Moon Valley Nursery Reviews | Glassdoor

Moon Valley Nursery Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Moon Valley Nursery Owner Les Blake  (no image)
Les Blake
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love working at Moon Valley Nurseries(in 10 reviews)

  • "Life at Moon Valley Nurseries; sometimes you see amazing growth and sometimes our roots need to grow so that we can be stronger(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "hard work - if you call that a con(in 4 reviews)

  • "No cons, great bunch of people to work with(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Avondale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moon Valley Nursery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of work and good people

    Cons

    No cons. Good company

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-10-29
  2. "Good place to make extra money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Moon Valley Nursery full-time

    Pros

    Can make bonuses making sales.

    Cons

    Hard work in the yard.

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-11-27
  3. "Goog job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Moon Valley Nursery part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it was a fun job and worked perfectly with my high school schedule

    Cons

    no cons from me at this time

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-09-06
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planter/PCM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moon Valley Nursery full-time

    Pros

    Pay well, straight forward schedule, lots of O.T

    Cons

    To many managers. Power trips. Mis communication.

    Advice to Management

    Wrongfully writing up employees hurts chemistry and confidence.

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-08-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moon Valley Nursery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    small marketing team, benefits, lots of work opportunities

    Cons

    stressful, dog-eat-dog culture, pawns in a game

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-09-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It isn’t a job when you love where you work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Escondido, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moon Valley Nursery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great workplace atmosphere. Amazing bosses. Phenomenal Owner. Tons of advancement opportunities. Great pay. Full benefits. I could go on and on.... if you are afforded the opportunity to work with this company, take it. But note... it will only be what you choose to make of it. Work hard... because every opportunity is available to you. Your success is their success.

    Cons

    Always busy? That’s not really a con though... so... I’ve got nothing.

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-07-14
  7. "Great Company and Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moon Valley Nursery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Requires hard work and dedication, but very rewarding for those willing to put in the effort.

    Cons

    No cons, great bunch of people to work with! Great products! Great potential!

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-07-09
  8. "Fun environment, hyper competitive sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Moon Valley Nursery full-time

    Pros

    You can move up fast

    Cons

    Training isn’t good, they will screw you

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-07-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Office 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moon Valley Nursery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people working in the stores! A great place to have a career and grow if you have no education or a criminal record (ex convicts and high school dropouts consist of the Executive Team here). Most people in corporate office are very nice

    Cons

    The Owner-absolutely insane. Everyone lives in fear of him and if he is coming to their location/corporate office. Swears, calls people names, treats employees like trash. Corporate employees that did not "come up in the nurseries" absolutely hate when he comes to town. The employees live and work in fear of him. Benefits/PTO-Awful benefits. Store employees do not receive benefits until after 9 months. You get 5 days of PTO a year. Benefits themself are terrible. Sales positions-Commission only positions where you are required to work weekends and work in the extreme temperatures. Very hard to make money as the veterans at the store take the business and the contractor business. Most of these are "seasonal", as they well let you go once the season dies down. NOBODY hired in the past year has made over $65k in a Sales position. The worst position you can take-STAY AWAY. Corporate Office-Human Resources is non existent as she does not want to upset the owner. No rules when it comes to what the owner can do to someone. This place does not follow usual corporate policies and procedures, it is what ever the owner wants whether it is ethical or not (I was asked if I was married or had a family by the owner and his right hand man from California during my interview). Newly created positions are usually just "seasonal" or "temporary" until the season slows down or you are not needed anymore. Executive Leadership- A total joke. Made up of a bunch of friends that "Came up in the Nursery". This "Executive Team" consists of high school drop outs, college drop outs, and people with no higher education. This is not a place (whether a corporate position or sales position) where anyone with an education will do well, as the company leaders and regional leaders are either former felons or college dropouts. Just stay away from this place, especially if it is a Sales position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The way you treat employees and people is awful.

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-07-22
  10. "Difficult work environment, which is compounded by ineffective management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moon Valley Nursery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch provided on weekends.

    Cons

    Six months to acquire healthcare, bad management, dishonest pricing structure, little-to-no marketing, extreme weather, low compensation, etc.

    Moon Valley Nursery2019-07-08
Found 61 reviews