KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MoviePass

Is this your company?

MoviePass

Add a Review

MoviePass Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 21 reviews

2.0
23%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
MoviePass Interim CEO  Parthasarathy Krishnan
Parthasarathy Krishnan
3 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

445

62 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    awesome

    Jan 10, 2021 - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    unlimite vacation was offered to all employees

    Cons

    management was not readily accessible to employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    The great disruptor

    Jan 10, 2021 - Customer Experience Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job was pretty easy.

    Cons

    There was no clear leadership.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    As bad as you think.

    Oct 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free alcohol. Wework is nice. Management didn't care enough to stop anyone from leaving early.

    Cons

    Toxic work culture, toxic coworkers, toxic management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not the Best, not the Worst

    Mar 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A very flexible environment with cool people.

    Cons

    Software was overly complicated and business model sunk company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Crazy Company

    Feb 21, 2020 - Social Media Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working towards the ability to create a cheaper moviegoing experience.

    Cons

    Very little transparency to customers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pass on MoviePass

    Dec 13, 2018 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None...? Free snacks, which are typically unhealthy and a few healthy options like bananas and apples. WageWorks and if you are lucky, and I mean lucky, you may get a MoviePass card that works. If you are a social butterfly and know how to smile and be reassuring, please do apply. If you work hard and tend to create solutions over problems, do not apply.

    Cons

    Management is not transparent and seems to be incapable of balancing work and personal life. Lack of transparency, therefore, a lot of idle minds makes idle hands at work- people were at work doing mostly, nothing. Yet, we are expected to do everything and anything. Unreasonable hours, lack of security and safety. The company simply does not take their employees seriously.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Shaky Foundation

    Mar 9, 2018 - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The CS team is a close knit group of really smart, passionate, and interesting people. Our manager is incredible and works super hard to make sure (as best she can) that we are not being taken advantage of. I wish the higher ups would recognize her hard work more. The office is cool and there is free beer! Great area, close to IFC and Angelika theaters. Free MoviePass!

    Cons

    Since the insane growth starting in August 2017, things have gotten COMPLETELY out of hand. Higher ups make rash decisions without thinking about the effects on the customers. Honestly, customer service is their last priority it feels like. CS is definitely taken advantage of and blamed for poor performance when we are understaffed and undervalues.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Finance

    Dec 3, 2018 - Finance in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Definetly not a boring place to work, always a fir3 drill to keep things exciting lately... could end up working for a FANG company if the rumors from new leadership is correct. Def. Better off being in mgmt at this compant, the saying is true crap runs downhill.... and this hill is steap.

    Cons

    Leadership has been absent, lots of rumors about the day to day. You def. Want to be a fulltime employee, new leadership team claims the near term possibilities are huge and will make everything better but belueve it when i see it...

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    A sinking ship

    Jul 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers, terrible management.

    Cons

    Ted is going to drive this company into the ground. They don't care about growing or nuturing the overworked and miserable staff, they care about money and fame. Women have to fight everyday to prove their worth here.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    This company is criminal

    Sep 20, 2019 - Marketing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got paid to stay home for several months because no one went to work and I didn't have a manager, director, or VP in charge of me. So that was cool that I just didn't go to work and no one noticed.

    Cons

    - Ted and Mitch are sociopaths and narcissists who should probably be in jail for the way they ran MoviePass into the ground. - There is constant gas-lighting of employees by the executive team. Most of the executive team doesn't even come into work. - Employees are not told of major company changes until it hits the news.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Work at MoviePass? Share Your Experiences

or

MoviePass Photos

+ Add Photo
MoviePass photo of: Moviepass!!

Have you worked here?

See All Photos