Municipal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Municipal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Mark A. Ricca
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Able to grow within company, great benefits and awesome people to work with(in 5 reviews)

  • "He respects everybody and believes we are all morally equal, which is something MCU didn't have for many many years(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "I know the job market is rough, but believe me when I say you can do better than working at MCU(in 5 reviews)

  • "I worked in the Contact Center and will never work at another one again because of my negative experience(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Municipal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - The new President & CEO is dedicated to the members and employees of the company and to the next era of excellence. His enthusiasm and energy is engaging! - Benefits are great!!

    Cons

    Change will take time but everyone needs to embrace the positive change that is currently taking place.

    Municipal Credit Union2019-04-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Culture is changing positively"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Municipal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    The new CEO is leading the company to right direction in terms of member services, employees benefits and wellness and employee engagement. I've seen many changes in the last several months in a positive way. He respects everybody and believes we are all morally equal, which is something MCU didn't have for many many years.

    Cons

    The midlevel managers need to change their mindset otherwise the new leadership won't work

    Municipal Credit Union2019-03-25
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Teller 

    I have been working at Municipal Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible, they work around your school schedule.

    Cons

    Very busy at all times.. Easily irritated members

    Municipal Credit Union2019-03-27
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Municipal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great health benefit plan as well as a pension too.

      Cons

      Mandatory 2 weeks vacation needs to be taken

      Municipal Credit Union2019-03-23
    • "Good income and health benefits but hard work environment. No interest in learning of growing."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Helpdesk Administrator in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Municipal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good income and health benefits.

      Cons

      Managers come from within and rise by staying in the company for a long time. Sometimes unqualified.

      Advice to Management

      Develop management's interpersonal relationship ability.

      Municipal Credit Union2019-03-21
    • "They invested in my future"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CCSR in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Municipal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Tuition reimbursement program. Schedule flexibility in a reasonable manner

      Cons

      Very conservative l, Dated process

      Advice to Management

      Supportive for employees that show interest.

      Municipal Credit Union2019-02-02
    • "WAS a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Corporate in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Municipal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      If you are lucky enough to be working with people that have been with the company for over 10 years you are in good hands.

      Cons

      Used to be a great place to work but now with new CEO, things changed (but not in a good way). Yeah the new regime of people may have all the credentials and know how, but do they know a credit union? I honestly don't think so. Sad thing is they used many of the experienced people then tossed them to the curb. The new management are expected to know much and do all these changes and great things but they don't have...

      Show More
      Municipal Credit Union2019-02-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Terrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Loan Center in New York, NY

      I worked at Municipal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      None. Oh.....actually they offer pretty good health insurance.

      Cons

      Terrible employer with horrible pay but the health insurance is pretty good. MICROMANAGE EVERY ASPECT OF YOUR WORK DAY. Save yourself some headache and don't even apply here.

      Municipal Credit Union2019-02-01
    • "Member Service Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Municipal Credit Union full-time

      Pros

      No pros just that they close early.

      Cons

      No room for growth. There is too much nepotism going in the company. Upper management and branch managers do not look to promote from within. Severly understaffed. Member service reps are overworked and stressed out on a daily basis, and its clear as day that corporate does not care about their employees. MCU needs to revamp their whole system and management staff.

      Municipal Credit Union2018-10-10
    • "Teller"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Municipal Credit Union full-time

      Pros

      Great opportunities for upward mobility.

      Cons

      Poor management in select branch locations.

      Municipal Credit Union2018-05-29
    Found 52 reviews