Munich Re Reviews | Glassdoor

Munich Re Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Munich Re CEO Joachim Wenning
Joachim Wenning
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Looking for change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Princeton, NJ

    I have been working at Munich Re full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company. I've been Munich Re for 16 years.

    Cons

    There is not much to say.

    Munich Re2019-10-12
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Actuarial Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Munich Re part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are super friendly; I enjoy working with them, and so much to learn

    Cons

    Everything is pretty good so far

    Advice to Management

    I think they do a good job

    Munich Re2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Munich Re full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, bonus every year, nice company events

    Cons

    no upward mobility unless you are in an actuarial department, student program is closed to people outside the actuarial department, does not recognize hard workers

    Advice to Management

    Currently there is no incentive to work efficiently because there is no reward to do so. In fact, there is more incentive to work more inefficiently because people are paid by the hour and hard work is not recognized.

    Munich Re2019-08-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Munich Re full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work-life balance. I greatly admire and was proud to work for MunichRe (the Global company).

    Cons

    Consistently delivering valued/quality solutions, achieving industry-related educational attainment, being self-motivated and a high performer does not equate to career growth. However, poor performance (or rather, no performance) is valued instead. How many have left recently? Why doesn't the company value its highest performers? They are doing the lion-share of the work.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership means to provide direction, motivation, and opportunities for staff to excel and generate great value for the company. Without true leadership, the company will not go to where it wants to go in the future. Recognizing talent (the people who are constantly learning and creating value) is extremely important in achieving those goals. Many high-performers have left because they were not tapped for... growth (or actually to do anything). Did not want to leave, but I could not continue to be ignored (like the others).

    Show More
    Munich Re2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Paralegal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Munich Re full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company prides itself on flex time and work/life balance (at manager's discretion) and therein lies the rub.

    Cons

    Managers don't look at root causes for employment issues and provide little if any recourse.

    Advice to Management

    Managers should learn to coach employees rather than berate them.

    Munich Re2019-08-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Awful morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Actuary in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Munich Re full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented colleagues. Company run like a consulting firm.

    Cons

    High turnover. Poor work life balance.

    Munich Re2019-07-23
  7. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Munich Re full-time

    Pros

    Good company and benefits. lot to learn

    Cons

    Good company to work for.less growth opportunities.

    Munich Re2019-05-03
  8. "Great culture and company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Munich Re full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work for great team, manager and culture

    Cons

    That my contract ended and I couldn't stay there longer!

    Munich Re2019-04-13
  9. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Munich Re full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great leadership and staff that is always available for you

    Cons

    The only con was that I felt that there was no improvement

    Munich Re2019-04-01
  10. "Disappointed with my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hartford, CT

    I worked at Munich Re full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great cafeteria in building, and excellent location in Hartford. Good benefits and competitive salary. Subsidized parking. There are some really brilliant people working there.

    Cons

    Large feeling of disconnection between employees and departments. A lot of talk about working together but then when the moment is over, so is the action plan. As stated above, lots of smart people but not many worth forging a relationship with, as many will talk behind one’s back. My department had a very strong leader who insisted on a work-life balance but not all areas are like that.

    Munich Re2018-12-27
Found 225 reviews