Murad Reviews | Glassdoor

Murad Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Murad CEO Michelle Shigemasa
Michelle Shigemasa
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Don't get it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Murad for just about 2 years and love the company and culture. Company wellness days, Summer Fridays and other benefits I've never had at other big companies. At Murad, I feel like I have a voice and contribute. I can actually make an impact. I'm based in HQ, so I do have more access to leadership and have almost daily interactions. CEO is accessible, transparent and seems real. Love Doctor... Murad who is at HQ almost daily!

    Show More

    Cons

    Company is still in transition. A bit of a tug between old ways and new ways. New structures and new expectation vs. the 20 year run family business. Some people are too worried about change or politics. Wish everyone could just focus on their own job and responsibility to make everyone's life easier. Lots of soft benefits but things like 401k could be better vs. large organizations.

    Murad2019-08-18
  2. Helpful (5)

    "The Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Murad full-time

    Pros

    Located in a nice industrial park... if you don't mind traveling to the middle of nowhere.

    Cons

    Ever wonder what it would be like to work in a toxic environment where everyone is miserable, plays the blame game, loses important documents, and has 5 hours of meetings per day to talk about work instead of actually doing work? Than Murad is the place for you! Complete chaos everyday. The entire staff has either been let go, or currently quitting in droves. Half the "staff" at Murad is temp. Oh, and if you like... taking lunches/breaks/spending time with family/ life? You can forget it. Avoid at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too far gone.

    Murad2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Murad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Product at a great discount

    Cons

    The new management and CEO

    Advice to Management

    learn your audience..

    Murad2019-07-17
  4. Helpful (7)

    "CEO doesn't have a clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Murad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dr. Murad is the only reason there are any stars.

    Cons

    CEO only cares about her inner circle. She does not interact with with the field team or the rest of us in the office. She's unapproachable and not open to ideas unless it's her former employees.

    Advice to Management

    Get some outside help with leadership educate. It all starts at the head.

    Murad2019-04-27
  5. Helpful (18)

    "I wish things could have been different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Murad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1 star for the products and 1 star for Dr. Murad, who is a wonderful human being. Many employees who have been there a long time are amazing... sadly most are running for the door. Efficacious products, amazing discounts, lots of gratis.

    Cons

    Zero stars for the current company and how it is run. Very little to no communication to the field team about direction or vision. Field employees are constantly undervalued and ignored from HQ. Be prepared to write 10 emails, about the same topic, before you receive a response. Under qualified middle management who belittle, talk down and micromanage you. HUGE turn over for corporate and executive positions.... People have been fleeing for competitors for the past year. CRAZY unrealistic sales goals.... when NOT A SINGLE PERSON is bonusing, something isn't right. EXTREMELY redundant systems in place. You spend half your time doing busy work, that never gets looked at, and fixing other people's mistakes or following up on emails that HQ never responds to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Scrap the majority of your executive and management team. Hire LEADERS not place holders. Promote from within. Make realistic sales goals. Incentivize people well. Practice what you preach about stress and work/ life balance.

    Murad2019-03-18
  6. Helpful (7)

    "The Nationally Fired us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Murad

    Pros

    the Dr and all his wisdom and the products are decent

    Cons

    A horrible reginal team, lies and us very unssuportive. They terminated our positions just to save a buck, I hope the absolute worse for the brand

    Advice to Management

    Muraf lost its edge, its not the same, bring Jane back.

    Murad2019-04-17
  7. Helpful (10)

    "A BIG JOKE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    National Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Murad for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great products. Dr. Murad is a gem

    Cons

    Horrible managment team. Very innapropriate behavior from the regional field team that is constantly overlooked. They enjoy building people up and letting them down harsh

    Advice to Management

    pay attention to your employees. Try not to sweep unethical behavior under the rug

    Murad2019-04-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great products and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aesthetic Educator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Murad full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous gratis, flexibility and great training

    Cons

    low salary, but small territory

    Murad2019-02-14
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Too Chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dr. Murad is a very nice person.

    Cons

    They are restructuring but the restructure has met with disastrous results. It's now very disorganized with a lack of true bona fide upper Executive team. Supporting staff are doing tasks that should be handled by Management Team. Compared to other jobs, pay is low; there are no raises, well about 1%. Good employees aren't promoted or given proper wages for the amount of heavy workload imposed by the... Executives.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More organization is needed. Too many unrealistic deadlines and heavy workloads. At least pay the employees well that are undertaking a considerable amount of duties.

    Murad2019-02-27
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Horrible CEO & Executive Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Murad full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dr. Murad is the main reason why anyone would want to work or remain to work at Murad. He is the founder, visionary and most generous authentic person.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, poor senior leadership from CEO to CFO. They do not treat their employees like they are the most important asset which they did prior to the new leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Remove the toxic senior leadership team.

    Murad2018-12-17
Found 102 reviews