Municipality of Anchorage Reviews | Glassdoor

Municipality of Anchorage Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Mark Begich
10 Ratings
  1. "Great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back. As long as your work gets done doesn't seem to be a lot of pressure

    Cons

    Winter months can be very slow.

    Advice to Management

    Some are great. Others are horrendous. There doesn't seem to be a lot of consistency in the management across the board, but i'm happy with who i'm under.

    Municipality of Anchorage2018-08-08
  2. "Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    stable job; decent salary; reasonable benefits; some flexible scheduling possible

    Cons

    Management has no accountability and promotes their pets; discriminatory (if you're female) and abusive behaviors are common; "the beatings will continue until morale improves"

    Advice to Management

    Professionalism, respect and integrity aren't difficult - find the moral courage to walk the walk if you're going to talk the talk.

    Municipality of Anchorage2018-04-28
  3. "MOA Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Officer in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, consistent hours, mentor opportunities, good benefits, retirement, continuing education opportunity, great place to work, there are many 20+ employees.

    Cons

    Sometimes equipment or software is not updated in a timely manner, City Hall is a little outdated with employee desks from the 1970's.

    Advice to Management

    Employee equipment and software should be kept up to date.

    Municipality of Anchorage2018-01-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place for People Who Don't Care About Progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    About as stable as jobs get (hard to get fired -- see cons), and almost all the people there are friendly. Some are smart *and* friendly. You work 40 hours a week. Period.

    Cons

    Hard to get fired, so people who are slow or just don't care that much stay in the mix. Forever. "That's the way we've always done it" is alive and well at MOA -- and is firmly entrenched. No remote working.

    Advice to Management

    Stop saying "No!" to new ideas. Take a chance.

    Municipality of Anchorage2018-01-10
  5. "Anchorage Police Department Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top caliber agency with high standards of selection & employment. Much is expected even of regular patrol officers. Street cops here work crime scenes & cases like detectives do in bigger agencies. They also learn advanced tactics well beyond active shooter right in the academy. They are rifle trained & qualified, etc. Average OIS hit ratio is over 90+%. You gotta be good to work at this agency. If you're a slacker, it...

    Show More

    Cons

    Good size agency, but there are only two major divisions for sworn: Patrol & Detectives, so there is a general lack of diversity in career paths. We have EOD/ SWAT; while not full-time, we stay fairly busy for a city our size. Crime rates higher than you would expect. Short staffed all-around even if "full-manning" numbers were met. Population/crime has grown, city politics/hiring has not kept up. Patrol operates at a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    On a great course currently- continue improving by doing more to identify employee strengths and manage appropriately to capitalize on the talent.

    Municipality of Anchorage2017-12-13
  6. "Great benefits and co-worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are great. Not a lot of opportunity to move up, but great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Location of ML&P is in an area that is run down and not safe. The company headquarters should be moved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward. Doing a great job bring the utility into the next generation

    Municipality of Anchorage2017-12-09
  7. "Working for MOA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits! Retirement, medical, savings, disability.

    Cons

    Government Bureaucracy - you need permission to do anything which stifles creativity - don’t think just do ;-)

    Advice to Management

    Ask employees opinions and actually listen.

    Municipality of Anchorage2017-11-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on the department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Municipality of Anchorage full-time

    Pros

    You can stay forever if you pass probation. Decent benefits Nice coworkers

    Cons

    No accountability. People who needed to be fire long ago still work there high-school level of drama

    Advice to Management

    Clean house.

    Municipality of Anchorage2017-08-14
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Municipality of Anchorage

    Pros

    I love the people - qualified, enthusiastic, energetic - and the work - varied, challenging, engaging.

    Cons

    Working for government can bring conflict with lengthy processes.

    Municipality of Anchorage2017-05-24
  10. "DBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Database Administrator in Anchorage, AK
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Municipality of Anchorage full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      MOA has great people to work with.

      Cons

      MOA has an outdated infrastructure

      Advice to Management

      spend money on IT

      Municipality of Anchorage2016-11-24
    Found 25 reviews