Movement Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Movement Mortgage Reviews

Updated September 10, 2018
416 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Casey Crawford
250 Ratings

416 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You will not find a better company then Movement Mortgage" (in 29 reviews)

  • "Great culture and fun environment" (in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "They want to grow organically but seems that they want to grow fast instead, convincing loan officers with a book of business to join Movement" (in 23 reviews)

  • "No Cons its getting better every month" (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Best "company" I have ever experienced! not just mortgage company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture, Process, Marketing Support, Leadership

    Cons

    My only criticism is that it can be very corporate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on! Thanks Movement Mortgage!

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Aug 20, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your review! Keep up the good work!


  2. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Metairie, LA
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Christian organization, includes normal employee benefits

    Cons

    instability of income, inexperienced home office staff

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees the same and provide the same support to all employees

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. We strive to love and value all of our employees equally and to provide the tools and support necessary to succeed. Happy to have you as part of our team.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Movement Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Company culture was unlike any I’ve seen.
    Great philosophy

    Cons

    Tried to grow our region too fast with the wrong leader overseeing it. No one received the help needed to open new offices let alone in a timely manner, communication was awful, and loans started having more issues through the process. It felt like I was wooed to join this company that looked amazing on the outside and then left to flounder. Many things stated that would happen for onboarding did not.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry your time at Movement was not what you hoped it would be. Minor growing pains often accompany rapid expansion and we will keep your thoughts in mind as we... More


  4. "Great for right out of College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in Indian Land, SC
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in Indian Land, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good training and experience. Good Benefits. Good Team Structure

    Cons

    Low pay. Assembly line style work

    Advice to Management

    Depends on the team. A little micro managee

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Aug 15, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you are benefiting from our training. Perhaps a conversation with your manager can help put you on a path to increase your pay. Keep up the good work!


  5. "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture. Best operations team in the business. Company is focused around making their LO's succeed. Quick turn times. In house UW and processing.

    Cons

    being 100% commission in any industry can be tough

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your feedback! Keep up the good work!


  6. "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent Culture, close loans ontime.

    Cons

    pricing can be high at times

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Aug 1, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you are enjoying your time with Movement!


  7. "Closer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It is a great company

    Cons

    I cant think of any

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your review! We are glad you are enjoying your time with us!

  8. "Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor in Indian Land, SC
    Former Employee - Processor in Indian Land, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work Environment, Opportunity for Bonus, challenging

    Cons

    Tedious, bonus/income based on who or where you are assigned

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you are being challenged in your role and are benefiting from a strong work environment. Perhaps a conversation with your manager can provide... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of tools..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great technology. So far people here and at corporate are willing to help.

    Cons

    Management is great. Programs and products are plentiful. Pricing could be better.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you are thriving with us and benefiting from our strong community. Keep it up!


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Movement Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    I was a big fan of Love Works, an employee funded program to help other employees in need.

    Cons

    Where to begin? Movement spends a lot of time and money to woo potential hires. But that does not mean they bring on quality people. No matter what is going on at corporate, if you have poor leadership at the branch and market level, you will flounder.
    It doesn’t matter how atrocious the behavior of the loan officers is, they will not be held accountable. You can report all you want and there will be no changes. Management allows loan officers, even ones who don’t produce to abuse their expense privileges. But if you as an admin need to expense something your boss made you pay for, it’s like pulling teeth to get it approved. And all expensed items come out of the branch P and L.
    Pay is horrible for non staff. Least competitive in this area. And when you depend on bonus income but no loans are closing you suffer for it.
    When I finally got fed up and quit, I was threatened by Movement. Blamed for their poor reputation in a new market, and accused of stealing business. They will have general counsel call you to harass you. I was not a loan officer, so had no business to steal. And there were hardly any employees, so no one to recruit. A reputation is earned and be blamed on one person.

    Advice to Management

    I was disgusted with my treatment by this company. I quit and left quietly. I spent months trying to go to management with issues, then turned to HR when I quit so I can be addressed. Having a legal representative contact a former employee by phone with absolutely no evidence they have done anything is harassment.
    I did everything that was asked when I left and cut all contact with former coworkers
    Hold your loan officers and management accountable for their own behavior. They are adults and responsible for their own actions. If they can’t close more than 2 loans in 6 months maybe that is due to their own lack of effort.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Aug 20, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry your experience with Movement was not a positive one. It is important to us that each of our employees feel loved and valued, and we will... More


Showing 416 of 418 reviews
Reset Filters