Movement Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Movement Mortgage Reviews

Updated May 6, 2017
290 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Casey Crawford
157 Ratings

290 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • You will not find a better company then Movement Mortgage (in 25 reviews)

  • This company preaches about being a leader in the industry and being a Movement of Change (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • No Cons its getting better every month (in 15 reviews)

  • The company is young so we're going through growing pains, but that is to be expected (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company appreciates you and makes it known, free meals weekly, permanently casual, food trucks surround our office every Friday, massage days--every employee gets a free massage by a professional masseuse, epic Christmas parties, etc

    Cons

    I would give 5 stars but they just don't pay enough :(
    I wish pay raises were more structured and concrete--ex-if I met a certain goal for 3 consecutive months I get bumped up to xx pay grade etc

    Advice to Management

    Pay a decent living wage

    Movement Mortgage Response

    May 8, 2017 – Talent Strategist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! Every bit helps us as we continue to grow and move forward. Thankful to have you! -Ashleigh


  2. "Movement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Animator in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Lead Animator in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I never thought I would find myself working in any kind of corporate setting. It has been an adventure and I have built some great relationships in my time at movement. The executive team is genuine and Casey is a great leader. Within marketing, we have a solid team and continues to grow and find new ways to connect with each other. Overall, it's a great place to work, not perfect, but no place ever is. They learn from their mistakes and press forward with new ideas.

    Cons

    As i mentioned before, they are not perfect, but no place is. They have been growing fast and with that comes growing pains. But it seems that they have recognized them and are listening to employees. So, the trend is positive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! Keep an ear to the ground and be down with the people in the trenches. If you continue to have open ears and an open heart, this place can be an amazing work environment. I know it's not easy to be the same as we were when we were smaller, that's just growth for you. But we can continue to look for new ways to make the employees feel valued and loved. Keep it up management! I am here to help and so are many others.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 21, 2017 – Talent Strategist

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We want all of our employees to feel love and valued. We are very excited about our growth and are always open to hearing new ideas! So glad to have you a part of ... More


  3. "GREATEST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED FOR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    MM truly cares about us. management will do whatever they can to help us as loan officers to help our clients. MM gives way more then they take and that is such a wonderful thing in this business. I get recruiting calls all the time and I shut them down when I tell them all the great things I have here at MM, then ask them if they want to interview with me because my company is 10 times better. I recommend our company to family members. I have had to refer a few loans out for my family all over the country and never had a problem with even the team members I don't know getting the loan done and my family being 100% satisfied. I enjoy going to work even when the market is slow because MM offers so many avenues to meet new clients and build a relationship with them. You will not find a better company then Movement Mortgage

    Cons

    I have been with MM for over a year and a half now, I can not think of one bad day or problem so far. NO CONS

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be, don't ever give up the way things are right now as to what we love and feel about our great company and team. Show the new members of the family what it means to love and value people in business and in their personal life like you did for me. "a Movement of Change" will change lives for the better

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Talent Strategist

    This is amazing! We love that you love Movement and couldn't be happier to have you a part of our team! So glad to hear that your family had a great experience with us! We love being able to put ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Processor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in Tempe, AZ
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free coffee, water, and tea all the time. Awesome cafe. Great Managers and culture.

    Cons

    Long days. Working for another state with the time difference is difficult.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 21, 2017 – Talent Strategist

    Thank you so much for your feedback! Every bit helps! Thanks!-Ashleigh


  6. "Amazing Company to work for!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love Works, culture & Servant leadership.

    Cons

    I haven't found any cons at this point.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 21, 2017 – Talent Strategist

    So happy to have you with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review! -Ashleigh


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Underwriter 3"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter III in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Underwriter III in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Modern Office, cafe, meetings, managers

    Cons

    Overtime, working 15 to 16 hours a day. I get in at 5 or 6 AM and sometimes do not leave until 9 PM. Exhausted and overwhelmed at times. Way too kuch overtime and unmanageable work load.

    Advice to Management

    Overtime managment - too many hours.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    May 2, 2017 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. Truthful and transparent employee feedback is essential to our growth and improvement. I am sorry that you are feeling overwhelmed with your workload and suggest you also ... More


  8. Helpful (8)

    "hope you're in the club"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indian Land, SC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indian Land, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    free coffee and breakfast on Friday mornings

    Cons

    No performance recognition if you are not part of the sales team, but don't worry - they will rub it in your face about how great the LOs are doing and how they get rewarded with extravagant trips to tropical places and plenty of videos and pics to prove it
    if you aren't part of the right group - you can forget about moving up or being rewarded for your hard work. They will say it is a conspiracy theory, but if it's true it's not a conspiracy.
    Too much focus on looks: look at our fancy building, look at our flashy commercials, look at our community service that we made sure to photograph and put all over social media.

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back and listen to your employees, all of them not just your friends. Oh, and stop hiring all of your friends and look for people who are actually qualified for the roles you need filled.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for feedback. Your opinion matters to us and we are sorry you feel that your contributions were not recognized. As we grow as a company, we are constantly looking to improve our employee ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "LOA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LOA in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - LOA in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Christian basics. Expense reimbursement. Equipt to do job.

    Cons

    Operations. Underwriting. Lock department. Processors inexperienced not knowledgeable.

    Advice to Management

    Change focus for underwriting department to pro close loans not find reasons to deny.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Recruitment Marketing

    We are really thankful you are a part of our team! Thank you for your helpful feedback.


  10. "I love Movement Mortgage"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Fort Mill, SC
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing culture, amazing people... best mortgage company I have ever worked for. We are well paid, treated with great love and caring. We care for our community. It really is the MOST amazing place to work.

    Cons

    Only one... there is not a soda machine in the office but we have an amazing cafe downstairs with healthy alternatives. Really... not a Con at all.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for all you do to make Movement Mortgage such an amazing place to work. I have worked for 1 of the largest mortgage companies and 1 local mortgage company and by far Movement Mortgage does it right. They actually stand by their statement that they love and care about us, all truths. I look forward to working here for the rest of my career, I can't see myself anyplace else. Keep up the great work Casey!

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Talent Strategist

    We are so thankful to have you a part of the Movement family and love that you have found a place to call home! Thanks for your review! -Ashleigh


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, poorly ran local office"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company, love what they stood for: community, giving back etc. Loved the CEO and CFO! Their operations staff was the best as well!

    Cons

    Talked the talk, but didn't always walk the walk. If they didn't like it or it wasn't their idea, they didn't do it. They look out for themselves more than their employees, and it's ALWAYS about MONEY and the POLITICS in the office. Don't get on anyone's bad side!!!

    Advice to Management

    Be open to more ideas other than your own and don't toss aside knowledge

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Many thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with constructive criticism. As we grow as a company, we are always looking to improve upon the employee experience while ... More


Showing 290 of 291 reviews
Reset Filters