Motor City Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Motor City Casino Reviews

Updated Dec 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Motor City Casino   (no image)
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Utility in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Motor City Casino part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work. Simply the best!

    Cons

    None for me everything is going good.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Motor City Casino2019-01-11
  2. "IGNORANT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cocktail Server in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Motor City Casino part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, good benefits, and paid vacation

    Cons

    It's one big race war in this disgusting place. And all the cocktail servers only care about one thing; "looking better" than the next chick. One big zoo of animals. you'll find the basis of human behavior in this place. No one here actually cares about work, they care about gossip, nails and hair, and being a cocktail server until they are 60+

    Advice to Management

    Throw the whole casino away,

    Motor City Casino2019-12-29
  3. "Salary concern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training and Development Manager in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Motor City Casino full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive leaders; longevity; tons of fun work related events; very nice co-workers.

    Cons

    Deceptive practices related to salary. Was offered position at $75k. During onboarding, I was advised that new employees are paid 90% of their salary for the first 6 months of employment. No cogent explanation was ever provided. Further, Human Resources REFUSES to list the initial salary (100%) in the Offer Letters, nor will they add that the salary will increase at the 7th month mark. They will only list the salary at the 90% amount in the Offer Letter.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Explain why non-union members are paid 90% of the offered salary for the first 6 months of employment and put the true salary amount in the offer letter.

    Motor City Casino2019-12-06
  4. "The pay is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Motor City Casino part-time

    Pros

    great pay and fre food

    Cons

    strict attendance policy. similar to part timers at a auto plant

    Advice to Management

    none

    Motor City Casino2018-09-15
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Motor City Casino

    Pros

    Flexible schedule tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    No pension plan strict point system

    Motor City Casino2018-07-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources hold grudges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Porter in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Motor City Casino full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You make lifelong friendships and there are opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    It's a competitive place. Human Resources hold grudges and if even the smallest of incidents occur, they're quick to want to fire you. Despite going through training and doing the necessary things to prove that I am ready to return to work, they ignored everything and terminated me anyway. Pleas and testimony from department managers meant nothing to them.

    Advice to Management

    Take a course on how to manage a place.

    Motor City Casino2018-08-07
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Motor City Casino part-time

    Pros

    hourly wage, tips, fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    only part time available.

    Advice to Management

    allow more full time employees for hard workers.

    Motor City Casino2018-06-29
  8. "Line cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linecook in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motor City Casino part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility of schedule and salary

    Cons

    Union environment and lazy workers

    Motor City Casino2018-06-05
  9. "Great job for getting your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Motor City Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You're actually valued as an employee Supervisors have your back Working with people A dedicated dining room for employees only Internet access with a mini computer lab

    Cons

    You get cussed out from time to time as a dealer but no big deal. If you get offended you can just say something to your for and they'll deal with them. I'm a smoker myself but the smoke inside still messes with me.

    Motor City Casino2018-03-13
  10. "Cocktail server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Motor City Casino full-time

    Pros

    Best job ever Good tips Decent hourly Great benefits Meet important people Work with cool people Unionized

    Cons

    Smoke Goofball managers that come and go

    Motor City Casino2018-03-10
Found 26 reviews