Muscular Dystrophy Association "summer camp" Reviews | Glassdoor

Muscular Dystrophy Association Employee Reviews about "summer camp"

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
37%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Muscular Dystrophy Association CEO Lynn O’Connor Vos
Lynn O’Connor Vos
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "The families and sponsors are amazing(in 36 reviews)

  • "The mission, families, Summer Camp and work life balance(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "summer camp"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "All About the Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Care Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very mission driven and current focus on getting to know our families on a more personal level will do wonders for both the families who rely on us and the company itself. The Summer Camp program provides such an amazing opportunity for kids with MD to meet other's going through what they're going through and have an incredible week of self growth and learning independence.

    Cons

    Sometimes staff in the local offices can have wildly different views on programs and can be more focused on transactions rather than mission.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2017-08-28
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Some pros, many cons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The families you meet are amazing, and keep you going. - Summer Camp is THE best program MDA has for our families. - MDA seems to be making improvements as far as pay, but still vastly underpaid. -PTO is generous, holiday breaks, summer hours, birthday time off. - Firefighter partnership is phenomenal.

    Cons

    - No appreciation shown for long term employees ( not even a certificate for 5+ years of service) - Health Insurance is terrible now, $5k High deductible, that the majority of employees could not afford with the pay they give us. - Lack of DIVERSITY, MDA use to be a very diverse organization but within the last 4 years, it seems all those POC have been fired/replaced etc, and the majority of promotions continue to be given to white individuals., even when its clear they are unqualified for position. Went from a Region who had a nice diverse office, to being the only person of color in many many meetings. - Lack of services to families- we use to be a wonderful organization and leading the charge for care for families with MDA, but now that is sadly not the truth, CureSMA, Parent Project, etc are doing much more for our families, making it difficult to fundraise, when we are not offering anything to families. - Lack of career development/career opportunities. - Too many reports/webex/skype meetings- taking time away from getting work done.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2019-07-22

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    August 2, 2019People Business Partner

    Thank you for your transparent feedback on your time with MDA. We agree supporting and getting to know the families we serve is one of the most fulfilling parts of the job! We care very deeply for our employees and MDA families. It is our No. 1 priority to offer top-notch care and support services possible and will continue to look at ways we can improve our programs.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "DBD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of time off, get to attend summer camp.

    Cons

    Corporate structure is lacking. Wrong people in wrong positions.

    Muscular Dystrophy Association2019-01-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great mission, chaotic management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MDA is a great mission-driven organization. I loved interfacing with patients, families, providers, and volunteers. Working at summer camps were the highlight. If you love children, organizing and running the summer camp was definitely one of the most rewarding parts of the job.

    Cons

    I came in at a time where there were a lot of local and national changes to the organization and management structure, which made everything chaotic, stressful and confusing. A lot of layoffs, firings, and big staff changes. There was very little training, which is important to the healthcare role as it is so forward-facing. Little was explained or advised with speaking with families with difficult health needs. Departments were very siloed, when there could have been a lot of benefit mixing expertise between fundraising and healthcare staff. There is very little room for advancement and no room for doing anything out of the box, especially if you are someone bringing a bit more ambition to the role.

    Muscular Dystrophy Association2019-01-18

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    April 16, 2019People Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with MDA. We appreciate hearing about your time with us. We agree that the mission allows for very engaging work and is one of the main positives to working with MDA! We are sorry to see feedback regarding the training and communication you received, as this is not the standard we wish to set at MDA. Training and communication are crucial to our success, and many additional efforts have been made across the board to ensure a more cohesive working environment. Thank you for the time you spent at MDA, and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time

    Pros

    Working with the families and summer camp

    Cons

    Disorganized, Keeps cutting services for the families, lay offs, short staffed with no plans to hire more staff

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2018-08-09
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Do No EVEN TAKE A FIRST LOOK RUN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time

    Pros

    Summer Camp every year is the best time of the year. The people I have worked with over the years and the benefits

    Cons

    Rating is zero they only care about the money, not the cause. Not paid well if in field use the excuse that there is no money repeatedly, but they would be cutting services to families and closing offices at same time. Have people come in and make the same amount you do and that took you YEARS to get to. They restructure and rebrand every so many years and decide this time it's best to get rid of the people that have been here 10 or more years

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2018-02-16
  7. "Best position in a long time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission, families, Summer Camp and work life balance. We also get half day Fridays in the Summer and long two week holiday time at Christmas which is all paid.

    Cons

    The work is mission driven but some staff are out for themselves and will quit during the busiest time, not caring about the impact to their team or families we are helping.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2017-07-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good cause but can be stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association part-time

    Pros

    Good cause to help families and sending kids to summer camp for a week.

    Cons

    Uncomfortable chairs to 4 hours straight. Management constantly pushing you to get more 'jailbirds" for their lock up event. Even if they turn you down you must ask for a referral to then call another business. You can make many calls and get turned down. They also expect you to get past gatekeepers (receptionist) to speak to upper management often it doesn't happen. They don't like you to leave messages on voicemail but majority of the day that is all that you get. People will say let me think about it call them back just to get a no. I wish I would have read reviews on this place first.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2017-01-13
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The families are AMAZING! Summer camp is the best week of the year for clients 6-17 years of age. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Where do I start... The organization has undergone so many changes they have lost sight of what really matters....THE FAMILIES. The reorganization of the health care services is a joke. Services for families are being cut left and right. Fundraising suffers because what family wants to help MDA when they don't receive any help what so ever. Fundraisers have to stretch the truth to sponsors in order for them to be engaged and keep them around. Positions in the field keep getting cut yet more and more National positions are being created. MDA does not care about their employees what so ever...they want robots who just do what they are told and if you question anything you are labeled a trouble maker and push you to leave. HR IS EXTREMELY BIASED and are not helpful...always seem annoyed when you ask for help. MDA has been hem-ridging good loyal employees for the past 3 years. Don't waste your time...your hard work won't make a difference.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2016-12-03
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great mission..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in Taylorsville, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer 1/2 days on Fridays during the summer and completely close everything between Christmas and New Year. Fun fundraising events that all staff get to attend. Lots of free t-shirts. There's a shirt for every event. You get to know some of the best people working with MDA families and you get to spend a week at summer camp. 79% of money raised goes towards the mission. It's a great place to work for a short time.

    Cons

    So much employee turnover due in part to poor work/life balance. The national office controls everything and micromanages events from 1 central location without taking into consideration local markets. And local offices can't hold any event without approval from them. National office sets unreasonable fundraising goals for offices without giving them the tools to reach those goals. They expect you to pay for travel expenses out of your own pocket and then wait 4-5 weeks to be reimbursed which is sometimes several hundred dollars.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2016-09-24
Found 26 reviews