KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Morton Salt

Is this your company?

Morton Salt

Add a Review

Morton Salt Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 of over 241 reviews

2.9
52%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Morton Salt CEO Mark Demetree (no image)
Mark Demetree
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "lots of hours available good pay and good people to work with(in 13 reviews)

  • "Headquarters is centrally located in a new building(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Communication with upper management needs some improvement(in 17 reviews)

  • "Management and German parent company(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Morton Salt and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company

      Aug 26, 2021 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Long standing profitable business with a strong brand

      Cons

      Alot of change going on

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      We need new management

      Jun 25, 2021 - Forklift Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good just less than all the other plants

      Cons

      Every since the new management came last year our production numbers went down.Prior we was getting our numbers easy. All the rules only applied to the production workers while the salary workers get to get away with everything. If I wear jewelry in the plant I’ll get written up but (supervisors and technicians) get to walk around with it and nobody says nothing. Every week they skip doing a thorough maintenance day cause they want to slave us and keep us producing then when we keep having down time they blame us.Now all of a sudden they adding us to the list making us do mandatory overtime any day they pick like we don’t have a outside life but they don’t gotta come in. I recently put in vacation time for 12/21 and 12/22 and was told I couldn’t take off cause the plant manager off…smh. We need a whole new management and they don’t wanna admit that. Look at our production numbers prior to the new management team 🤔. We are not recognized for nothing we do and we work a long 12hr shift in the heat. They say nothing is more important than health and safety but it’s really nothing more important than making bags. Supervisor on another shift has time card fraud ($60k) and still employed and nobody said nothing about it but if we 1 minute late we get written up. Besides the pay I wouldn’t recommend this job for nobody not to mention we the only plant that’s not union that alone speaks volume.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Poor company culture with no core values

      Sep 15, 2021 - National Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Brand recognition 2. Most of the employees who generate productivity on a daily basis are outstanding hard working people who have integrity.

      Cons

      1. High School environment 2. Leadership is toxic and harassing 3. Deadlines mean nothing 4. Constant confusion and disorganization 5. Operating systems are cumbersome so nothing is processed 6. A complete lack of accountability 7. No corporate strategy 8. High employee turnover 9. Management is an office clique 10 No training for new employees

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Another once-proud victim of corporate piracy

      Aug 29, 2021 - Senior SAP P2P Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A once proud and iconic brand, organized and managed as a family company with a family culture has fallen victim to the jaws of another corporate raider that places numbers above people. The new owners from SCI operate from an archaic business model, unaware of the entire concept of triple bottom line (TBL) or the three “P’s”: People, Planet, and Prosperity. The new management might believe they understand some basic principles of corporate finance, but like locusts who consume valuable resources for short-term gain, their model in unsustainable. Those left behind to cleanup the mess will come to understand this and bail in short order. Let's just hope the last one out the door remembers to turn out the lights...

      Cons

      No incentives for mutual success.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Work you to death

      Aug 25, 2021 - Production 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and decent pay. Morton, the company, isn’t too bad at all. The Port Canaveral facility is a hell hole.

      Cons

      12 hour shifts in extreme heat with few breaks and constantly being told to get back on the line; no care for health in these conditions; nobody knows what’s going on - management changes depending on who’s there and now they’re sending people home and suspending so many! We’re already short handed!! Killing the workers they do have by running two lines with minimum people AND mandatory overtime! People quitting left and right.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Potential Employees Beware

      Aug 26, 2021 - Corporate Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and Salary are fair. Terrible work at home policy (i.e. no reimbursement for supplies such as printers, cables, internet, etc.)

      Cons

      The company was purchased by Stone Canyon. Stone Canyon immediately laid off over 40% of its corporate work force upon completion of the sale process.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay job

      Jul 20, 2021 - Bagger in Glendale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good benefits. And a super easy job

      Cons

      Get boring so fast. Management never checks up on anyone. People act like children. 12 hour days starting at either 3:30 in the morning or 3:30 in the afternoon

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good compensation, work life balance is lacking

      Aug 10, 2021 - Process Engineer in South Hutchinson, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great 401K, pay is pretty good

      Cons

      Wok life balance for everyone at the plant is pretty bad.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Use to be a great company

      Aug 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice, new office decor but old office was better. Open concept doesn't work.

      Cons

      Between the senior management team and the foreign Parent Company, they really ran this company into the ground.

      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Nice

      Aug 9, 2021 - Security Officer in Rittman, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Folks are nice to deal with

      Cons

      Large sprawling plant size, unusual

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 224 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Morton Salt Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Morton Salt? Share Your Experiences

    or