Murphy-Hoffman Reviews | Glassdoor

Murphy-Hoffman Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Timothy R. Murphy
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "They also have good benefits there(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "MHC Kenworth has been good to me(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murphy-Hoffman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Great pay -Good benefits -Decent environment.

    Cons

    None that come to mind. MHC Kenworth has been good to me. You know what job you are signing up for and if you can’t hack it, then don’t bother.

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-05-10
  2. "Good Company with Lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Service Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Murphy-Hoffman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, never boring. Lots of opportunities for upward movement in the company

    Cons

    Work load can be a bit much

    Murphy-Hoffman2019-01-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Future employees beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Murphy-Hoffman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company does offer great benefits, pto,insurance,401k.

    Cons

    Over worked with no breaks, must work holidays,management talks down to employees, only wants employees below a certain age, i worked there 7 years and had 5 managers with appox4 or 5 months without a manager between managers

    Advice to Management

    Teach middle management how to treat employees

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-08-26
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Truck Sales 

    I worked at Murphy-Hoffman for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work

    Cons

    Hard on you, a lot of pressure

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-08-12
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murphy-Hoffman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They actually care about you and treat you like an adult. They aren't overbearing on all the rules and regulations, so long as that you don't abuse their generosity.

    Cons

    Smaller company, can be hard to move up.

    Advice to Management

    None at this time.

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-06-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dehumanizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Control in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Murphy-Hoffman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some decent benefits and flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Unreasonable expectations, no training, cronyism, hostile environment and a complete lack of accountability to name a few. The lack of involvement from HR and management causes losses in productivity and poor moral.

    Advice to Management

    Treat ALL of your employees right and they will do the same for the customers that allow you to exist.

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-06-21
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Murphy-Hoffman full-time

    Pros

    Great pay Great benefits Opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Work load can be very heavy at times

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-03-25
  8. "Maybe have one good day a week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Murphy-Hoffman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees work together as a team to help each other. Pay is decent. Paid time off if you have been there long enough.

    Cons

    Hostile environment with management if you make a mistake but if they error it's ok. Quick to make you feel like a loser and never acknowledge the good.

    Advice to Management

    Require managers to attend anger management classes.

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-03-21
  9. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murphy-Hoffman

    Pros

    Culture, Pay, Advancement, and the people

    Cons

    Working with uneducated people, and unmotivated

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-02-17
  10. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Locomotive Electrician in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murphy-Hoffman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Mhc Has good Job security

    Cons

    A lot of the employees have Negative attudes

    Advice to Management

    More certification training opportunitys

    Murphy-Hoffman2018-01-28

    Murphy-Hoffman Response

    March 19, 2018Regional Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your review! I am glad that you feel like you have great job security here at MHC. Please let your Manager or your Talent Acquisition Manager know about the trainings you are interested in and we can help you gather more information. MHC does reimburse tuition/certifications ...

    Show More
Found 53 reviews