Morton Salt Reviews | Glassdoor

Morton Salt Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
40%
Recommend to a Friend
Morton Salt CEO  Mark Roberts
Mark Roberts
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "It's a paycheck."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Morton Salt

    Pros

    Overtime, good people to work with

    Cons

    Salty, no air conditioning, no upward trajectory

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-01-21
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Not the secure company it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Morton Salt

    Pros

    Good pay for small town production locations

    Cons

    Unstable, downhill slide over the last several years

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-01-10
  3. "Morton Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Community, Culture, Steady Progress, Teamwork, Benefits

    Cons

    A lot going on, but that's not necessarily a bad thing all the time!

    Morton Salt2019-01-09
  4. Helpful (19)

    "Absolutely the worst experience of my professional career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time

    Pros

    Iconic name that will help you find a way out. The 401k is competitive.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations set by parent company. If you aren’t at the corporate office you are viewed as less than. Check out the corporate holiday party versus what goes on at the sites. You could also look at the turnover in HR from the top down. Management runs people off and then the CEO wonders why they get terrible reviews.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-01-09
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Toxic Doesn't Begin to Describe it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pros no longer exist. This place is a nightmare.

    Cons

    The German parent company is destroying Morton Salt with their lack of capability and experience. They don't want a global organization, just a German run company where everyone jumps through hoops.

    Morton Salt2019-01-07
  6. "Continual Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people wanting to do the right thing but still need the structure and processes in place to succeed. New work from home policy allows most personnel to work at least one day a week from home. Lots of recognition for your work. Most senior leaders are very down to earth and genuine about improving the business and overall culture.

    Cons

    Lots of processes still need to be put in place. People want to get things implemented too quickly without synergy with other functions. Lots of organizational changes over the last year causing disruption and stresses for operations and corporate office.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-01-04
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Confusion and debt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time

    Pros

    There used to be a few, I cannot think of any now.

    Cons

    Management and German parent company. Some how while the rest of American business prosper, we are having the worst year ever.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2019-01-04
  8. Helpful (10)

    "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office in a brand new building, that's all!!

    Cons

    A extremely toxic workplace environment, terrible place to work problem and the management is dis-functional.

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2018-12-13

    Morton Salt Response

    December 23, 2018Comms Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to creating a great place to work for our team members and we recognize that this experience certainly goes well beyond the office environment — although we agree that the Morton headquarters office is a beautiful space. We have been focused intently on driving changes that improve our workplace culture over the past few years — from refreshing our company values to providing more training for employees and managers alike. We have also invested in more employee engagement activities including social activities and volunteer programs. We believe that these and other changes we’ve been making will continue to transform our workplace for the better and encourage you to share more specific concerns and suggestions for improvement with your manager or your HR business partner in the spirit of collaboration and being part of the solution.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (11)

    "At a tipping point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton Salt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Iconic brands in the US and Canada - Corporate office is beautiful and in an ideal downtown location - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Cultural struggles and language barriers with parent company (K+S) in Germany make it difficult to get work done in an efficient manner - Company is going through a lot of self-inflicted change with very poor change management practices and communications - Branded products/business are treated as second tier within the parent company's business portfolio which is more focused on commodities - Turnover beginning to increase across key functions - K+S senior leadership is weak and lacks the experience to run a global company

    Continue reading
    Morton Salt2018-11-20

    Morton Salt Response

    December 23, 2018Comms Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We value your point of view and agree that there is more work to do to position the company for future growth. Transformation is never easy – especially on a global scale – but change is necessary to help ensure the success of the company and our team members for years to come. In the company’s 170-year history, Morton had to overcome many challenges to adapt to the changing needs of customers, consumers, employees and other key stakeholders. This time is no different. And we want to evolve together with the help of our team members. That’s why we’ve formed cross-functional teams around the world to help shape our company and our culture in the best way possible. This takes significant effort and an openness to change at all levels of the organization. We believe we have the right ingredients. We’re excited about the potential and appreciate all the team members across all parts of the organization working together to create a brighter future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Place to work for money and nothing else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in Rittman, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morton Salt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, all the overtime you could want if that's your thing. Benefits are ok, not bad, not great either.

    Cons

    Lots of forced overtime. No place for someone that has a family. Major lack of communication and management likes to blame the employees for all setbacks. Employee moral is horribly low.

    Morton Salt2018-10-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 179 reviews