Morton Salt Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Morton Salt Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
40%
Recommend to a Friend
Morton Salt CEO  Mark Roberts
Mark Roberts
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Rittman, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Upper mgmt is where you need to be. Attended a recent Safety Conf and let’s say the big boys know how to party. New Orleans and French Quarters lets say nothing wasn’t done.

    Cons

    Safety Credo is wait until after dark and they party hearty. They do know social media is rampant. No professionalism safety is not important having a good time is though. Loved it

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-09-04
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Worst Communicator Ever!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Fairport Harbor, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worst communicator between upper and middle management. I was told " No communication is good communication." No training at middle management level. High stress and they try compensate by throwing money at supervisors. Extremely high salary position turn over. Stay away!!!

    Cons

    All cons nothing good about this place.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-08-25
  3. Helpful (29)

    "New Upper Management: No Innovative Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great name to put on your resume. If you’re not a manager: you will have plenty of job duties and an expanded skillset to add as bullet points to help you get a better job elsewhere.

    Cons

    Favoritism runs rampant here. Shift from a hierarchical org. to a matrix structure and yet there’s an unspoken chain of command firmly in place. Completely inaccessible and clueless CEO. VP’s that spend endless time rehearsing speeches about innovation, promoting change, building the brand, and customer centricity, and providing transparency. Lots of new buzz words and very few deliverables or ROI to back it up. Lots of talking about wanting feedback....and yet any employees that dare to step out of line and speak to anyone but the manager they report to will be harshly reprimanded. Most of the upper management here spends a majority of their time and efforts making sure to get face time with parent company and “sell” how important and vital they are to the company’s success.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Reginal HR brought on site to ease safety and quality concerns still no changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Canaveral, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None if you’re trying to stay alive and if you take pride in products that you make for the consumers

    Cons

    Blatant disregard for safety and quality. Employees are routinely asked to disregard personal safety and quality rules in order to meet productive requirements. When employees who have firsthand experience with the situation reach out to management their ideas are routinely shot down. Recently Corporate sent HR to investigate safety and quality claims, but as soon as they left it was back to business as usual

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-07-10
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Morton Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator in Cape Canaveral, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good

    Cons

    They (Morton salt Cape Canaveral) say safety is first but in reality they work you to death in the heat to get numbers. The forklifts are not safe to drive but again they want numbers and product to run nonstop. Supervisor comes to work drunk on the weekends and there is no consequences but if we come in late we get points and 4 points your fired. They have no good air circulation so us workers are drenched in sweat while supervisors and the front office sit under the a.c....

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-07-08
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Cherry picking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Canaveral, FL
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They upper management says great pay, no other company, pays that way, but yet. Heaven forbid you would have to work in that environment.

    Cons

    Upper management and HR will cherry pick who gets to talk to there bosses when it comes down to them being called out

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-07-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Port Canaveral, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and still get a few days off a week

    Cons

    Shifts are long at weird hours not to physical just long days

    Morton Salt2019-07-05
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Could be a great place............"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Invest in training and education for employees. -Pay and Bonus. -Benefits.

    Cons

    - Company is in a downward spiral. - Long term vision for the company is very bleak. - Lack of leadership/management at corporate level and plant levels. - Company values are present, but not practiced. Talks of change and culture, but nothing ever happens. - Facilities are beyond their life and in desperate need for repair. Investments are not being made in the right places.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-06-21

    Morton Salt Response

    July 22, 2019Sr. Talent Acquisition Specialist

    “Thank you for your comments. Open, honest feedback from our employees is critical to helping us create a work environment we’re all proud to be a part of. I regularly visit Morton sites to meet with employees and continue to draw inspiration from their diverse perspectives. So, as you can imagine I was truly disappointed to read the review of your Morton experience. In my seven years at Morton we’ve made many transformative changes to enhance our workplace environment and have significantly improved our business results. Our employees are on the front line of this transformation and supporting them is sincerely important to me. To foster a better company culture at Morton, we need and value concrete, constructive feedback in real-time so we can proactively address questions or concerns. That’s the reason why we encourage employees to step forward and reach-out to their managers and/or Human Resources to share their feedback – which I hope includes suggestions on how we can do better. Ultimately, I want all our employees to feel included and respected, no matter if they agree or disagree with the company’s direction. And I count on the collaboration and support of our employees to help build a brighter future at Morton. Christian Herrmann CEO, Morton Salt

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great coworkers but lots of short cuts and no communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipping Clerk in Rittman, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and coworkers are fun and pleasant.

    Cons

    No communication between departments. Lots of short cuts are made that should not be for a food factory.

    Morton Salt2019-06-17
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Downtown Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The office down town is centrally located by River close to Metra and CTA

    Cons

    Was a good close knit group to work with 5+ years ago but has been going down hill. CEO is removed from realty he just walks around trying to be cool wearing hoodie's and Jeans. The directors only want people who agree and like them. It is all a popularity contest now. People stab each other in the back just overall terrible environment to work in. Only people that have been at company little over year give 5 stars or favorites of director I guess. It is a shame what they have become - no dedication to anybody. If you need experience it is good place to go just don't trust directors or anybody for that matter at HQ. My down fall was I would not change who I am which meant i would not laugh at directors jokes or be Yes man to management.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-06-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 179 reviews