Mood Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Mood Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated 2 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Mood CEO Steve Richards (no image)
Steve Richards
3 Ratings
  1. "Best Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mood full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible . Family Oriented, understanding . hardworking. Team Players. The list goes on and one.

    Cons

    There inst one bad thing I can say about MOOD.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work on training all of us to stay up to date on the latest software.

    Mood2019-07-02
  2. "They don't seem to have a clue what they are doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Billing Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mood for less than a year

    Pros

    I got a schedule working 11:30 - 8 Pm and those hours generally work pretty well for me. There is a "convenience" store in the break room where you can get snacks. Every so often they might buy pizza for lunch or have Tiff's Treats delivered

    Cons

    LOW PAY, if you work in the mainline or billing lines, expect to get paid low wages. In speaking with some of the more "senior" people working there, it also doesn't seem like you should expect any major pay raises either. Upward mobility is apparently also very difficult at this company. The person in charge of making the schedules for the call center customer service team was terrible. She was unresponsive... to emails, was always very late in approving time off or shift changes. At one point I called in sick one day and she told me I may be let go because they were short staffed and needed their people to come in for their shifts. In my mind, I thought to myself how ridiculously stupid it is to threaten to fire someone for calling in sick and in the same breath saying they are short staffed. Firing someone will only make them even shorter staffed, and they already spent the time and money training me for the position, and I was a top performer. Furthermore, the way departments are compartmentalized, it often makes it that the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. Their systems are antiquated and actually cause more problems than they fix. Their way of doing things is completely inefficient on many levels. This causes many problems for their customers, which in turn causes huge problems for anyone in the customer service side of things. Often, people in collections, or on the mainline, are poorly trained and probably not very qualified for what they do. So when trying to research customer issues and speaking with these various departments, the person you are speaking to knows little more than you do. The metrics for the amount of phone calls you should take, the amount of time you should spend working on each phone call, and the amount of time a client should be kept on the phone are unrealistic due to poor staffing of the phone lines by people who really know what they are doing, and an antiquated slow working database system. Little to no schedule flexibility. According to Mood, my contract was ended because I had made too many schedule "requests" and they felt that whether or not they approved those requests, I would not show up for the times I requested off. They are correct in that I would not have, but they also could have easily staffed appropriately, or worked out the schedules as they were in no way difficult, or last minute requests.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to keep quality people who care about their jobs and really know what they are doing, then you should not treat contract workers like dirt, and that would start with the person in charge of "scheduling"

    Mood2018-12-19
  3. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mood full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, Supervisors are always there when you need them, the company gives incentives, dress code is casual, great people to work with we are more like a family then co workers.

    Cons

    The only con is that the pay could be better for the job we do. I love my job and I am good at it but I feel as though the pay could be better. This is not a easy job and you truly have to focus, this job is not for the weak minded and with all the changes lately they ask a lot of you for the amount you get paid.

    Advice to Management

    I am thankful for all that you do and help that you give, I truly enjoy working in a small " family " environment. Keep up the good work!

    Mood2017-10-24
  4. Helpful (7)

    "cool company, painful merger, no raises EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mood full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere, music company, benefits, employee activities a couple times a year, live music now and then

    Cons

    They do not give raises! If you want a raise (even cost of living) you have to apply for a job that makes more money. They cut back on what they offer to new full-time employees, only 10 days off PTO (that includes sick/vacation).

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard workers or continue to lose them, and that is aimed at upper management who do not allow the true managers to give raises while they themselves obviously receive them. As insurance rates increase, your paychecks get lower and lower every year. Take care of your people!

    Mood2015-09-01
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mood

    Pros

    Free coffee and .25 cents vending machines

    Cons

    Your schedule changes daily, even if you are a senior employee who requests to be on a set schedule. The norm is 10 to 11 hour days with a measly 30 minute lunch break. It is difficult to use PTO; you must swap with another employee who is off on the day you need. (I thought that's what PTO's for?) PTO can be scheduled months in advanced, and you have a 99% chance that it will be denied. Most loose PTO at end of the... year because they were not allowed to use it. To add insult to injury, you can't sell unused time back to the company. Good employees never stay long because there is no raises; you have to apply for another position (if one is available) to earn more money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Enroll in some basic management courses, and let people use their PTO without jumping through hoops.

    Mood2015-04-15

    Mood Response

    April 30, 2015Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we apologize for your poor experience at Mood. Thanks to feedback like yours, we have been able to identify many opportunities for improvement and are investing in bettering ourselves every day. Our agents are given the option to work an ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mood full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, very casual environment, no hassle with time off, communication is not needed.

    Cons

    No room for growth, even management states growth is available ,it's not true. This is a myth or misrepresentation that is told to employees. Lots of back bitting with employees and management making it hard to trust your leaders of the company. Low wages (very) and no overtime offered only holiday months (Nov and Dec). Overtime could occur only if you are able to work for another teammate. If you are looking for a... decent paying job, this is not it. You would have to work at least 60 or more hours to get a decent pay. Even though mangement tell you that you are welcome to express your concerns it seems to back fire to termination. What a disappointment this company is, nothing what I thought. Communication needs to be perfected pertaining to the business motto.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Even though you want employees to trust your leadership you must also walk the walk in showing that you care for the company that you represent. Management should not always believe what is told by employees which destroys reputation. Letting go of good workers and keeping around trouble makers does nothing for the moral. Playing employees against each other is not a good thing which causes havoc within the teams. ... Several employees had concerns about a manager being intoxicated at work and the results ended in transferring the manager to another department. How could this be in representing the company? There is a need for operational improvement; lean processes;communication,establish effective programs etc.. Be open to hear innovative solutions from the little people on the totem pole, everyone on that level is not incompetent.

    Show More
    Mood2015-01-23

    Mood Response

    March 5, 2015Human Resources Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback and suggestions, and we apologize for your poor experience at Mood. We are always working to improve our communication and opportunities for our employees. I’m sorry to hear that you feel that way about our Company. Our salary, overtime policy, and promotion ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (5)

    "No structure, direction, or decent training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mood full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay semi-decently, you get holidays and weekends off.

    Cons

    My training was literally being told to watch another employee do the job for one week. I have had continuous problems working in this company due to a problem in their systems. The affiliate I work for is using DSI and Mood uses Oracle. Our systems don't match, it causes errors which fall on the employees. The management at this location are all good friends and if one person decides they don't like you they... all make an effort to get you out the door. Lack of training on all employees leads to more mistakes, multiple work orders, problems in the system, and problems with dispatching.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on training employees for real. People can figure out the basics of the job by watching, but to understand the finer points of the job hands on training is required.

    Mood2014-10-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lackluster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mood full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The co-workers are awesome. They are helpful and friendly.

    Cons

    The pay is low. Scheduling changes day to day. I was told I'd only work one weekend shift per month. The first month I worked one weekend shift, the second I worked two, and by the third I worked a weekend shift almost every week. Lies and deceit! Also, the longer I was there, the more micromanagement I experienced. I enjoyed the job itself if the managers would just let me do it. Also, I heard managers badmouth... other employees out in the open.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consistent schedules. Let employees do their work. Only deliver criticism in private.

    Mood2014-02-21
Found 8 reviews