Morton's Restaurant Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Morton's Restaurant Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Morton's Restaurant Group CEO Tilman Fertitta
Tilman Fertitta
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Only night shifts, hotschedules has made it easier to request off, good money for the work that we do(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company with upward movement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morton's Restaurant Group full-time

    Pros

    Morton's is a great place to work if you're looking for something temporary or even long term. The hours are great and the overall management and experience was positive. I worked here while in school and was able to make a decent salary with plenty of time to study. Management is great and willing to help. You'll make great friends and have fun while you're there.

    Cons

    You run into your unhappy guests from time to time, but it's inevitable.

    Morton's Restaurant Group2018-10-01
  2. "Rotten to the core"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in Saratoga Springs, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton's Restaurant Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have nothing positive to say about this location. I don't count dinner provided on anticipated busy nights as a "pro", that's bare minimum decency for a kitchen.

    Cons

    Extremely LGBTQ phobic and racist. Co-workers are violent. They make you sign an arbitration agreement upon hiring, a huge red flag. Direct supervisor talked to me like a dog. Was retaliated against when reporting a co-workers behavior, by the same co-worker and others. As a trans person, I was misgendered and mis (dead) named several times by supervisors. Faced discriminating/abusive behavior every shift.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house. Start with yourselves.

    Morton's Restaurant Group2019-05-08
  3. "Management is rotten to the core."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in Saratoga Springs, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morton's Restaurant Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you last six months you become a protected union member.

    Cons

    Management prioritizes cis men. Transphobic/queerphobic. Employee harassment often goes unchecked. If queer and/or transgender, avoid this place. Will suspend you without just cause.

    Advice to Management

    Resign.

    Morton's Restaurant Group2019-05-06
  4. "Good tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Server 

      I worked at Morton's Restaurant Group part-time

      Pros

      Good tips. Shifts go by quickly.

      Cons

      Management turnover is high. Sometimes prejudicial.

      Advice to Management

      Treat people based on performance, not bro-hood.

      Morton's Restaurant Group2019-03-29
    • "Good corporate ladder to climb"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Food and Beverage Manager 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Morton's Restaurant Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Relocation opportunities, strong corporate structure

      Cons

      Company is very big and could value its management better. Bottom line is everything.

      Morton's Restaurant Group2019-02-28
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Hostess 

        I worked at Morton's Restaurant Group part-time

        Pros

        Great and fun environment to work in, managers and staff are easy to talk to and keep calm when things get a little hectic

        Cons

        I was called off a couple of shifts because of low table reservations, but no fault to the company.

        Morton's Restaurant Group2019-02-11
      • "Great Management, so-so income"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server/Waiter 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Morton's Restaurant Group for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Staff is great Flexible Schedule Good employee meals

        Cons

        Kitchen can't handle very busy nights, servers get the blame

        Morton's Restaurant Group2019-02-01
      • "Great place to work at"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hostess 

        I have been working at Morton's Restaurant Group part-time

        Pros

        everyone is like family pretty easy lot of fun

        Cons

        hours suck rude customers paying for discount????

        Morton's Restaurant Group2019-01-16
      • "Assistant General Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Morton's Restaurant Group full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Guest interaction and decent pay. Chef and sales manager very reliable. Waitstaff needs to two professional managers but GM is an empty uniform.

        Cons

        Regional manager treats everyone like garbage. General manager is terrible and cannot be trusted. Steals from company and never is on time. No management abilities at all.

        Advice to Management

        Demand more from upper management and stop wasting all that training wages. Turnover is rampant.

        Morton's Restaurant Group2018-12-30
      • "Okay experience. Not a fan of Landry's corporations."

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Morton's Restaurant Group part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Family Meal In depth training material Potential to make a lot in tips

          Cons

          All tips are reported and you receive them on your pay check. Some employees have an on-call schedule.

          Morton's Restaurant Group2018-11-17
        Found 149 reviews