KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Motley Fool

Engaged Employer

Motley Fool

Add a Review

Motley Fool Employee Reviews about "motley fool"

Updated Nov 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 310 reviews

4.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Motley Fool CEO Tom Gardner
Tom Gardner
224 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Founders Tom and David Gardner are great people to work with for life.(in 42 reviews)
  • "Awesome benefits and great people.(in 24 reviews)
  • "The people and the culture are great.(in 19 reviews)
  • "3. Good pay(in 13 reviews)
  • "6. Great Management(in 9 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Motley Fool and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "motley fool"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Place I've Ever Worked

    Sep 7, 2018 - Software Engineer in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You hear people all the time who say it's their dream to work at the Motley Fool. Everything you hear about progressive companies -- unlimited PTO, flexible work hours, trust in their employees, great culture, autonomy, great people, etc. -- happens at the Fool. Over the past 7 years, I've worked at 3 other companies before coming to the Fool. I am being honest when I say that the Motley Fool is the best place I have ever worked for, or could even imagine working for. In the DC area, I knew the hip, flexible startup culture with flat management where employees are given free reign was hard to come by. I always thought I would end up in a corporate, soul-sucking govt. job. After looking into the Fool and seeing why they won Glassdoor's "Best Company to Work For" in 2014 and 2015, I knew I was onto something. When I received an offer from Motley, I had 4 other offers on the table, however the choice of Motley over the others was a no-brainer. I love what I do. I am basically making apps that help people around the world invest better. I mean how much more of an impact could I have? There's no real supervision or micromanagement, the Fool just trusts you. There's no clocking in, or boss ensuring you're being productive. If you need a nap, go take a nap in the nap room. Sometimes I even crack the laptop open at night or during odd hours to voluntarily finish an idea I had earlier in the day. This is how a job should be -- trust the employees, give them freedom and flexibility, and they will do so much more because the *want to work* and believe in your mission. It sounds counterintuitive, especially around DC, but it works and it's how you attract the best and brightest talent.

    Cons

    The only con I have heard of, and I have not been here long enough to experience it myself, is that the trajectory at the Motley Fool tends to plateau after many years (I'm talking about 7-10 years). The reason people have left is because they felt that their careers have stagnated, despite the perks, freedom, etc., and the wanted to try something different -- i.e. they get the 7-year itch. Another con is that the hiring process also takes long, and it's hard to get into the Fool. It took 2 months between when I first applied to when I received a phone call for an interview. I had to turn down another offer while waiting for the Fool to get back to me. If you are good at what you do, however, then don't fret. I think it's worth the wait. If you're a developer, make sure you can make a web app.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I'd be crazy to leave this place

    Aug 17, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I could go on and on, but some of the main highlights are: the people, the laid-back culture, the flexibility (in both job and work schedule), the trust and mutual accountability, and most of all... the ability to truly change the world. The mission at The Motley Fool is to help the world invest -- better and everyone in the company knows it and is completely committed to it. Every day, you don't feel like you're just going to do any normal job with people you don't really like; you feel like you're part of something bigger and your co-workers are some of your best friends.

    Cons

    If you need to have stability in your job and workplace environment, then TMF may not be for you. The company moves incredibly fast with new initiatives and strategies and people are expected to adjust just as quickly. You could have a few different jobs at TMF within the first couple years of working there. So, if you really thrive off of stability, you may struggle at TMF.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Incredible Mentorship and Community

    Mar 19, 2021 - Marketing in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Motley Fool is committed to helping its employees grow and develop their own personal skills. Incredibly inclusive environment dedicated to their employees' happiness.

    Cons

    Lots of Zoom meetings, but that is to be expected with any virtual position.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A good place to work with a good CEO, but don't expect to be highly rewarded.

    Oct 1, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the best things about the Motley Fool is that you are given a great deal of autonomy if you do your job well. Don't want to come in on Wednesdays? Whatever. So long as you continue to perform at a high level, the company does not care what you do. If you are interested, it is encouraged to go bug other departments to get a better idea of how the business as a whole works. Your role at the Fool will be mostly what you make of it, and there is no real reason you can't switch roles once you get in the door. This happens pretty frequently, so if you want to try out new things, there's really nothing in the way except whether you're bold enough to talk to people in other departments that you may not know very well. Be respectful of others and most will be willing to help you out. You can learn a lot this way. There are a lot of smart people at this company, and contrary to some recent reviews, I'd say the CEO definitely falls in that camp. Although he is eccentric, he has created a lot of value for the company during his tenure. And why wouldn't he? He is a co-founder of the company and has a vested stake in its success. The benefits are wonderful, and the pay is good enough to get by if you don't have an excessive lifestyle or a lot of kids. It won't make you rich unless you reach the higher levels of the company.

    Cons

    Remember how I talked about autonomy, and how no one cares what you do? That cuts both ways. If you come here expecting to be rewarded for high performance beyond the nice work-life balance, you're going to get frustrated very quickly. I know multiple people who now phone it in because they weren't recognized for putting in tremendous efforts for the company over long periods of time. The company likes to hold itself out as a meritocracy, and although some departments are more meritocratic than others, at the company's core it is largely a seniority based system. Many departments don't have objective ways of evaluating employees. There is a periodic evaluation of every employee of the company under a gimmicky review system, but even those who administer it admit that it is mostly subjective. A lot of it boils down to whether the "movers and shakers" in your department like you or not.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Needs to improve overall employee satisfaction and morale

    Jan 19, 2014 - Professional 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    During the honeymoon period (first 2 months of starting the position), everything is wonderful. They bend over backwards to help you, and most of all they talk up how great Motley Fool is to work for, and how fortunate you are for them to have chosen you to be with them. It makes you feel very special to be the 'chosen one'.

    Cons

    After about 2 months to a year, you start to realize who you are truly working for. The managers personalities finally reveal themselves and the culture creeps up on you. Unfortunately, it wasn't positive for me. Since the culture is "play as much as you like", and the desks with no cubicle walls to separate you from hundreds of others, you begin to realize how unprofessional this place really is. It was like a huge playground, with very poor management emotional intelligence (speaking of my three direct managers). Absolutely zero privacy, and every single phone call to your spouse, doctor and friend, was overheard by 10's of people, including your strange managers, who then all asked you about what you talked about on the phone with your spouse and doctor! I was horrified each time. When I was working on certain projects and needed a few others to complete their part of the project in order for me to continue on with my portion of the project, those other people were consistently no were to be found. Where were they each time I went look for them? In the game room, or "running late" for work. Sometimes they showed up at 1pm, sometimes at 11am. No one knew. It was especially frustrating for a professional like myself. I could go on about all of the problems with this company, but there isn't enough time and space. They desperately want you to believe it's the best company to work for (and continually tell you that while you work there) but in reality, it was the one of the worst. (I found it disturbing to have been told repeatedly that I'm "...lucky to have been chosen to work at the Motley Fool," etc., etc.) I quickly severed my employment with the Mostly Fool when I found an established professional company to work for. I'm still working for the same established professional company to this day. "Professional" makes all the difference.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A different way of working

    Aug 19, 2015 - Senior Software Developer in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Here are 4 quick pros that have made a world of difference to me at the Fool: 1. I have the autonomy to pick the work I want to do. 2. I have the tools to understand what why strengths are. 3. I have the support to develop in the areas of my choosing. 4. I have the flexibility to be my best self at work and at home.

    Cons

    If Titles, Promotions, and Hierarchy are what you are looking for this place is not for you. What the Motley Fool is really good at is finding out what your strengths are and giving you opportunities to be on projects that exploit those strengths. Great work is rewarded with greater compensation and greater challenges.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work With Lots of Opportunities

    Jun 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Motley Fool is known for its company culture which is supported by a great team of people. Events are planned monthly (or sometimes weekly) to bring Fools together and build collaboration and teamwork. While the company is laid back and allows employees flexibility to set their own hours, play games at work, and research and read as much as they want - there is a strong sense of purpose and employees are so dedicated to their projects that they truly play hard but work even harder.

    Cons

    If I wear a shirt with a collar and buttons people ask if I am going on a job interview.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Employee friendly workplace

    Jul 29, 2010 -  in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Motley Fool cares about its employees, creates a fun and engaging workplace, invests in its employees, and attracts and encourages passionate employees.

    Cons

    Career path is not always clear

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Dec 1, 2020 - Analyst in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Motley Fool has a great culture (including truly excellent benefits) and an awesome purpose (to make the world smarter, happier and richer) -- in the world of finance, the Fool is a bright spot in that we really do care about helping people/our members do well and have high ethical standards. It's a very optimistic company, and also very geared towards learning and growing. Although it doesn't always get everything right (pretty sure no company does), leadership definitely does legitimately try, and listens, which are very positive attributes. Last but not least, it has a super smart, friendly workforce so you make great friends there as well -- the company does a great job of encouraging connections not only for work collaboration purposes but also for social connections and a sense of belonging. It often feels like a family.

    Cons

    The business moves fast and things can be a bit fluid -- sometimes arguably too fast and fluid. I think that can be a difficult thing to overcome for people who prefer routine and more rigid structures in their workplace. Things are definitely not always exactly the same.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Motley Fool Response

    Human Resources

    We’re blushing! Thank you, Fool, for these kind, thoughtful words – we’re so glad that you’ve settled into the Foolish family and are making friends along the way. We will always continue working toward making our employees smarter, happier, and richer -- while we do the same for the world. Fool on!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    In the Company of Fools Indeed

    Mar 16, 2021 - Individual Contributor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are looking for a company with an incredible purpose, an award-winning culture, and fellow employees who genuinely care about your authentic self, The Motley Fool is the place you need to be. With other reviews, frequent pros include great people, amazing perks and benefits, and flexible work hours. And it's all true! But did you know that there is a Slack channel with an amateur meteorologist who updates Fools on the weather? Or that we were one of the first companies to go fully virtual in early March 2020 and our People and Tech teams worked hard to make sure we had what we need to work remotely? To this day, Fools work tirelessly to make sure we are staying connected in fun, engaging ways. Or that we have monthly company-wide huddles where Fool leaders review our business numbers and priorities? In those same meetings, there's an open Q&A where anyone can ask any question anonymously or not. Everywhere you turn, there's another reason why the Fool is a wonderful place to work.

    Cons

    We aren't the best at saying no, so Fools might end up taking on more than they can handle at times. In addition, it can be tough to turn off work, especially with remote working. These cons are not specific to the Fool though.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Motley Fool Response

    Human Resources

    Fool! Thank you so much for taking the time to share some of the ways our Foolish efforts over the past year have helped support you! And as we continue learning what it means to be a Virtual First culture, we aim to help Fools better balance work and home life.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Popular Careers with Motley Fool Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews