Moven Reviews | Glassdoor

Moven Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Moven CEO Brett King (no image)
Brett King
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Moven full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company. Great culture. Good opportunities. Good people. Good networks.

    Cons

    Fairly new to Data Science

    Moven2019-11-11
  2. "Senior Leadership is a Dumpster Fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Radnor Station, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Moven full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented team, flexible WFH, competitive pay.

    Cons

    The founder only cares about selling books. CEO doesn't understand his own job. I think these guys like joking about sexual harassment more than they do contributing to their own company. CFO, CMO, CEO all think they can scam VC's. This product is worthless. Good riddance.

    Advice to Management

    don't run with scissors

    Moven2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Smart People, Issues with Leadership/Board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moven full-time

    Pros

    Smart and talented coworkers, decent salary and options, great location

    Cons

    Multiple experiences of misdirection from management, issues with transparency. Large number of execs that are out of touch with employees and innovation. Their key to innovation was to re-release the same product. If you put a camry engine in a lambo, it still won't go fast.

    Advice to Management

    Try to avoid flip flopping product strategy and company vision. There is obviously an issue with management when competitors, who have the same product portfolio and entered the industry later, are valued 10-20X higher.

    Moven2019-10-03
  4. "Well-rounded FinTech Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moven full-time

    Pros

    The team at Moven is a well-rounded, forward-thinking group of individuals. There is extreme traction at its current state to becoming a leader in the space and focusing on what works. There is also extreme emphasis on the employee, in that everyone has a voice and the corporate ladder is decentralized when it comes to ideas and voicing one's opinion. Flexible work hours, competitive pay and benefits are also... added bonuses that make working at Moven a great experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    Tough market to penetrate, Moven was however one of the first of its kind in the U.S. for better or worse.

    Moven2019-05-13
  5. "Great innovative company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moven full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have a strong and passionate team.

    Cons

    There are too many great ideas, so we have to prioritize.

    Moven2019-03-14
  6. "Technology great, management not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Radnor, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moven full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - smart people - pushing technology forward

    Cons

    - too many product/project managers - management didn't trust employees - cto was not very rational

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier to be an employee Do actual user testing

    Moven2018-10-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Working at Moven was underwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moven full-time

    Pros

    - Competitive pay - Creative freedom

    Cons

    - Lack of opportunity - Nonexistent culture - Half-baked product - Incompetent management

    Moven2018-03-16
  8. "Interesting Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Moven full-time

    Pros

    Technical freedom, smart people, close knit teams

    Cons

    Scattered management, unclear direction, bad communication

    Moven2017-01-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Radnor, PA

    I have been working at Moven

    Pros

    Getting paid to do what I love

    Cons

    Not paid enough for the work performed

    Moven2016-10-12
  10. "Great place to utilize some of the latest tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moven

    Pros

    The company has fully embraced the DevOps culture and tries to adhere to the practices as much as possible. They are taking advantage of the wide variety of tools that AWS offers and also using some of the best open source tools out there. You can learn a lot about AWS at this place, especially compared to companies that I've been at that spin up a few EC2 instances and do nothing with the automation tools provided... by AWS. People here for the most part are pretty nice to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Daily meetings with the team and B2B clients. Client meetings were full of over a dozen people and things often times would be repeated several times. Despite the number of standups, it sometimes was unclear what you needed to work on. I often times found myself picking up projects, only to find out later that we were scrapping that project. Salary compensation is lower than the industry standard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, but make sure you're paying the right people, the right salary.

    Moven2016-08-22
Found 18 reviews