Morgan McKinley Reviews | Glassdoor

Morgan McKinley Reviews

Updated September 13, 2017
189 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley CEO Pat Fitzgerald
Pat Fitzgerald
124 Ratings

189 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Very good work-life balance by keeping admin/meetings to a reasonable level (in 11 reviews)

  • There is a great working environment and access to further training if you need it (in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    Open culture, diverse employees, good opportunity for young employees.

    Cons

    Training is not well developed, internal politics.

    Advice to Management

    Improve training, address problems faster, more transparency.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Jul 26, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. I would welcome the opportunity to learn about your experience in more detail, as I am keen to understand your views on our training programmes, since this is typically... More


  2. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great working environment, world-class orgnization

    Cons

    Highly competetive, extremely target driven

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thank you for sharing your feedback

  3. "Great People, Poor Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    great people and culture, knows how to have fun and great experience

    Cons

    senior management ideas sometimes does not align with employees

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – People Director

    Thank you for your feedback. I would be interested to learn more about your views on senior management - please feel free to contact me directly and confidentially at awebb@morganmckinley.com


  4. "Good boutique recruitment firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, good company culture, no emphasis on KPIs, good work-life balance

    Cons

    slow software, slow promotion (no clear goal), high turnover in researcher team

    Advice to Management

    Set clear goals for researchers, consultants and senior consultants. Actively recruit fresh grad or interns as researchers or get rid of the researcher level


  5. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley (More than a year)

    Pros

    the environment and culture is good

    Cons

    the working hours can be long

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for your review!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place with a very different style."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Current Employee - Consultant in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A genuinely different recruitment company, with a much more mature and professional way of operating. Autonomy and ownership is encouraged rather than micro-managing, and leadership options are available to those who want them, from an early stage in your career.

    Great office, excellent incentives (at least half the office goes each year on trip to vietnam, thailand etc and stay in 5 star hotels; plus team lunches; office sports and fun activities in the evenings - lots of social interaction).

    Professionally a good brand - genuine leader in financial services recruitment in HK (wins awards year after year) and a strong commerce & industry division growing for 10+ years now which means the company covers a large share of the market.

    Impressive CSR: raising 1,000,000 Euro for charity in less than 2 years, and we get charitable days off to help towards this target. Company shows it has a heart.

    Strong, friendly, but firm MD who cares for the people, but will not allow idle staff to sit still. As an experienced recruiter she also adds a lot of info and contacts to the team.

    Work/Life balance is decent. Some people work late as a choice but it is not expected or encouraged. We also have target-based early closing, including 12noon friday, and we start later than most recruiters in HK.

    Cons

    Database can be slow and frustrating sometimes

    Some privileged consultants expect all the work to be done for them and complain when it is not. This can effect morale.

    More responsibility could be given to junior managers earlier.

    Quite a few long-term staff had got comfortable and were not as hard-working or cross-selling well. They should step up or move on, as negative energy is not welcome.

    Office is really full now and can be too noisy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, you have a recipe to grow this happy business. Dont listen to some of the negativity from those low performers who are not prepared to work hard... or be distracted by lazy people's feedback.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – HR Business Partner

    We appreciate your feedback, and ensure that we take all comments (positive and negative) on board. We’re pleased to read your observations on our culture, management team and CSR challenge. It would... More


  7. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    good environment of work . good cafeteria. good food .

    Cons

    Please change the hr management little.

    Advice to Management

    Worst hr ever met .

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear that you have not had a great experience with the HR team at Morgan McKinley. I'd really welcome your further feedback, since this is typically rated... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "MMK - Singapore Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Consultant in Singapore (Singapore)
    Current Employee - Delivery Consultant in Singapore (Singapore)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    MMK is definitely different that the other recruitment firms; they do live up to their values and provide a healthy competitive environment where all the consultants can feel empowered. There will always be some thinking that it is too competitive, too sales target driven, too KPI driven. The reality is, we are in recruitment; if you do not like a bit of competition or to achieve sales targets, it might not be the right job for you.

    The senior management is very close to each employees and everything is very transparent; the Director is always open to hear new ideas or concerns that we might have and takes them onboard. Most managers are also good listeners.

    It is also a very rewarding environment; every success is celebrated. And when we do not have a good month, well, we are being motivated to do better.

    I created very strong friendships in this environment; most of us work very well together and cross-selling happens naturally.

    MMK is also very involved in charity and CSR programmes.

    I believe most people feel proud to be part of the MMK family, I certainly do. The way we approach recruitment is different than everybody else. We are very candidate focused: we treat all candidates like kings and queens while others would glorify clients only.

    It is a modern recruitment firm, listening to the markets and riding the Tech wave. We also focus more on recruiting for SME rather than the big dogs.

    Recruitment is a very competitive industry in Singapore. There are 3700 of them here and MMK definitely stands out.

    There are also loads of internal opportunities; if you do not feel good on a particular desk, you can definitely move to another.

    Cons

    - Training programmes to develop: we recently put in place MOT (module orientated trainings) which is great, and we have very well done online trainings (Knowledge Hub) but we lack face to face training. I know this is being addressed and will be implemented soon.

    - Hardware: this is also something that the management is aware off. If we are going to be a more Tech focus recruitment firm, we need to have the tools for it.

    - APAC politics: it can be very difficult to work well with a few other of our APAC offices; some internal politics are having a negative effect on the business and on the relationships with some stakeholders.

    - The office space is not cost efficient.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and do keep your promises.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Aug 4, 2017 – Head of Learning and Development

    Thanks for your review! It's really pleasing to hear about your experience of our culture, values and working environment. I'd be keen to learn more about your ideas and thoughts on training, IT... More


  9. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work, good salary and perks. Great social life and friendships built.

    Cons

    I didn't have any issues when working there

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for your review. It's great to hear about your positive experience in our Dublin office. We wish you best of luck for the future.


  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Morgan McKinley are a flexible company working with their employees to offer work opportunities that suit their employees.
    Approachable management
    Excellent online up skilling courses
    Great benefits
    Forward thinking

    Cons

    none to speak of at this time

    Morgan McKinley Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Its great to hear how positively you rate the culture and incentives that you’ve experienced whilst working at Morgan McKinley... Long may it continue!


Showing 189 of 196 reviews
Reset Filters