Morton Salt Reviews | Glassdoor

Morton Salt Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
34%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Morton Salt CEO Christian Herrmann
Christian Herrmann
95 Ratings
  1. "Going in the right direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture - people and environment Great Pay and Benefits Company is going through some change but it is evident that they are trying to do the right thing. Parent company in Germany is becoming more involved but allowing Morton Salt to hold onto its iconic brand.

    Cons

    Work needed on standard processes but evidenced that is in the works

    Advice to Management

    Change management is tough- although no company can ever do it perfect, ensure communications are frequent and transparent.

    Morton Salt2020-01-11
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Rittman, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Upper mgmt is where you need to be. Attended a recent Safety Conf and let’s say the big boys know how to party. New Orleans and French Quarters lets say nothing wasn’t done.

    Cons

    Safety Credo is wait until after dark and they party hearty. They do know social media is rampant. No professionalism safety is not important having a good time is though. Loved it

    Advice to Management

    Great job can’t wait to hang out next year.

    Morton Salt2019-09-04
  3. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Great Company and Working Hard to be Even Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, growing company with trusted, iconic brands Dynamic, personable CEO with a strong vision for the future Long and strong history of success Great office space and culture

    Cons

    Going through some changes but what good company isn't?

    Morton Salt2019-05-29
  4. "Morton Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Community, Culture, Steady Progress, Teamwork, Benefits

    Cons

    A lot going on, but that's not necessarily a bad thing all the time!

    Morton Salt2019-01-09
  5. "Morton Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Iberia, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working here it’s the best job

    Cons

    They need more hours for the different jobs

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Morton Salt2018-10-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time

    Pros

    The team atmosphere is great, everyone is always willing to help each other. All together now!

    Cons

    Nothing really negative to comment on.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Morton Salt2018-04-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Loved working at Morton Salt!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Newark, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers and managers, good pay, and a great working environment. It was nice to experience working at a VPP certified site as well.

    Cons

    The only con was that the company closed the location.

    Advice to Management

    Do your best to make sure that the company's vision for success is being implemented by management below the CEO/Director levels down to the production employees. When your employees are valued, encouraged, and feel that they are listened to, they will perform at high levels. Understand that favoritism is really hurting the culture, and moral. From what I've heard from peers at other facilities, it has resulted in good employees leaving the company. That's not the way to reach your objectives.

    Show More
    Morton Salt2018-01-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior leadership is truly trying to improve the culture and make this the "preferred" place to work. Employees all believe in the company and have a tremendous amount of pride in the "Salt Girl". Very fun environment and lots of teamwork. Company values are not just empty words...they are well known and driven at the site level. Appears there are many opportunities for professional development and advancement. Awesome office space and location in Chicago (short walk to the train and right on the riverwalk).

    Show More

    Cons

    Many processes are not yet standardized which creates confusion and extra work. Many leaders seem to be too passive so change is slow.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the path you're on.

    Morton Salt2017-10-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, Benefits, Hours, Environment, New Trajectory

    Cons

    No Cons that I have experienced. Great place to work!

    Morton Salt2017-10-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Control Lab Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I would like to share my knowledge in chemical engineering by working in a laboratory and in a plant as well to do monitoring and testing of raw materials, packaging materials, and finished products as well. Also, as a quality control technician, we are responsible in maintaining the good environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes, if there are any problems with the finished products, packaging materials, raw materials, and the equipment as well, we are doing our best as much as we can to avoid pressures and rejections.

    Morton Salt2017-06-20
Found 177 reviews