Mountain America Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Mountain America Credit Union Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Mountain America Credit Union CEO Sterling Nielsen (no image)
Sterling Nielsen
109 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I honestly don't have anything that bothers me at MACU(in 11 reviews)

  • "More consistent work life balance(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "An Overlooked Hidden Gem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sandy, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you live in Utah, you've heard of Mountain America, but you maybe haven't thought of working at Mountain America. Well, I'm here to tell you that you should. MACU's culture is not one to flaunt itself like so many others, yet it's as strong of a culture as you can find. Trust, respect and autonomy are all things that will be given to you from day one. The benefits here easily rival any organization in the valley.... Medical costs are minimal, the 401k match is super strong, work/life balance is a legitimate thing here that you won't be guilt tripped for if you try to take advantage of it.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'd like to see the PTO accrual refreshed and a paternity leave plan put into place. Several processes are a tad bit over-complicated, which I understand as a financial institution, however, it would be nice to see things simplified.

    Advice to Management

    Keep showing appreciation towards your employees.

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-05-16

    Mountain America Credit Union Response

    May 31, 2019HR Project Manager

    We couldn’t agree more, we’re constantly striving to shine bright like a diamond!

  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Idaho Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company that truly cares overall for its staff. Great health and retirement benefits. MACU has a clear vision for its members, employees and the company as a whole. Crazy growth in recent years causing for awesome opportunities for employee growth.

    Cons

    With any company, some people in management can be difficult to get to "care" about the real issues. At times they may lose sight of the importance of the individual doing the work.

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-09-04
  3. "Solid Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and great support from management.

    Cons

    Keep looking for opportunities to engage new employees.

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-08-28
  4. "Loan officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FSR1 in Cedar City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain America Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, company cares about its employees

    Cons

    Very conservative. Lds heavy, felt judged for not being lds

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-08-20
  5. "Wealth Management Intern at Mountain America Credit Union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wealth Management Intern in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mountain America Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a great culture here. People are friendly.

    Cons

    Sometimes I do not have a lot of structure to my responsibilities.

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-08-05

    Mountain America Credit Union Response

    August 14, 2019HR Project Manager

    We hope you are enjoying your summer with us!

  6. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Sandy, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent senior leaders who genuinely care for people Incredible core of managers across the company High-growth environment with many opportunities to advance Best member service anywhere Best modern IT shop in Utah Incredible benefits Unrivaled corporate culture Best facilities

    Cons

    Too little profit sharing Antiquated time-off model Need more focus on work prioritization

    Advice to Management

    Better strategic planning and work flow Better talent retention offerings

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-07-28

    Mountain America Credit Union Response

    August 14, 2019HR Project Manager

    Thanks, we'd agree we have a great company and are proud to work here. We recently launched changes to our time off model in July, if you weren't aware we hope you are now! If you still feel they’re outdated, please connect with HR, we'd like your thoughts! Our data suggests that ...

    Show More
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Agent 

    I worked at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, environment, and overall just a great honest company.

    Cons

    Takes time to build up your time off, but they work with you a lot in the beginning.

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-07-16
  8. "Best Start to A Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Rexburg, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Members come first. Do not need to dangle refunds to members. You are the member's advocate.

    Cons

    Educational Reimbursement is limited to a class by class basis

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-07-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Quality of work are less important than finishing work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sandy, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are better than average. Great company company focus on putting members first.

    Cons

    Basic skills seem to be missing in different groups in the corporate office. Quality of work can suffer due to lack of superior presentation, analytical, or communication skills among co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    Train employees more on essential skills - even employees that have been at the company 5+ years.

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-07-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Support Manager in Sandy, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountain America Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging environment, great coworkers, all necessary tools

    Cons

    Coaching is inconsistent, teams don't work together

    Mountain America Credit Union2019-07-08
Found 167 reviews