Movement Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Movement Mortgage Reviews

Updated November 15, 2018
439 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Casey Crawford
265 Ratings

439 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You will not find a better company then Movement Mortgage" (in 29 reviews)

  • "amazing company, great culture, awesome benefits" (in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "They want to grow organically but seems that they want to grow fast instead, convincing loan officers with a book of business to join Movement" (in 23 reviews)

  • "No Cons its getting better every month" (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture, outstanding executive team who care about their employees, Mortgage "university" for people who are new to the industry, money and volunteerism poured into the local community.

    Cons

    Middle management does not always carry out the vision of upper management..


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fun company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Mill, SC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Movement Mortgage (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Open working environment, young and "hip" CEO, good benefits

    Cons

    Systems seem to be constantly underdeveloped, very ad-hoc processes, HR is behind the ball

  3. Helpful (14)

    "Marketing staff and management is highly under-qualified."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Fort Mill, SC
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Movement Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free food on Fridays. Okay pay. Their ironic love for Halloween.

    Cons

    The Chief Brand Officer has no idea what he’s doing. He has absolutely no marketing/design experience and does not understand simple industry lingo. “I might not know Photoshop but I know what looks good.” They spend too much money on 9am morning meetings and too much time trying to design the next best, hottest, hipster T-shirt.

    Everything they do gravitates around Elevation Church. They’ll bring us marketing materials from Elevation and have us reproduce it.

    They also throw God in your face. Everywhere. Every day. No, I don’t want to talk to your Chaplain nor do I want to attend Friday Morning Sermons.

    Advice to Management

    Learn your job. Learn your people. You spend too much money on trying to look good. Spend more time learning about your “brand.” And stop hiring people just because they’re the wife of your pastor or a longtime friend. Hire them because of their credentials and their potential to produce great work.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Nov 7, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you know, Movement embraces Christian values ; however, it is not our intent to "throw God" in anyone's face. We hope you find... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Low morale, doesn’t feel like a community culture anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    6% 401k match, nice building to work in.

    Cons

    Continuing layoffs in smaller numbers. No year end bonus or cost of living raises this year. Everyone on pins and needle’s. Management has stopped being transparent about anything with the employees. Lots of management closed-door meetings with no information to employees.Rumors of restructuring, but not being addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Top levels of management should meet directly with the employees without middle managers present, to discuss ways to make things better or just to share information about the direction the company is taking,without fear of reprisal if employees speak up with questions or concerns. Upper management should not only speak to the middle-management ,who have their own agendas .

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. We always strive for honesty and transparency for all of our employees and we will keep your suggestion in mind as we continue to navigate this difficult market. We... More


  5. "Underwriter Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for.

    Cons

    There are no complaints at all

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you are enjoying your time at Movement; keep up the good work!


  6. "Proud to be a part of this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    From Market Leader Spiro to Regional Leader Mike right to CEO Casey, everyone is down to earth and there for the greater good. I have never felt like “just a number.” Hard work and a job well done are acknowledged and appreciated.

    Cons

    Nothing is perfect of course, but I cannot think of anything that would warrant a valid complaint.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you do!!!

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Oct 22, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your review! We are glad you are enjoying your time at Movement and feel loved and valued. Keep up the good work!


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Lost the Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Movement Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    The Culture started out fantastic 3 years ago, unlike anything I have ever worked for. Loved my job and learned so much about the business.

    Cons

    The culture became words only not action by management. But as they grew friends of friends were promoted and may have been good at driving productivity but not trained as Leads or Managers with people. Became completely unprofessional.

    Advice to Management

    A companies success is only achievable when the leaders are held as accountable as their employees. Lack of morals, friends, gossip, favoritism from management are toxic to a work environment. Listen to your employees, when promoting should not be overseeing friends they worked with to avoid these issues.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    We appreciate your feedback and your contributions to Movement. We regret that difficult decisions had to be made during this rough market but are committed to recharging our focuses on culture and... More

  8. "I LOVE the people I get to work with and believe in the mission of the organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indian Land, SC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indian Land, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    I appreciate that the fruit of my labors are re-invested into the community. I believe I am surrounded with like-minded people who care about me. I enjoy my work and am grateful for my opportunities.

    Cons

    This can be a HARD business. Current market conditions suck - and may get worse before better, but if I have to be in the trenches doing battle, I'm grateful to be fighting with those I trust and respect. Insurance benefits are too expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to criticisms to learn ways to improve. Spend some time on exit interviews to help identify pockets of toxicity. Improve transparency to reduce anxiety.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Oct 22, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. We appreciate your "all for one" attitude and are happy to have you as part of our team. We will definitely keep your thoughts in mind as we navigate through... More


  9. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Underwriter in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Mortgage Underwriter in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Movement Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Family-oriented company with Christian backgrounds

    Cons

    Layoffs are possible, mortgage is always unpredictable

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you are enjoying your time at Movement and appreciate your understanding of the difficult and unpredictable market. Keep up the good work!


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not impressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Movement university was nice, it gave people a chance to change careers, be trained, and get full benefits from day 1. They axed that though as most people who did the program left because pay was lower than average for the industry. For those that stayed and believed in the company, some were laid off in Oct.

    Free food on Friday and holidays

    Cons

    It can feel more like a frat house at times. Lots of young people (not a bad thing) but sometimes it’s an immature atmosphere and professionalism is lost. This is especially worrisome when the managers/team leads are acting like 14 year olds, even getting upset at others because they prefer to work and aren’t into pranks or other shenanigans. I get that they want to be a “fun” place to work, but people take that too far and when it’s a manager doing it, what options do the employees have? I think that balance has to be found. Train and re-evaluate your middle managers. Those that constantly have problems with multiple employees when those employees were given excellent marks from other managers...well find the common denominator. As someone mentioned before, diversity training should be mandatory.

    Advice to Management

    Stop protecting and enabling bad managers. There is an obvious pecking order. If you are friends with the CEO or upper management you are golden, and it shouldn’t be that way. Also, you have diverse employees, have some education on being inclusive.

    Movement Mortgage Response

    Nov 14, 2018 – Director of Special Projects, Talent

    Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback and will keep it in mind as we move forward with personal and professional development efforts. Good luck to you in the future.


Showing 439 of 441 reviews
Reset Filters