Moran Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Moran Group Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brian Moran
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Upward Mobility and Loyalty Can't be Matched"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moran Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working here is like working at a company 30 years ago. You can plan your career here if you choose. They are loyal to their employees, and, in turn, the employees are loyal back. It's a big company with a small company feel. Employees are friends with each other. Your managers actual care about you as a person. They are constantly working to be better and build an organization that people want to be with.

    Cons

    While growth possibilities are always there, it can be a slow process to actualize.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building up your employee engagement and improvement initiatives. Every year it gets better.

    Moran Group2017-09-22
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Moran Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people from the president to a first year apprentice

    Cons

    The construction sides lack of communication

    Advice to Management

    None

    Moran Group2019-06-08
  3. "Union shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Moran Group full-time

      Pros

      Great people great place Good trade

      Cons

      close knit. and hard to get promoted. even harder to get your foot in the door.

      Moran Group2017-10-06

      Moran Group Response

      October 26, 2017

      Thanks for giving your feedback!

    • "Great place with a low skill celing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Moran Group part-time

      Pros

      Great knowledgeable staff, Friendly , Benefits

      Cons

      monotonous boring little room to improve skills

      Advice to Management

      hire more young people

      Moran Group2017-09-19

      Moran Group Response

      September 21, 2017

      Thank you for your review! Feel free to utilize our Moran University or suggest training's that you think would be useful. Have a good day!

    • "Fire Alarm Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Fire Alarm Technician in La Porte, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Moran Group full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The pay is decent. The hours are great.

      Cons

      They really don't have a clue on how to do Fire Alarm. (La Porte Tx). They only know how to do sprinkler and that's only because the Union is involved. Other than that I'm sure most guys would be totally clueless. Most of the time guys just sit around the shop cracking lowbrow jokes. There'll be times when you're just sitting around bored to tears. I'm talking energy draining mind numbing boredom. The hiring manager...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Read and apply the NFPA 72,25, and other applicable codes correctly and uniformly.

      Moran Group2017-09-18

      Moran Group Response

      September 22, 2017

      Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate all constructive feedback. It's my understanding that you reached out directly to our company president as well - thank you for that! It's unfortunate that your three week tenure at our LaPorte office wasn't what you expected. With ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Employee Investment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Manager in Morton, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Moran Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The Moran Group is an excellent place to work. They offer many classes/courses for self improvement. The Moran Group truly invests in it's partners.

      Cons

      Finding time to complete the training classes can be challenging.

      Advice to Management

      Continue your investment to the employees of The Moran Group.

      Moran Group2017-05-08

      Moran Group Response

      May 9, 2017

      Thank you for the review. We will be sure to keep up the training opportunities!

    • Helpful (1)

      "A Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager in Northbrook, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Moran Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Offer a competitive salary package Friendly work environment Positive attitude approach to problems Advancement opportunities Dedicated partners Great company values

      Cons

      Location can be difficult during end of day commute home with traffic. Ride into work is not as bad.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to promote positive attitudes in your departments and provide feedback on job performances frequently.

      Moran Group2016-10-12

      Moran Group Response

      November 15, 2016

      Thanks for the review. We really appreciate your feedback.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Company Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Moran Group full-time

      Pros

      FE Moran is a supreme company that provides a very high quality of service together with engineering expertise in developing an optimum solution to complex problems at an economical cost. Every individual is given numerous opportunities to develop their skills and potential to the highest level possible and beyond.

      Cons

      Greater interaction between the different services that are provided by the company as well as sharing more good and bad experiences on projects would be a huge benefit to new and current employees.

      Advice to Management

      Continue a mission to provide the highest quality of service to the client as well as maintaining a positive and professional place of employment.

      Moran Group2016-10-12

      Moran Group Response

      November 15, 2016

      Thanks! I'm glad you appreciate our training program. We plan on growing it even more. Also, great insight on sharing both good and bad experiences. Learning from other people's experiences is by far the best way.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Best Career Decision Made"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Fire Protection Designer in Griffith, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Moran Group

      Pros

      Peoples willingness to share information for the benefit of the company. Very informative of Company programs and offer any type of required help. Always pushing to continue learning new codes and regulations and keep certifications current.

      Cons

      A lot of special forms.

      Moran Group2016-10-12

      Moran Group Response

      November 15, 2016

      Thanks! I'm glad you like our education-centered approach to career growth.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Moran Group full-time

      Pros

      Well known company, occasionally work on interesting projectd

      Cons

      Poor compensation, FEM promotes the under qualified to key positions, office is a dump, manipulative managers

      Moran Group2016-05-16

      Moran Group Response

      October 12, 2016

      Thank you for the feedback. Feel free to get in touch with us about the issues you found while working here. We're always striving to improve.

    Found 25 reviews