not working out. This is not a personal... experience, it is what I saw happen to many, even at very senior levels. There is no career progression whatsoever. Random jobs are created if you're on the right person's good side, and titles changed to make people feel better about themselves. Others stay in the same position at the same pay with WAY more responsibilities and get no explanation for why. Leaving moo and going to a more established company really highlighted how unbelievably inappropriate some of the things that go on really are. Inappropriate workplace relationships (including manager-employee), behavior at company Christmas parties is completely out of control (violent outbursts, crying, falling down drunk, etc.). Even basic interactions in the office and the things people say in casual conversation in the cafeteria (highly sexual, swearing, etc.) would never be tolerated in a place with an actual harassment policy. No tuition reimbursement, no gym/fitness reimbursement, no work from home options in most departments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overhire! Get people from bigger companies with lots of management experience who are really interested in developing team members. Stop putting people into jobs they are not qualified for, giving no support or feedback, then chastising them or managing them out because they're not performing. It makes zero sense, it wastes your money. Rein in inappropriate behavior. Actually conduct real investigations... into complaints of inappropriate behavior. Give managers more training- especially in giving and receiving feedback because it is not happening.

    Show More
    Moo Print Limited2019-01-15
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Not recommended for experienced professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Moo Print Limited full-time

    Pros

    - Amazing benefits, lots of free food and after work events. - Good experience for recent grads and people with little experience.

    Cons

    - Career growth is limited. You will get promoted or get a raise only if you pull the right strings and know the right people, not by your skills or achievements. - Very disorganized company. It is extremely difficult to understand the company structure, making it very difficult to seek help when you need it. No formal business processes. - Inexperienced Managers who don't know how to motivate and retain... people. They can't seem to keep people for more than a year. - Overall working experience does not match the company brand image of being friendly, open and beautiful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with excellent leadership skills. You keep hiring B or C managers, diluting the already weak leadership.

    Moo Print Limited2018-10-30
  10. Helpful (15)

    "C+/B-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moo Print Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Once your in, they’ll hire internally before going elsewhere. Nice people Good work-life balance Free lunch Fridays Supportive direct supervisors

    Cons

    Make no mistake... this place is nothing more than a steppingstone. Don’t get caught up in busting your butt, because Moo promotes on their schedule no matter your performance and it’s more about the perception of you than what you actually do. Also heavier on politics than they originally appear. Includes the classic stuff like playing favorites and territorial leadership.

    Moo Print Limited2018-09-03
Found 116 reviews