Moraine Park Technical College Reviews | Glassdoor

Moraine Park Technical College Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Moraine Park Technical College President  Bonnie Baerwald
Bonnie Baerwald
6 Ratings
  1. "MPTC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moraine Park Technical College full-time

    Pros

    MPTC offers flexibility and time off during the summer months (with Fridays off in June and July). The pay is fair and the benefits are excellent! There are several talent development offerings/resources available that provide employees the opportunity to gain additional training.

    Cons

    No cons to list at this time

    Moraine Park Technical College2019-08-08

    Moraine Park Technical College Response

    August 19, 2019Advertising and Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive Moraine Park work experiences. We are continuously looking for opportunities to grow and improve, but are pleased that you identified the flexible scheduling and benefits as areas that we have set the bar high. We appreciate the contributions that you made during your time at the College and wish you success in your career.

    Continue reading
  2. "Not bad, as far as tech schools go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty Member in Fond du Lac, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Moraine Park Technical College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with Lots of schedule flexibility No micro-management

    Cons

    Hard to get a read on people and situations here No real shots at promotion unless you're favored by the higher-ups Feels like management makes decisions based on faulty logic Pay is lower than other tech schools in the state The three campuses make instruction more difficult (hard to teach through teleconference--sometimes the IVC fails)

    Continue reading
    Moraine Park Technical College2019-08-13

    Moraine Park Technical College Response

    August 19, 2019Advertising and Social Media Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to review your experiences as an employee of Moraine Park. Your acknowledgment of our flexible scheduling and talented employee pool are areas of great pride for the College. However, we are continuously looking for ways to grow and improve. For this reason, your concern regarding the lack of promotional opportunities is important to us. Please know that your leadership, as well as Talent Development and Talent Management, are willing to work with you to create a career pathway that will help to meet your personal goals. We also appreciate that you continue to choose Moraine Park as your employer of choice. You are a valued part of the organization, and we thank you for your commitment.

    Continue reading
  3. "Moraine Park Technical College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dean in Fond du Lac, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moraine Park Technical College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The college provides flexibility for some employees and permits open campus for faculty. Management and support staff who work through summer months are off on Fridays during the months of June and July.

    Cons

    Faculty salary structure is determined based upon industry and varies depending upon area. The practice creates inconsistency and inequalities. Compensation is not the only area of concern. Work assignments are inconsistent among individuals with the same job title. Internal candidates are frequently overlooked for promotion.

    Continue reading
    Moraine Park Technical College2019-05-04

    Moraine Park Technical College Response

    May 22, 2019Advertising and Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience as a Moraine Park employee. We know that being a part of the College is a choice, and we value that you continue to choose Moraine Park Technical College. As an employer, we strive to provide an employee experience that offers flexibility, work-life balance, and opportunities for professional development. We are a technical college that competes with the industry for our employees. In order to do this, we look at both industry and education to create pay scales. Manager pay ranges and grades are always higher than their direct reports. Our human resources department works year-round to make sure that pay ranges reflect market data, and pay adjustments are provided, as budget allows, if inequities are identified. In some areas, it is common for the workload to vary despite similar job titles. The College does have unique demands in some instructional areas, and position tenure may play a role in the change or increase of job duties. We also believe in engaging our employees and allowing them to grow with us. For this reason, Moraine Park developed the Talent Engagement Plan and it has been successfully implemented for three years. To date, the College has proudly filled 28% of open positions with internal candidates. All positions are posted internally, and opportunities such as professional development and tuition reimbursement are an ongoing part of the Colleges’ benefits package. One of the main components of our strategic plan is to be an employer of choice. Please know that we are always open to discussing concerns with our employees in person, and we encourage an open door policy campus-wide so that quick resolutions can be offered when the need arises. You are a valued part of our organization, and we thank you for your commitment to Moraine Park.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moraine Park Technical College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meaningful place to work and help students

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to report

    Moraine Park Technical College2019-01-21
  5. "Great environment and community involvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fond du Lac, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moraine Park Technical College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Value to community Great pay and benefits Student focused Comfortable environment Flexibility

    Cons

    No tuition benefit for children of employees

    Continue reading
    Moraine Park Technical College2018-08-25
  6. "Employment varies by campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Services Representative in Beaver Dam, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moraine Park Technical College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Established Tech College. Great Pay On the job training Community involvement

    Cons

    I was working in Student Services, which students don't use as much anymore. They do a lot of their registration, etc., online. Not much foot traffic in the office.

    Moraine Park Technical College2018-06-17
  7. "Associate Dean of Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Moraine Park Technical College full-time

    Pros

    The college staff and employees go above and beyond to meet student learning needs and educational goals.

    Cons

    None. All staff work together to implement college initiatives to meet student and community workforce needs to build stronger communities.

    Continue reading
    Moraine Park Technical College2018-05-25
  8. "Associate Dean of Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dean of Nursing in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moraine Park Technical College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The college staff and employee's go above and beyond to ensure students are successful and meet their educational goals. The nursing program is strong with an NCLEX pass rate nationally of 97%.

    Cons

    None. The College is committed to student success to build strong communities and a strong workforce across Wisconsin.

    Continue reading
    Moraine Park Technical College2018-05-25
  9. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Bend, WI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Moraine Park Technical College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, great boss.

    Cons

    No downside. Hours are good.

    Moraine Park Technical College2016-10-25
  10. "Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plymouth, WI

    I worked at Moraine Park Technical College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great hours, friendly people, college atmosphere, great training, good environment

    Cons

    low pay, travel accommodations lacking, no advancement, ok benefits, travel time

    Continue reading
    Moraine Park Technical College2016-10-01
Found 15 reviews