Moreno Valley Unified School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Moreno Valley Unified School District Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rowena Lagrosa
5 Ratings
  1. "Busy school district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Moreno Valley Unified School District

      Pros

      Jobs are plentiful at this school district

      Cons

      Has not adapted to technology like other school districts and is still using outdated time cards

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2017-12-10
    • "It was an okay job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Child Development Assistant II in Moreno Valley, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Moreno Valley Unified School District part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Pay was good. Offered benefits even though I was part time. 4 hours per day.

      Cons

      Poor management but the director I worked under is no longer there. Some teachers don't care about their jobs so they don't really do their jobs. Too much responsibility placed on aids. Unorganized

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2019-04-14
    • "Demographics Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Moreno Valley Unified School District full-time

      Pros

      The people are great to work with. Very decent salart, good benefitd, lots of vacation and sick time.

      Cons

      Wish i could work 4 days, 10 hrs a week, but that is not offered.

      Advice to Management

      Keep ot up. More and more transparency.

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2018-11-07
    • "Good district, rough community."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Moreno Valley Unified School District full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great organization, people are treated well and quite fairly, good staff development opportunities, caring principals and teachers. Support staff from the district to the schools is very good.

      Cons

      Interesting community, benefit package good be better.

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2018-07-31
    • "Decent pay, nice staff, rough neighborhood"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher in Moreno Valley, CA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Moreno Valley Unified School District full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I felt welcomed at this school. The teachers in my field were really friendly and we bonded. The staff was all very friendly. Thank god for the on-call campus supervisors that would come to you if you needed them to walk a kid out. The pay was decent compared to surrounding areas. The pay schedule was promising. The majority of my students were very kind especially the older students. The School I worked...

      Show More

      Cons

      I had some really nasty students that made some classes unbearable. Freshmen required classes can be a challenge. This job taught me a lot about classroom management, but unfortunately there is a limit to everything and these days the admin don't seem to have much power. It's all about the parents. Students slandered me (no surprise there) and I had admin breathing down my back. The push for common core and posting...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Trust your teachers more. Don't be afraid to discipline. Try to be more cohesive as an admin team. Maybe adopt a meditation practice room for students that are cycling in and out of the office. Stop enabling them.

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2018-08-07
    • "IT Analyst II"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Moreno Valley Unified School District full-time

      Pros

      High pay, union support, generally good people.

      Cons

      Many things seem shady or inappropriate.

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2018-06-13
    • "Moreno Valley"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Classroom Teacher in Moreno Valley, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Moreno Valley Unified School District full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Strong Union. Great coworkers. Lower pay and benefits than other districts in riverside but better than smaller usd.

      Cons

      Union is getting weaker. Politics in Moreno Valley is crazy.

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2018-01-21
    • "Grounds"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Gardener III in Moreno Valley, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Moreno Valley Unified School District full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great hours, friendly work environment with potential for growth

      Cons

      Salaries could be a more competitive

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2017-01-08
    • "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Moreno Valley Unified School District

      Pros

      Excellent professional development opportunities. Competitive salary, benefits Frequent transfer opportunities.

      Cons

      Major focus on assessments can create stress for both teachers and students. The assessments may not reflect actual academic growth in students.

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2016-06-27
    • "K-12 teachers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Moreno Valley, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Moreno Valley Unified School District full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent professional development training for the staff, teachers and administrators. Coaches and other professional development staff available to assist with LCAP and other academic goals for success of the students.

      Cons

      Not enough positions available due to class size and other factors.

      Advice to Management

      Streamline the amount of students in k-5th grade levels, fill positions for the upcoming retirements and transfers, make sure to make the Intervention and ELA positions full-time to service the students of greatest need in reading and math.

      Moreno Valley Unified School District2016-05-19
    Found 22 reviews