Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency Reviews | Glassdoor

Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Brendan Morris
6 Ratings
  1. "Value based workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happy Camper in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So many fun activities to choose from, career advancement - steady promotions, relaxing workplace with outdoor areas to relax or exercise, on-site gym, modern break area with snacks, drinks, full kitchen allows for healthy eating every day. Strong leadership who really cares about employees and clients. Organized way of doing work and access to technology.

    Cons

    the more we grow, the more people we need!

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2016-12-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not many.. free health benefits (med,dental, vision, ect), holiday and employee appreciation party, paid days off, some ability to have a flexible schedule, sick time, some snacks in the break room, yearly bonus.. Some nice perks that offset the extremely low pay, but also nothing that most companies aren't doing these days..

    Cons

    5+ years ago Morris & Garritano used to be a great place to work.. They used to have paid happy hour BBQ's on the patio, snacks and goodies packed in the kitchen, fun events and team games during or outside of work, and anywhere you walk in the office the morale was overall very positive and employees genuinely felt appreciated and valued their job. Unfortunately, things could not be more opposite now.. Within the last few years, especially the last 1-2, things have significantly turned for the worse with this company. Many of the best leaders and employees are long gone at this point. The company is so focused on growth and increasing profits that just about all the best things about working for M&G are non-existent i.e no more monthly happy hours or "bunker" days as they call them, snacks went from high quality trail mixes / nuts and seltzer waters to processed garbage, and most importantly- Extremely high workloads leading to a very stressful and toxic environment without support from management, un-attainable quotas, along with blame and backstabbing is an everyday affair at this company. Middle and upper-management spend their days sitting in their office trying to devise ways of how they can get everyone else on the floor already at a max capacity workload to take on even more work at a faster pace. Most of the time its due to someone either quitting on the spot or getting fired out of the blue and no replacements being hired, so everyone is forced to absorb higher workloads. The day you stop drinking the Kool aid or speak up for your team for additional support you will be shunned out or fired without any notice. Sadly, everyone is so scared of losing their job that no one speaks up and just puts their heads down and accepts the reality of this toxic environment and put up with the blatant harassment from their supervisors or colleagues until they can find another job. All these things could be put up with if the pay was right, but again that is not the case here. There is an extreme pay gap at this company between entry and mid level positions to upper management. The stress, demand and workload that you will be responsible for compared to your wage will be almost laughable as the average pay for mid-level licensed positions is about the same as bagging groceries at Whole Foods. Yearly pay raise? Doesn't happen unless you threaten them and play hard ball or expect a 3% raise regardless of your seniority, or even taking on more work and projects. Unless you absolutely have no other option, I strongly advise to not take a job at this company. They will work you to death and I promise the pay-off will not be worth the stress you will endure.

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2019-05-27
  3. "Could not be happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency

    Pros

    Great place to work Great opportunity.

    Cons

    I can not say anything that would fall in the cons

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2016-02-29
  4. "They make working in the insurance industry fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is progressive and likes to have fun. The work is hard yet rewarding. The company is innovative and not afraid to challenge themselves to grow.

    Cons

    The insurance industry is not the most exciting.

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2015-08-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worked there 39 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Lines Manager in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency full-time

    Pros

    Was wonderful when Norma Crow was the manager. When Kerry and her brother Brendan came in and pushed her out the door it went down hill. Most long term employees were harassed and pushed out the door, one way or another. Kerry had her father's tax return on the system where anyone could look at it. I know this will be deleted.

    Cons

    Had a nervous breakdown from all the harassment. I was a loyal and hardworking employee. Left on disability. When my car was hit by another car when running errands for the agency they would not pay for the repairs. Later down the road when Kerry sent me home to work, and then told me I had to come back to the office to work I couldn't take it anymore. Then they offered me $5,000 to not say anything negative about them. They have many wonderful staff members, especially Shirley Fitzgerald in Personal Lines. God bless her good heart for hanging in there.

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2015-08-08
  6. "Great Job & Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work! The company offers a nice opportunity to work in SLO and achieve growth within an organization and career. The company and management really focus on maintaining a positive culture within the company. Lots of perks, random work parties, etc. The company has a great benefits package as well and competitive compensation. Many employees have worked for the company 10+ years. The company continues to see great growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Not many. Due to the industry there can be cycles of high workload, but that is typically well managed and staffed for accordingly.

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2015-06-04
  7. "Fullfilling and Exciting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is led by people who care -- they care about their employees, the quality of the product they represent, and the community that they serve. Morris & Garritano continuously invests in their employees and client tools to ensure that the client experience not only meets but exceeds expectations. Real people, looking to make a real difference.

    Cons

    I don't really have anything negative to say -- we are evolving in so many ways that even if I could think of something, I'm pretty sure it's already being worked on or addressed by our senior management team.

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2015-06-04
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work / Life Balance is great.. Awesome people to work with and the sales managers know what they're doing. Good Insurance company to start and grow with if you're an agent.

    Cons

    None with the company, just with Insurance in general. Highly competitive market and the town of SLO is very small. Hard to compete with the big players.

    Continue reading
    Morris & Garritano Insurance Agency2014-03-25
Found 8 reviews