Morgan McKinley Reviews | Glassdoor

Morgan McKinley Reviews

Updated October 18, 2018
243 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley CEO Aldagh McDonogh
Aldagh McDonogh
32 Ratings

243 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Very good work-life balance by keeping admin/meetings to a reasonable level" (in 14 reviews)

  • "There is a great working environment and access to further training if you need it" (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Turnover is high for these reasons alone, as it's a good place to work" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not very good" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    Open culture, diverse employees, good opportunity for young employees.

    Cons

    Training is not well developed, internal politics.

    Advice to Management

    Improve training, address problems faster, more transparency.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Jul 26, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. I would welcome the opportunity to learn about your experience in more detail, as I am keen to understand your views on our training programmes, since this is typically... More


  2. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great working environment, world-class orgnization

    Cons

    Highly competetive, extremely target driven

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thank you for sharing your feedback

  3. "Great People, Poor Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    great people and culture, knows how to have fun and great experience

    Cons

    senior management ideas sometimes does not align with employees

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – People Director

    Thank you for your feedback. I would be interested to learn more about your views on senior management - please feel free to contact me directly and confidentially at awebb@morganmckinley.com


  4. "Good boutique recruitment firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, good company culture, no emphasis on KPIs, good work-life balance

    Cons

    slow software, slow promotion (no clear goal), high turnover in researcher team

    Advice to Management

    Set clear goals for researchers, consultants and senior consultants. Actively recruit fresh grad or interns as researchers or get rid of the researcher level


  5. "Great culture, colleagues and brand!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Candidate Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Candidate Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Part of a great team
    Love our CSR initiative
    Incredible benefits and incentives
    Flexibility is fantastic

    Cons

    Nona at this time

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    This is so great to read! We're really happy to hear all the reasons why you enjoy being part of Team MMK. We wish you a long and successful career within the business.


  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Collaborative culture and hard work is appreciated!

    Cons

    The nature of recruitment, and the recruitment industry is tough, but MMK make the high's and lows of recruitment very manageable - no cons

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Oct 12, 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for your feedback - which is so great to read! We're really happy to read how you describe our culture and wish you continued success within MMK.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good training and appetite for knowledge sharing among consultants.
    It's an excellent first step on a ladder for budding sales professionals. A strong manager is key to that learning curve as otherwise people sink rather than swim.

    Cons

    Very political organisation.
    They were overly focused on style rather than substance; for instance there were a lot of parties but no health insurance cover.

    Advice to Management

    Less 5* parties and more focus on meaningful employee benefits.
    Increase transparency on salaries, and progression routes.
    Increase focus on using coaching and reviews to really develop individuals.

  8. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Morgan McKinley is such a great place to work as they are all about the people! Being a working mum the flexibility they offer me is incredible and with the recent introduction of laptops, we are now able to work in a more agile environment. It's a very rewarding place to work, not only financially but also for me personally and professionally.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Sep 26, 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    We're so pleased to read about your experience as part of our UK Team and happy to hear how flexible and agile working is having such a positive impact for you. Thank you for sharing your feedback!... More


  9. "One of the 'nicer' recruitment agencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant
    Current Employee - Consultant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Definitely friendlier than most agencies I am aware of
    No "aggressive" sales environment

    Cons

    Commission structure could be improved, generally seems to be based on the desk you sit on, and certain people will earn more despite doing the same job
    Very 'top heavy'


  10. "Live plants, a coffee machine and a great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Sydney (Australia)
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Sydney (Australia)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    My first thought of Morgan McKinley before joining the team was not the same as it is now.
    I originally thought it was extremely corporate with a focus on hitting targets, just like a lot of recruitment companies. But that's not how I would describe Morgan McKinely at all!

    I can go to the gym in the afternoon and get home at a suitable hour.
    The office is a 3 minute walk to Darling harbor. It is modern with live plants littered across the office space and amazing city views. There're a fully equip kitchen with a coffee machine.

    The training and the culture have been the best so far though; I have no experience in accounting and finance. So, recruiting accountants for top tier companies was really intimidating for me. But thanks to the training and support from my colleagues, I have now placed my third happy candidate!

    Cons

    We need one more microwave.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Sep 13, 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for sharing your experience of our Sydney office so far! It's so great to read about how positive you have found our culture, training and working environment. We wish you a long and happy... More


Showing 243 of 253 reviews
Reset Filters