Morrison & Foerster Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Morrison & Foerster COO Pat Cavaney
Pat Cavaney
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "interesting cases and good benefits(in 14 reviews)

  • "Pretty offices, good pro bono work, ok benefits(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast-paced firm with great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Role in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been at MoFo for almost 5 years and love it here. I'm in a role that allows me to interact with people from many of our offices on a daily basis, and I have built great professional and personal relationships. The benefits and resources are excellent. We have a happy hour every Friday with beer, wine, and snacks. The office also does other special things throughout the year like staff appreciation week and a number of fun pop-up events in the summer. It's definitely a busy place to work, but I like the fast-paced environment.

    Cons

    Nothing major to share here.

    Morrison & Foerster2020-01-17
  2. "Decent for BigLaw Standards"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I lateraled here from another top firm. MoFo definitely has a better QOL, but it’s still BigLaw. People tend to be very nice and I’ve found that it’s generally reasonable. Parental leave program is also spectacular.

    Cons

    Hours can be long. Firm is kind of cheap compared to its peers when it comes to resources. They also like to “staff leanly” which sounds nice but also means that when you get more senior it’s hard to get junior associates to do grunt work.

    Continue reading
    Morrison & Foerster2020-05-26
  3. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Associate in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good culture and nice place to work

    Cons

    Long hours and lack of transparency on advancement

    Morrison & Foerster2020-05-20
  4. "A great big firm to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This is probably one of the best big firms to work for. The work is interesting and the clients are good. It has the expected big-firm pay (and big-firm hours), but it does not have the stereotypical big-firm personalities. The people are generally good people and the firm puts a premium on teaching young associates to preserve their reputations as ethical honest dealers.

    Cons

    All of the cons of big firms apply to this big firm. You work all the time, the deadlines are relentless, and your chances of making partner are low (though there is a lot of help available for lawyers looking for in-house work).

    Morrison & Foerster2020-05-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Impractical Expectations; Management Needs Work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secretary in Washington, DC
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Jeans Fridays; occasional free food and drinks

    Cons

    Management with no previous law firm experience

    Continue reading
    Morrison & Foerster2020-04-04
  6. "Review"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Morrison & Foerster full-time

    Pros

    Pay in line with other firms

    Cons

    Long hours but that is expected

    Morrison & Foerster2020-02-13
  7. "Good work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time

    Pros

    Sophisticated work for high profile clients

    Cons

    Long hours and demands on time and availability

    Morrison & Foerster2020-02-08
  8. "Great Firm"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great clients, small teams, great training

    Cons

    Partnership potential is very limited

    Morrison & Foerster2020-01-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "no longer a US News "Best Place to Work" firm"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Client Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flex work schedule and telecommuting possible

    Cons

    50-60 hour work weeks in exchange for flex schedule/ telecommuting; bonus /profit sharing delayed by 6 months as a retention tactic.

    Morrison & Foerster2019-12-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A sad place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison & Foerster full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty offices, good pro bono work, ok benefits.

    Cons

    My time is split between two offices and neither have the collaborative/friendly work environment a company should have. Both offices are extremely quiet and it seems that everyone just keeps to themselves. Maybe if you’re an introvert you’d like this company, but it’s kind of a sad place to visit every week day.

    Continue reading
    Morrison & Foerster2019-11-11
Found 207 reviews