Mr X Reviews | Glassdoor

Mr X Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Lisa Sepp-Wilson
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours, not great work-life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "You are likely to work long hours and this means your work-life balance does not exist(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Tightest Comp crew ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Compositor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My 4+ years at the Toronto office was a dearly positive experience. The comp department is nurturing, playful and supportive, and the Head of Department is top notch, along with the leads. The studio is absolutely beautiful. I am hugely grateful for my experience there. It seems they are continually working to improve the culture to combat complications that often stem from rapid growth.

    Cons

    Tricky to get to know everyone who works there.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2018-07-06
  2. "Talented people in a depressing atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    You'll meet a lot of talented people here, also you get to work on interesting projects once in a while.

    Cons

    Employees have to work long hours while being underpaid for their efforts. In addition , employees are often overworked, which results in low employee morale . Couple this with a management that is hard to reach , and you'll get a depressing work environment. You're better off working for another company because your talents will just be wasted here.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-08-21
  3. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    It's a great company to get started and learn a lot on the job. Good management.

    Cons

    The hours can get a little crazy, but you should expect that at pretty much any VFX studio.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2018-09-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult Time at Studio about to Close - NY Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    Staff/Team Comraderie Great Location - right in lower Manhattan Paid OT

    Cons

    Lack of on site leadership Lack on consistent work Outsource mantra was strong

    Continue reading
    Mr X2018-07-31
  5. "Is it worth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Noida

    I have been working at Mr X for less than a year

    Pros

    Best Facility for nowadays generation.

    Cons

    Its unethical for us young.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-08-03
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mr X

    Pros

    All is great for work

    Cons

    Nothing can be good about it

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-07-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Take care of your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    There is consistent work available.

    Cons

    There is no work life balance while working here, you have to work long hours. You are underpaid despite all the efforts you put in. There are communication issues from the upper management. Employee morale is low.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-07-08
  8. "x"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Hobart
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mr X full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company nice very nice cool easy

    Cons

    hard management tough critical difficult not bad

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-06-01
  9. Helpful (4)

    "You can do better than X. Much better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compositor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Hollywood personas actually visit the office. You'll run into directors and interact with them occasionally.

    Cons

    -Production is pretty clueless about the technical limitations of Nuke, Maya, etc. Doesn't understand why their crazy deadlines can never be met. -Salaries are laughable. No raises unless you threaten to leave. -A project manager threw a hamburger at someone's desk! I had just had lunch with someone who recently left, and she related this story about an artist who worked OT at around 50-60 hours weekly. He had been coming in early, to do those hours. Now we eventually fought for free lunches during OT hours, they provided it, but one of the artists who did his OT in the early morning was banned from availing of this. He protested that he did the same hours. Later, the PM he was arguing with threw a hamburger at his head. This is ridiculous to me, because I had complaints about how snarky and pushy PMs were there, and I thought this hamburger-throwing lady wasn't so bad. Turns out even the good ones turn sour after long enough there. Stuff like this isn't normal, but at X it is. You can find better cultures than this.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-06-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    Good projects; good location; big team

    Cons

    Very corporate environment; often crazy busy; no work life balance

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-04-24
Found 82 reviews