Mount Carmel Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Mount Carmel Health Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Edward Lamb, FACHE
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing co-workers, Good benefits(in 15 reviews)

  • "Religious heritage and values are more prominently displayed than other faith-based hospitals in the area(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often short staffed and inflexible(in 8 reviews)

  • "Was unable to advance in a timely manner and poor execution of upper management directives(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Good and getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Carmel Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The CEO is a winner with a keen eye towards strategic planning and remembering 'why we are here.' Likewise, he is helping to create a culture of open communication, compassion, and a willingness to innovate. Mount Carmel is a great place for people driven to doing the right thing for the right reasons.

    Cons

    There are vestiges of professional culture issues. Some departments are worse than others, but the progress is in the correct direction. The technology and surroundings are a bit old fashioned, verging on archaic. An overreliance on 'how we did it in the past' versus modernizing.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the marketing department. Mount Carmel has a compelling story reaching back 130 years that noone, not even colleagues, knows about. Focus on streamlined centralized communication. The CEO, Ed Lamb, is absolutely the right man for the job to bring the organization into the future. MCHS can absolutely set the standard in a few different ways in the Central Ohio healthcare ecosystem, and we need to do a better job of...

    Show More
    Mount Carmel Health2018-09-06
  2. "LOVE this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registration and Scheduling Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mount Carmel Health for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers, Good benefits

    Cons

    No cons that come to mind.

    Mount Carmel Health2019-01-11
  3. "Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Carmel Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Community hospitals, big on charity

    Cons

    Inconsistency with reviews, high rate manager turn over

    Advice to Management

    Managers last a year, then move to another position

    Mount Carmel Health2019-06-10
  4. "Outpatient lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mount Carmel Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and friendly staff, great management

    Cons

    Hours change weekly, move around a lot

    Mount Carmel Health2019-06-07
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Transporter in Westerville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mount Carmel Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Workers bond together like family

    Cons

    The pay could be better

    Mount Carmel Health2019-05-20
  6. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flex PCA in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Carmel Health part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The flexibility The pay You're about to call off as long as it's before 24 hours of your shift You get to experience working on every unit throughout each hospital Different everyday

    Cons

    You don't find out your location until an hour before sometimes You don't get enough training floor to floor Some of the staff use the flex choice team and don't treat them with enough respect for what they do.

    Advice to Management

    Train better. Flex choice PCA's need to be trained more than floor PCAs and they need to be treated better by staff on the floor.

    Mount Carmel Health2019-05-17
  7. "Just an okay place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CT Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Carmel Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, all the staff are really nice, competitive pay

    Cons

    Management!!!! They overwork you with no support and could care less

    Advice to Management

    Appreciated employees do alot more

    Mount Carmel Health2019-05-29
  8. "Horrible leadership that allows employees to be treated poorly by upper management. HR here is a joke. Unreal!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSC in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mount Carmel Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours. That's about all I can think of

    Cons

    Leadership because they set the culture and they allow anything and everything to happen to employees with zero reporcussions. They try to hide the truth and will fire you if it fits their agenda at the time. I truly can't say anything positive about the experience at this organization.

    Advice to Management

    Do your job. Be good people. Get rid of your management when you know they are treating people wrong. Have better systems in place so that HR can't constantly try and screw people. Hold people to higher standards and maybe you wouldn't be where you are now.

    Mount Carmel Health2019-05-31
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mount Carmel Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Management, ability to bonus, Thriving company that truly cares about their patients and employees. I feel the staff communicates well and provides you opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Expected to do a decent a mount of driving and traveling with wear and tear on car. Frequent revisions to the pay scale and productivity

    Mount Carmel Health2019-04-18
  10. "Mount Carmel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Prep Cook 

      I have been working at Mount Carmel Health part-time

      Pros

      On your own. Off weekends

      Cons

      I can't think of any

      Mount Carmel Health2019-04-02
    Found 186 reviews