Cover image for Motive
Logo
See All Photos

Motive

Engaged Employer

Motive

Add a Review

Motive Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 766 of over 805 reviews
4.1
82% Recommend to a Friend
Motive CEO Shoaib Makani
89% Approve of CEO

Found 771 of over 805 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Motive CEO Shoaib Makani
Shoaib Makani
544 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Motive and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Best Place to work

    Mar 18, 2022 - Embedded Software Engineer in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Tons of new products and features to work on Huge opportunities for career growth Managers value me as a person as well as a contributor

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Tech Company

    Oct 27, 2022 - OnBoarding Project Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constant learning of product and revenue streams

    Cons

    Lots of flexibility in roles and responsibilities

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Motive team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company, but needs to actually listen to their employees

    Nov 23, 2022 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall the people I work with are awesome and I enjoy working with my team everyday. The company offers a great product and service to many companies out there

    Cons

    Seems like with the company going public soon, upper management and top company executives only care about their stock price. That being said they raise quotas and expectations that are almost unattainable for the AE's. I saw this coming when I began as they hired lots of new people into the sales org and half of them left the company already because they werent able to hit their quotas giving the terrible account quality. Also this is how they lay off people they raise quotas for people so they make it impossible for them to achieve and then they can fire them instead of giving them a severance package.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hyper masculine company culture

    Nov 17, 2022 - Sr. Manager IT in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees are compensated well, typically well above industry. Many state of the art vendors (there's a tool for that).

    Cons

    Senior leadership doesn't appear to care about burning out employees or work life balance. On the one hand they speak about psychological safety and mental health, on the other, they lack clear role expectations for new joiners with immediate consequences if you don't meet unknown standards. SLT consistently demonstrate low EQ and people skills which trickles down to frontline managers. Broken promises. Yelling. Pings throughout the night. HR equivocates.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Meh

    Nov 3, 2022 - Commercial SDR 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The people in the commercial segment are wonderful to work with (besides a few AE's - The SDR managers are great and do their best to keep the job as enjoyable as possible

    Cons

    - Most of the leads provided are total junk -Quota can seem quite unattainable at times resulting in a crazy high turnover rate -Not a ton of room for mistakes, if you don't hit quota in the first 3 months you get canned

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company, Poor Communication

    Nov 1, 2022 - Commercial SDR 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are great. There's a pretty good work-life balance (as long as you're hitting your numbers), and most managers are pretty laid back.

    Cons

    Beware of the relationships you build with management. You won't hear from them when you put in your notice or get fired. They are masking their layoffs by making their performance policy more strict and making the numbers harder to attain.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Motive Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience at Motive. We are growing quickly which at times presents its challenges. We are actively evaluating the performance of our teams to ensure we're hitting our goals to scale the business. If you’d like to provide further feedback please email us at opendoor@gomotive.com. Thanks again for providing your feedback.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong Leadership

    Oct 24, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The C-level effectively communicates high-level company vision to help everyone align on initiatives.

    Cons

    Some processes have room for better efficiency and consistency.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Oct 4, 2022 - Commercial Sales Development Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing people & easy to get promoted

    Cons

    Lots of cold calling and cold emailing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Passive Aggressive Culture that wont hire you without a degree

    Nov 7, 2022 - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I started, the people were great and there were tons of room for growth.

    Cons

    Yes, there are growing pains with every startup, but the treatment of the employees was horrific. A common trend is a manager who would give passive-aggressive remarks and try to halt the internal growth of their team members. This can be said for leaders on both the sales and HR sides. Additionally, upper leadership says they care about diversity, but it is very well known that they only like to hire people with bachelor's degrees. Not having a degree has now become an excuse to not hire diverse people, and that is very clear.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Rollercoaster of changes

    Oct 10, 2022 - Commercial SDR in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The jobs remote, basically free health care, lots of younger people work here, Sick time plus unlimited PTO (as long as you can hit quota)

    Cons

    Company grew too fast and hired a large number of people to make their IPO coming up look good. Every month about 5-7 employees will leave on their own or fired because of a PIP. And that's just the SDR side, Commercial AEs are dropping like flies as well. Reasons why that happens are cause of the rebrand, before we rebranded you could hit your quota early or a few days before the end of the month, and now they buy a bunch of company's information and filter it by revenue and you will have accounts dropped in your name to call that have no vehicles (no use for motive), companies that don't have enough vehicles in your segment to work and accounts that are duplicates that are already being worked by another SDR. A lot of shadiness to the job as well, begging your AEs to qualify your meetings, venmoing them to qualify something early for you to hit quota and even heard of managers under the table paying AEs to qualify meetings on behalf of the SDRs. In reality this is a good company to work for and wasnt like this when I first started but they are going through growing pains and will change policies that have been in place to benefit upper managements numbers so they don't look bad. But in the end they will always keep their job. If you have made it this far, I recommend reaching out to past SDRs and asking why they left the company.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Motive Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers but your employees. The experience our team members have at Motive is essential to our business as it helps us attract top talent and continue to grow at the rate we have. Being a part of a start-up and coming out of a rebrand oftentimes requires changes to previous processes that were in place. With that being said, this is the first time this has been brought to our attention by our sales department. This is not how we operate our business, so we don’t take this feedback lightly. We strive to provide an environment where team members feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Our employees are encouraged to provide further feedback at opendoor@motive.com to help us understand the situation in more detail. Thank you again for your insight, it helps us grow and will make Motive better.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 771 Reviews
</>Embed

Motive Reviews FAQs

Motive has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 805 reviews left anonymously by employees. 82% of employees would recommend working at Motive to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Motive employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Motive. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

82% of Motive employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Motive 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Motive to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Motive Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Motive? Share Your Experiences

Motive logo
or

Motive Careers

Cover image for Motive

Motive, formerly KeepTruckin, builds technology to improve the safety, productivity and profitability of businesses that power the physical...More

  • Engineering
  • Motive Values
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Motive

2 days ago

Events
We are honored to partner with the largest black tech conference, AfroTech. Being a remote-first employer, we enjoy having these opportunities to network with top talent from around the world. There was a chance for everyone to participate, network, and learn, regardless of their background. Did you miss the chance to connect with our team in Austin? To find out more about our experience at AfroTech and our open positions, click the link below!
Shared image - Motive at AFROTECH22
Motive at AFROTECH22
medium.com
See all

Motive Photos

+ Add Photo
Motive photo of: Problem solving
Motive photo of: Team meeting at our SF office
Motive photo of: People &amp; places team in-person
Motive photo of: Whiteboard brainstorming
Motive photo of: Panel at our SF office about Avoiding Burnout as Latinas in Tech
Motive photo of: The team at AfroTech 2022
Motive photo of: Motive in the Nashville Pride parade
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 805 Motive reviews submitted anonymously by Motive employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Motive is right for you.