KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Morley Builders

Is this your company?

Morley Builders

Add a Review

Morley Builders Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 41 reviews

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Morley Builders  President   Charles Muttillo (no image)
Charles Muttillo
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jul 7, 2021 - Senior Instructional Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hands-down the smartest group of people I've worked with. Hardworking and hard-playing--very athletic crew who have kicked me into better physical shape than I've been in years! I have the latitude to do my job while learning from others. Great company values that are not just lip service. Great benefits and bonuses.

    Cons

    COVID aside, very much a "you work in the office" culture--although I was provided noise-cancelling headphones!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    All-Around Incredible Place to Work

    Mar 8, 2021 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *The sense of family and comradery isn't just talk here. Coworkers are truly friends with one another and in some cases have known each other for 30 years and feel like family. *Our projects speak for themselves and are some of the most impressive in southern CA. New challenges excite our project teams instead of deter them. *The people are some of the smartest I've ever met, but you wouldn't know it from how humble and down-to-earth they are. Our President and executive team always have their office doors open and are very approachable. I think the vast majority of employees here live up to the company values of integrity and respect. *The company truly does put the employees at the forefront of every single decision they make. Benefits and bonuses are great. Even with COVID-19 there has been an effort to offer extra perks like a virtual holiday party and a gift card to buy Thanksgiving groceries.

    Cons

    *There is a common perception that certain people being are favored for promotions, "good" projects, and so on. *As a construction company, Morley is still holding on to some of those traditional old school ways of thinking and sometimes that can come as a detriment. Some can be resistant to new concepts that are meant to improve the company, like new technologies or new protocols that weren't around 20 years ago. Just because something is new doesn't make it bad, and change isn't always the enemy. Some view this as an attempt to change the "Morley Way" instead of as a way to keep us competitive in the market or comply with new laws that didn't exist years ago. *The hours are not for the faint of heart or for those looking to punch the clock in and out for 8 hours a day. But as many others have said that's just a side effect of the industry and you will find that regardless of the company you work at in construction. Those who are passionate about building and love what they do will see this as a necessary evil, but for some it may not be worth the long days or time away from home.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company

    Feb 24, 2021 - Senior Project Accountant in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is rare for a company to think of its employees first. Salary very highly competitive. Great yearly bonus for an excellent performance. Keep employees well informed of updates/development. Great work/family culture! Recognized & rewarded high performance.

    Cons

    Overly cautious in letting poorly performance employees go.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Morley Builders Response

    VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback! It helps us keep our eye on the ball.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good

    Feb 2, 2021 - Project Engineer in Riverside, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can provide only positive feedback.

    Cons

    There are no negative comments.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Morley Builders Response

    VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to share with us. A rating of 5 is surely where we aim to be!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great acclimation to remote working

    Sep 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Efficient work and progress that is running smoothly despite COVID

    Cons

    Less in person communication due to COVID

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Morley Builders Response

    VP, Human Resources

    Thank you!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Encouraging Management & Positive Work Environment

    Dec 17, 2019 - Project Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After being with Morley for just over 1 year now I have received amazing support from everyone I have worked with. What I enjoy most about working for Morley is the level of responsibility management gives you early on. To some, this may be intimidating and overwhelming but for me, it was a way to learn quickly. If my duties did seem to be above my "level" all team members were there to help If I spoke up. Fun projects. Great work ethic. Intelligent team members.

    Cons

    Can't think of one thing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Morley Builders Response

    VP, Human Resources

    Thank you! We love hearing when we get it right.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrible managment, Company doesn't give a crap about their employees

    May 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. I can't think of one.

    Cons

    Entitled management ZERO path to promotions, unless you are "One of the boys" or family (Nepotism runs strong here)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Morley Builders Response

    VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Although it is difficult to hear the not-so-good-stuff, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts so that we can improve moving forward.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellence Company

    Jul 19, 2018 - Accountant in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family oriented, genuinely nice & caring people, good benefits & salary! I am relatively new to the company and I have felt very welcome by everyone. This is honest to goodness the nicest group of people. Very down to earth, no pretension from everyone especially our President, Charlie. Company benefits are excellence - salary is slightly higher than most I think; medical benefits is excellence as well as stock option and bonus. There are some of employees have been with the company for years, which said a lot as nobody want to hang on to a company so long if they hate their job or the people they work with. Life is too short for that. The processes are a bit funky and convoluted but the company is spending the money to streamline and improving them as we speak to shore up the infrastructures. Kudos to the leadership team!

    Cons

    Processes are convoluted and inefficient

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Contractor & Excellent Reputation

    Feb 25, 2010 - Project Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall a great company to work for and regarded as one of the best contractors in Los Angeles. The company offers good benefits and the salary / bonus structure seems to be higher than average. The opportunities for learning are quite extensive since the company works on a broad range of project types and self performs concrete work. Employees are generally given the opportunity to take on as much work as they can handle/want and are subsequently rewarded for it. They also provide a good atmosphere to work in as management generally seems to care for the employees and most employees seem to enjoy working with each other.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, there are no opportunities to leave So Cal as the company's operations are limited to Los Angeles & San Diego.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A great place to work on its way to Excellence

    Feb 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great family culture and work environment: fun, friendly, family-oriented - Offers lots of social activities and gathering outside of work - We build unique and challenging projects that make us proud - Morley is comprised of talented individuals who are very engaged and passionate about the work we do - Leadership cares about people and is invested in growing and developing its employees - Morley embraces change and new ideas; committed to doing what it takes to make Morley one of the best places to work and is taking active steps towards that goal - Morley is becoming very forward-thinking and offers many avenues for us to get involved in special initiatives and programs - Overall competitive benefit package -100% Employee Owned

    Cons

    - Could offer more flexibility with work schedules and telecommuting (currently offers traditional work hours from the office/jobsites) - Communication could be improved for more transparency and openness (they are working on it) - No company sponsored maternity leave plan

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with Morley Builders Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Morley Builders? Share Your Experiences

Morley Builders logo
or