Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto Reviews | Glassdoor

Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto CEO Joseph Mapa
Joseph Mapa
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of full-time employment opportunities(in 4 reviews)

  • "Surprisingly low salary and no benefits(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Medical Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Office Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful staff: Caring, compassionate, professional.

    Cons

    Lack of full-time employment opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2016-11-08
  2. "Decent at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time

    Pros

    They're always willing to teach you what you don't know.

    Cons

    Pay does not match work load and responsibilities. 3% annual raises are given out every 3 years or more. Staff is very underpaid.

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2017-09-20
  3. "PCT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time

    Pros

    Easy to commute to work

    Cons

    Breach in contract. I was suppose to hired full time and then my hurs were cut due to a mistake in the contract

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2017-09-16
  4. "Incompetent PIs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto

    Pros

    lots of vacation time, access to lectures

    Cons

    some PIs at Mt.Sinai are completely incompetent, but management at Mt. Sinai keeps them on...

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2010-09-13
  5. "My Take"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Records Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto

    Pros

    You still have to be happy your working! Things are bad everywhere or most places I guess.

    Cons

    Lately it feels like you're at a concentration camp. Highly institutional.

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2009-11-27
  6. "rewarding and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Ward Clerk in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fast paced, diverse, lots of work opportunities

    Cons

    difficult to grow within the company

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-07-09
  7. "Gained some experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Gained experience - Good pay in lieu of benefits and vacation

    Cons

    - Manager was a clinician and wasn't skilled with people management and was often condescending and affected by their mood in their interactions with staff - Low base pay

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-07-20
  8. "new grad RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - hired right out of school - organisation has excellent reputation for clinical excellence

    Cons

    - workplace incivility, rude/hostile night staff - rushed orientation - additional training requests ignored by management

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-07-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great teaching hospital."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaching, experience and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Pay, structure and management. No benefits on contract positions

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-01-09
  10. "Totally disconnected management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close to the subway, lots of food choices around the area

    Cons

    Management does not provide training, first day of the job, they literally just emailed all the instructions to me and expect me to know everything right away. Very disorganized. There are days when management is oblivious how busy the Department is. Very high turnover rate, management hired about 10 temps in this year and last year. The original full time permanent people quit because of the burnout. Again, I will emphasize - there is NO PROPER TRAINING provided!!!

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-12-21
Found 74 reviews