Mozilla Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Mozilla Foundation Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Mark Surman
8 Ratings
  1. "Awesome place to start with open source contributions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Mozilla Representative in Jersey City, NJ
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mozilla Foundation for more than a year

      Pros

      You get to meet a lot of talented and intelligent people

      Cons

      You need to work hard to get recognized

      Mozilla Foundation2016-11-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great for you if you are comfortable with being in constantly changing environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mozilla Foundation full-time

      Pros

      Global community, amazing mission, wonderful benefits and travel. Your colleagues are smart, creative and empathetic. You will have opportunities to collaborate beside organizations that are equally mission oriented.

      Cons

      Consistently shifting project focus. In the time I was there I had approximately 2 different managers per year. There is also a bit of a bros in tech culture with meetings happening at bars and folks being hired because they are good people, but not always quite experienced in the particular job focus.

      Advice to Management

      Prioritize creating a stable work environment for the employees. Focus on hiring capable and committed folks who can enhance the entire organization.

      Mozilla Foundation2018-06-10

      Mozilla Foundation Response

      September 20, 2018

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback- we certainly take your comments to heart. If you are interested in talking more about your experience with us, you can contact me directly at maukland@mozillafoundation.org. Thanks again, Michael Aukland, ...

      Show More
    • "Inspiring co-workers and vision, management needs work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Mozilla Foundation full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      The staff and community is very mission focused and employees seem to a) really care about making a difference and b) doing their work well. Benefits are very good for a non-profit. Working open provides insight into multiple areas of the organization and field.

      Cons

      Sometimes staff are not given the agency to make the decisions needed to do their work well due to micromanaging upper management. Path to promotion is unclear.

      Mozilla Foundation2018-03-05
    • "A mixed bag..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Mozilla Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Solid benefits, smart and mostly caring people, remote work allowed, nice health and wellness package.

      Cons

      Lack of clear direction, weak management, lack of follow-through on constantly shifting strategy. Poor or missing project management. No quality assurance roles. No chance for promotion outside of already top-heavy management. No bonuses. Barely competitive pay, but it is a non-profit.

      Mozilla Foundation2018-03-02
    • "Leadership team needs to change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mozilla Foundation full-time

      Pros

      Lots of smart, dedicated, and interesting people. Great benefits and flexible work hours.

      Cons

      There's a lot of ambiguity, lack of direction, and lack of commitment from management. During my 2 years there, only a handful of people who were at the organization when I started remained when I left. It's very clear that HR works to protect the organization from legal action rather than create a positive environment for employees. Multiple complaints my colleagues filed regarding gender & race discrimination,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Consider bringing in new leadership.

      Mozilla Foundation2018-03-02
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Frontend Developer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Mozilla Foundation

      Pros

      Amazing place to learn and build Open Source software

      Cons

      Remote Work is not good.

      Mozilla Foundation2016-10-25
    • "Engineering Contractor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mozilla Foundation

      Pros

      Flexible working hours, creative and collaborative people, and competitive salary

      Cons

      Lack of management, frequent online meeting

      Mozilla Foundation2016-09-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Community Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mozilla Foundation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good remote opportunity. Culture is generally open to employees initiating new ideas. Exciting travel opportunities throughout the year (about 3 working all hands activities a year).

      Cons

      General feeling of disjointed work. A lot of changing direction and priorities, even within a fiscal year. Similar to the previous statement, the organization would go full steam ahead on a pilot or product without really having a long term plan. Low minority diversity in regards to Black and Latino staff and limited desire to address it.

      Mozilla Foundation2016-09-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mozilla Foundation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mozilla Foundation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture, remote working, strong mission, free meals and snacks in some offices, regular company events, A+ benefits program.

      Cons

      Small organization with little opportunity for promotion.

      Mozilla Foundation2015-06-09
    • "Excellent organizations on a mission"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Fellow in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mozilla Foundation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A great opportunity to work with passionate people

      Cons

      Collaborative ethos can result in work outside of core responsibilities

      Mozilla Foundation2019-03-07
    Found 12 reviews