Mullen "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Mullen Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
64%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Mullen CEO Lee Newman (no image)
Lee Newman
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most of the folks in the creative department are some of the best and most talented people I've ever had the pleasure of working with(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great people (excluding upper management)(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Account Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mullen full-time

    Pros

    You get a lot of autonomy and responsibility right out of the gate. Great place to learn and to learn by doing - you're not overmanaged and get real client management and interactions right away. Opportunities to make really great and creative work and work with talented people.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be tough sometimes with everyone expected to work long hours and be available outside of work to answer emails, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Mullen's upper management could be more invested in the day to day of the lower employees and care more about the non-sexy accounts that bring in the $$.

    Mullen2017-01-09
  2. "Boston Team is Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Media Buyer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mullen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful Teammates Great Camaraderie Ability to gain experience across several different accounts

    Cons

    Long Hours Can get stuck on poor accounts

    Advice to Management

    Try to build out the new york office like the Boston one.

    Mullen2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mullen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, cool people, A+ atmosphere.

    Cons

    Not a ton of work, small-time brands, layoffs, long hours.

    Mullen2019-03-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good people that work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mullen full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, fast paced, feels small

    Cons

    low salaries, long hours, little work/life balance

    Mullen2019-01-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mullen

    Pros

    Cool-enough office and interesting projects

    Cons

    Internship was unpaid on a selective basis - A month after working very long hours and from home during my fall semester, I found out that a fellow intern who had just graduated from high school was paid, while I was not, due to her connection with an exec and the fact that she was not eligible for college credit. The other intern of the 3 of us (also a Senior in College with extensive experience) was also unpaid... and was commuting from outside of the state... My manager was very unreasonable when I mentioned it to her, aggressively responding to me very nicely asking if I also could be compensated for my work while also informing me that my colleague was "never supposed to tell me she was getting paid". Out of my many work experiences, this continues to be the worst, and for that reason I would dissuade anyone from looking at Mullen for internship experience.

    Show More
    Mullen2018-10-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work, long hours, some stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Creative Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mullen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You produce great work. Wonderful people throughout the company. A culture of winning. Great if you are a self starter.

    Cons

    Demanding and long hours. 60–70 per week. Not always efficiently run. Sometimes work for the sake of work. But worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Treat women more equally RE pay.

    Mullen2018-03-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "One of the Good Ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mullen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Accessible management who knows your name and is invested in your career (this comment limited to the NC office only), full holiday schedule, above average PTO allowance, good clients, smart work, smart people, positive work environment.

    Cons

    Long hours, lazy/non-existent HR department and review process.

    Advice to Management

    Establish a process to encourage (and require) managers to invest in their teams' careers. Those lucky enough to land a manager invested in their team members' growth, advancement and promotion excel further, faster and ultimately are a greater asset for the company; unfortunately, all too often a manager is out for only their personal interests, advancement and promotion.

    Mullen2017-01-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Media Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Media Planner in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mullen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holiday Schedule, Free Food/Alcohol, Immediate Responsibility

    Cons

    Misguided Leadership Team, Long Hours/Weekends, Work/Life Balance, Under-Staffed Workforce, Salary

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people and pay them a competitive salary, don't bend over backwards and say "yes" to every client request

    Mullen2017-01-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "First "real job""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mullen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun people! Name-brand clients, great new location, easy to contribute from all levels of creative hierarchy.

    Cons

    Very disorganized, low entry-level pay, long hours. Maybe structure has gotten better recently -- but it was a very stressful time from 2008-2012.

    Mullen2016-04-11
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Agency with a good reputation, but poor work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mullen full-time

    Pros

    Mullen has a high profile name that can open up a lot of doors Young, energetic team and co-workers Learned great skills as a first job

    Cons

    Mullen had a horrible work life balance and was understaffed. The agency was continuously winning new business, but losing employees and still absorbing in the work. There seemed to be a lack of "process" and no training. You are thrown right into the fire expected to work on client facing projects with little guidance or formal training. Teams often work under tight deadlines and plans area always changing at the... last minute leading to stress. Pay was low considering you were not compensated for your long hours and hard work.

    Show More
    Mullen2014-08-22
Found 23 reviews