Morningstar Reviews | Glassdoor

Morningstar Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 878 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Morningstar CEO Kunal Kapoor
Kunal Kapoor
249 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay -- While there are decent benefits to help mitigate this fact, the truth is that they are really falling behind here(in 36 reviews)

  • "Senior management has no vision about the business and knows nothing about database or data methodologies(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr .QA Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. No micro management 2. Your ideas are accepted 3.Work life balance 4. Excellent benefits 5. Opportunities to learn and implement new stuffs 6.Constant feedbacks

    Cons

    Commute from suburbs is average 90 mins one way which is affecting time you spend with family. But trying to compensate that with flexible work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Project managers - Keep the meetings short and sweet.

    Morningstar2019-06-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with endless opportunities and unequal benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Oakland, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth are endless if you are motivated and and not afraid to take risks and try new things. The overall culture is amazing and the benefits are unequaled in my experience.

    Cons

    Sometimes being nimble and bold, which is necessary for continued growth in a large company, can present constant change. If you are not good at dealing with change, this can be a Con. That's the only thing I can really think of, but it's honestly not a con for me.

    Morningstar2019-06-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "PRIDE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morningstar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’m proud of Morningstar in all ways. The culture of the company is continuous improvement and innovation. It is my forever work home. I learned every day. And was surrounded by smart, hardworking colleagues. Today I brought some of my new colleagues to the annual pride celebration. They were welcomed as though they had been part of the Morningstar family for many years. It’s truly a special place.

    Cons

    There are very few cons to working at Morningstar.

    Morningstar2019-06-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is great. Culture is awesome. Everyone is respected and given opportunities to grow. Very open culture, no closed door policy around here. CEO and the senior management are doing a great job in keeping goals very transparent. I have full confidence in the management team of doing a great job.

    Cons

    Company doesn't let go of employees easily. As a result of this, there are quite a few under performers who tend to affect the morale of others.

    Advice to Management

    Management should start inculcating a growth mindset at the time of inducting new employees. Also, showing a bit of intolerance to under performance would go a long way in making the company compete better in the market.

    Morningstar2019-06-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, friendly people. Nice work environment. Flexibility. If you're willing to keep learning , there's opportunity for growth and advancement.

    Cons

    Some great managers, some not so great. As everywhere.

    Advice to Management

    Don't wait for underlings to complain about their manager. If the manager is bad, team members likely won't risk being found out as the talker. If you want to have more effective teams, make management reviews a part of your quarterly check-ins. Managers give team members things to grow and develop in, but you could also give the team members a safe way to tell HR what they think their manager can grow and change in....

    Show More
    Morningstar2019-06-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere Bagel Wednesdays! Work life balance Forward looking Willing to embrace new and emerging technologies Individual contributors can make a difference and are encouraged to make things better

    Cons

    Pay is not top tier

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Morningstar2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Morningstar for less than a year and I have nothing to complain about. There are amazing opportunities to to make an impact as the company continues to grow and evolve. I'm very excited to be a part of the ride!

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Morningstar2019-06-07
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Surviving by offshoring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morningstar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Investment related benefits Good bonus depending on your unit

    Cons

    Some business units have 0 vision and plans. Not an ideal place if you want to learn new technologies. Everybody’s withholding information to save their jobs. Would not recommend if you are a mid to senior level engineer who likes to be on top of your game.

    Advice to Management

    Stop changing your plans every quarter. If the only way you are going to make profit out of a business unit is to lay off your most senior people and offshore, you need a better strategy to survive in the market. Also, stop hiring to do the cleanup job before you handover stuff offshore.

    Morningstar2019-06-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, culture and benefits make Morningstar a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Equity Research Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work/Life balance -Support for employee initiatives and resource groups -Encouragement of employee development -Health benefits & 401(k) match -Great work atmosphere and coffee options at the office

    Cons

    -Morningstar is generally quite thrifty with compensation -Communication and motivation from senior leaders could be better -Internal resources need to be improved. General data requests from internal teams take too long to get resolved.

    Morningstar2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Dysfunctional Products & Senior Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Morningstar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - casual work environment - friendly coworkers - industry exposure - ethical workplace - solid growth opportunities

    Cons

    - low pay - little to no communication between product and client needs/sales feedback - company leaders are not practitioners and have low levels of client understanding - too many low-quality products and loss of focus (used to be data but now focusing on so many other aspects of advisor/investor space that product quality suffers) - very little support for sales professionals who are attempting to both support current...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Minimize the new product innovation and focus on a few main products and make them competitive against our peers in the space (Factset, Orion, Reuters, etc.) Increase pay to be industry average at least Do not punish sales representatives or Client Success managers for the faults of product and poor planning by senior leadership

    Morningstar2019-06-05
Found 878 reviews