Murphy and Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Murphy and Associates Reviews

Updated February 2, 2017
17 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Erik Murphy
9 Ratings

17 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Best consultant placing company on Eastside"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Kirkland, WA
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murphy and Associates (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Incredible staff. Experienced in the placement business and always seeking ways to make our group of consultants feel like a family. LOVE working for Murphy.

    Best billable to in-your-pocket hourly rate scheme I've ever seen with a placement company. I work as a vendor at Microsoft through Murphy & Associates and Murphy takes the same (LOW) percentage of my overall billed rate regardless of whether my rate goes up or down - so I can always count on what my paychecks will be and that they are being totally upfront with how much I am getting billed out at. The most money possible comes to my pocket. No surprises!

    Cons

    No benefits package other than getting to take advantage of the group medical rate. You pay premiums, however. They do have a 401K plan you can take advantage of but no matching or perks there either.

    Although - with excellent compensation - I see this as more of an expectation than a con and don't mind arranging my own benefits.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are great! I appreciate the monthly check in but that you also understand that if it isn't necessary, we're good to go. You guys have struck a great balance between being involved and letting us be that makes me feel appreciated, secure, and valued.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    May 5, 2016 – President

    Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased that working with us have been such a great experience for you. There is always a tension between providing benefits versus compensation. As ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Open company, no contract"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Murphy and Associates (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Open and honest, they show all rates and what your cut will be. They have no contract, you stay because you want to.

    Cons

    They are a consultant based company, there are no cons. If you are looking for a decent income look here.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – President

    It's great to hear that your 3+ years working for our company left such a positive impression. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Consultant in Gig Harbor, WA
    Current Employee - Consultant in Gig Harbor, WA

    I have been working at Murphy and Associates (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good support, great transparency with contract bill rate vs. pay rate

    Cons

    Every contract I have been on I have brought into the company; they do not seem to have a good pipeline of upcoming opportunities

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – President

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the high marks - we greatly appreciate it! Many of our employees do bring contracts our way and we are thankful for their loyalty, as well ... More


  4. "Great consulting company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They take very little off of the top for doing all of the HR work for you and are completely transparent about where the money goes.

    Cons

    I can't think of one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Aug 5, 2015 – President

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that your experience with Murphy & Associates has been so positive and greatly appreciate you taking the time to post a review.


  5. "Program Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Murphy and Associates (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I loved my time with M&A. Truly a family feel even though I was rarely if ever at the home office. Truly felt as though I was a part of the Murphy Family. They highly value their employees. Compensation was great. As others said the transparency was very nice. Straightforward and easy to understand. Comp model was presented to me upon my first meeting with them in 2009.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Jan 12, 2016 – President

    Thank you for your taking the time to provide a review and for the positive feedback. It's very much appreciated.


  6. "Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Manager in Redmond, WA
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Murphy and Associates (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, very transparent compensation model, big share for employee

    Cons

    Few benefits, you are on you own if you contract expires

    Advice to Management

    Promote opportunities between consultants to leverage network

    Murphy and Associates Response

    May 29, 2015 – President

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review - it is appreciated. Perhaps we have not communicated our benefits offering well enough. We offer health insurance through a group plan, a 401(k ... More


  7. "Murphy and Associates has your best interest at heart."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Redmond, WA
    Current Employee - Consultant in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They work hard to help you find a role that's a good fit with your skills and interest, they negotiate the best rate they can for you (and give way more back to you in your pay rate than most firms), and once you're on assignment, they regularly check-in to see how things are going and address any concerns (including helping you find your next opportunity).

    Cons

    I don't have any cons - I am very happy with Murphy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! It's nice to hear from your Engagement manager, but it's unusual to have other recruiters/engagement managers, and even the president of the company, reach out to check in and see how things are going. It really makes you feel more like you're part of the company, which is not easy as a consultant.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Mar 11, 2015 – President

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review - and for the kind words. It's great to hear that your experience with Murphy & Associates has been so positive and we appreciate your partnership. ... More

  8. "Great company, very transparent, fair share"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - BI Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murphy and Associates full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Murphy and Associates takes 15% of your billed rate. And I a consultant I know exactly how much is the billed rate my company is charging to the client. Not only that, but Murphy and Associates does not require that you sing for a non-compete agreement. They are very simple, straight forward, transparent and have great management.

    Cons

    If your gig is over, they do not do that much to help you out to find a new gig. You are on your own.

    Advice to Management

    It would be great to have a schema that allows Murphy And Associates employees to leverage their connections with clients to increase the opportunities for new jobs.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Mar 11, 2015 – President

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear that you are happy with our overall approach. We are committed to working with our employees to help them find their next ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good support and excellent percentage of bill rate passed to consultants."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solution Manager in Redmond, WA
    Current Employee - Senior Solution Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Murphy and Associates full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good support and excellent percentage of bill rate passed to consultants.

    Cons

    A better place to be for consultants and those with a lot of experience. Those with less experience may not be able to be placed very easily.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Mar 11, 2015 – President

    Thank you for posting a review - we value your input.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Murphy and Associates full-time

    Pros

    This is a very transparent company to work for.

    Cons

    The benefits may not me comprable to other similar organizations.

    Murphy and Associates Response

    Feb 8, 2017 – President

    Thank you for your feedback. Transparency is at the foundation of our business model, so we are really happy that you appreciate it. We hope to partner with you again in the future.


Showing 17 of 31 reviews
Reset Filters