Motorists Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Motorists Insurance Reviews

Updated February 24, 2019
71 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David L. Kaufman
50 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great company culture; work life balance good" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Family oriented, great place to work with good benefits" (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Going through a lot of changes as a company and people are not being treated fairly" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Upper management can treat you poorly, and get away with it" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding Claims Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture, Vision, Leadership, People, Direction

    Cons

    There are no con's at this time.


  2. Helpful (8)

    "Use to be the place to work....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Consultant in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lots of good people
    Decent Salary
    Fair Benefits

    Cons

    Losing sight of what they are in business for
    New leader chaos
    Went from personal relationships to numbers (no family style value
    Lack of communication

    Advice to Management

    Do unto others as you would have them do unto you

    Motorists Insurance Response

    Feb 22, 2019 – Motorists Insurance Group

    Thank you for your review. We are now a super-regional carrier ranked in the top 20 mutual carriers in the U.S. While transitions are difficult, we believe they will make us stronger and set our... More

  3. Helpful (3)

    "A formerly great place to work has become the worst employment experience in my 30 year career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Resolution Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Resolution Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    It is a job with OK pay and OK benefits. Paid time off is good, but much more PTO is needed to retain any sanity in this obviously failing company.

    Cons

    Upper management is clueless. Early retirement in October 2017 with no idea how work would get done with 1/3rd of former staff. Mentality to employees was "do more with less" which means work 15 hours a day to only be berated, watched like a hawk, and fearful you may be fired at any given minute. No room to advance.

    Advice to Management

    Not sure this company can be fixed. Anyone with a good work ethic and experience is going to leave. STOP asking your employees to do things you cannot and will not do yourself.

    Motorists Insurance Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Motorists Insurance Group

    Thank you for your review. Motorists did offer a voluntary retirement incentive in 2017, which many associates chose to take. This incentive was offered to help bring our staffing to industry... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    IF they manage to get to a new underwriting program they MIGHT save themselves but their decisions have created chaos and unhappy overworked associates—fearful of their positions because departments are decimated by whims and cloaked in secrecy

    Cons

    Dishonest to associates. Disorganized about change. Outsourcing to companies that must make the same dishonest promises they make to their associates

    Cutting jobs with no regard of the knowledge they are losing leaving the overworked people who have jobs NOW scrambling to get anything at all done—the stress is overwhelming

    Advice to Management

    You’ve crippled your companies. You have tunnel vision. You are making changes prematurely with the sole goal of reducing expenses. There are SO many other cost saving measures you could be taking but you don’t listen and think you know it all

    Just because there has been success with a one line of business company does not mean that their business practices will work in a multi line company but you’ve handed it over while pretending you’re still at the helm

    You’ve lost your way and spent hundreds of thousands of dollars bringing associates together to feed them misinformation

    There are for a while longer associates who DO have the knowledge to get you through the conversion you’ve planned but when they’re gone there won’t be any expertise to save you

    Motorists Insurance Response

    Feb 22, 2019 – Motorists Insurance Group

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid feedback. Our leadership team is committed to addressing associate concerns, and will discuss the recent associate engagement survey at our... More


  5. Helpful (6)

    "Company thats loosing ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    When I found work elsewheres

    Cons

    The whole mindset is deranged

    Advice to Management

    Why not replace all on the 21st floor in management and start over.

    Motorists Insurance Response

    Jan 17, 2019 – Motorists Insurance Group

    Thank you for your review. While we welcome your feedback, generally more constructive criticism allows us to better understand how we can improve. Leadership is strategizing action plans around the... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "Claims associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Only have to work 8 hours a day. You can spend the next 16 drinking and dreading the next day.

    Cons

    A company that has lost it's way! Many dissatisfied associates clinging to jobs that are micro managed, bring no satisfaction or potential for upward mobility . This company is truly a shell of it's former self.

    Motorists Insurance Response

    Jan 10, 2019 – Motorists Insurance Group

    Thank you for your review. While we welcome your feedback, generally more constructive criticism allows us to better understand how we can improve. We appreciate our associates navigating through... More


  7. Helpful (10)

    "Company in Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Company used to have a great collaborative culture. I hope that can be restored. Some good middle managers are still present. Pay and PTO are good. Training and HR are exceptionally managed. I still like Dave Kauffman, but I don’t believe for a second that he’s calling the shots anymore.

    Cons

    Motorists, as a company, has no direction. And if it does have a direction, it’s kept secret from its non-executive management staff. If Motorists walked into a psychiatrist’s office, it would leave with diagnosis of schizophrenia. That’s putting it nicely. The alternative would be that they have known their direction all along and simply misled everyone throughout the process. The environment of collaboration is sadly over with all non-executives learning to keep their mouths shut. Do not rock the boat. Add in the power struggles within the blended ET, and it’s simply a mess.

    Advice to Management

    Find industry experts to employ. You used to have many on staff. And then trust their input on decisions. I’ve never seen a company outsource so many critical decisions and then hemorrhage the financials simply to pay these consultants. As somebody who bought in and believed in The Vision, the company completely failed to follow it. When you’re given a task to complete and the first suggestion is to get an outside firm to research it for you...well, you either don’t have the right people or you don’t trust your own staff. The lauded transparency and flattened organization is gone. Which is sad, because this really was a solid company just a few years ago.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Information Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good work life balance and benefits.

    Cons

    Poor IT management and decision making.


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Good benefits

    Cons

    Definitely feels like motorist/brickstreet are taking over the affiliates. If they are looking to get rid of their affiliates they are doing a good job of showing it. The people are looking elsewhere. We are taking on too many jobs and are not being compensated for it. The people are stressed and unhappy. We are not being treated fairly. It’s unfortunate because there are very valuable people that we will end up losing.


  10. Helpful (7)

    "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motorists Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Associates care about the company and their teams. Pockets of leadership are working to drive the company forward by focusing on new technology, market offerings, customers and associates.

    Cons

    Associates feel confused about corporate priorities and how their daily activities are contributing to goals. Resources feel spread thin and are concerned they can't effectively acomplish assignments. The intense focus on savings suffocates innovation and morale.

    Advice to Management

    It feels like leadership is not aligned and the associates are being left in the wake of a power struggle. Get back to focusing on the customer. Sit with the teams to understand our passion for the company. Drive cost savings by narrowing corporate initiatives and drive them to success before starting new ones. Leverage key talent, currently you are driving them away.

    Motorists Insurance Response

    Aug 13, 2018 – Motorists Insurance Group

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid feedback. Our caring associates are the heart of what we do, and we want our associates to feel empowered and successful. Financial stability is a... More