Muscular Dystrophy Association "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Muscular Dystrophy Association Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
37%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Muscular Dystrophy Association CEO Lynn O’Connor Vos
Lynn O’Connor Vos
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "The families and sponsors are amazing(in 36 reviews)

  • "The mission, families, Summer Camp and work life balance(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association

    Pros

    Helping people with muscular dystrophy is extremely rewarding. The clients and sponsors are amazing and so are a lot of my coworkers. Most of the diseases covered by MDA are extremely rare, and the effects are heartbreaking. Knowing that the phone calls I answer and the paperwork I push around all day will help provide necessary services to support to our clients, and someday develop a cure, makes the whole thing worth it. Depending on your supervisor, your schedule can be very flexible. There is plenty of time off, and the benefits are good. MDA provides a professional environment. I feel appreciated by my immediate supervisor, and that I am an important part of the team. Everyone works well together. This could very well not be true elsewhere, but it has been my experience for just under a year. I have read pretty much all of the other reviews, and it's fair to say that there are some reasonable and legitimate complaints, but you can also tell that this job is just not for everyone. Overall, I like working for MDA, and will only leave to make more money. I really like going to all the different events. It's a cool experience. Great training program and resources.

    Cons

    I hate that there is so much to say here, but these are my honest observations. MDA has all the same issues that any other large national company has; upper management seems disconnected with the people on the ground level doing the grunt work. This is not terribly concerning, because there are so many other companies that are significantly worse by comparison. The pay is about 75% what the for profit sector would pay for the same position, so it is not entirely ideal if it is your only income. The fundraising position in particular is extremely difficult and demanding, which leads to high turnover. It's just not for everyone, and it is very hard to find someone who is willing to do it for a long period of time;people get burnt out quickly. Constantly training new people is annoying and erodes efficiency. There have been quite a few drastic changes in the last few years, and they show no signs of stopping. This can be difficult for any organization; also contributes to the high turn over. If you are an administrative assistant, there is essentially zero upward mobility; so if you want to move up or make more money, there is an expiration date to how long you will be here. Fundraisers can move up and so on, but it is slightly more difficult than in the fpr profit sector. Raises are few and far between, especially for staff that is not generating income. Although we do have great training available, management sometimes fails to step in and help before a failure occurs, and then places blame without digging deep to find out why the failure happened in the first place. Overall, all of these things are mildly irritating, but none of it bothers me all that much. Knowing what I know now, I still enjoy working here and will only leave for a better paying job.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2016-10-15

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    January 5, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for your review. We do read these, and take them very seriously. I do think you raised some valid concerns and do appreciate the feedback. It's true that we face struggles as a large national organization, with many offices across the country. We are continuously trying to find ways to improve communication, increase retention, and fill openings faster with qualified applicants who align with our culture and mission. I'm glad that you are still enjoying working at MDA as it does have its benefits! Our mission and the people we serve are what bind us all together as employees of MDA, and should always be in the forefront of what we do each day. Please know that we are working on many of the items you shared but things do take a good amount of time to get off the ground and implemented (unfortunately). Please continue to stay patient as we work on improvements. I do encourage you to come to me with any recommendations! Again, thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Loss of vision and chaotic work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission of helping families and raising money for research dollars

    Cons

    Chaotic work environment extremely high turnover rate. MDA has struggled since the end of the telethon to find ways to close the gap in revenue. Field offices have been closed and when employees quit, hiring freezes were put into place to save money. This resulted in a shrinking fundraising staff struggling to meet budget requirements with fewer resources. As ED I filled in the roles of multiple fundraisers who were no longer part of the team. Division management was abusive and HR turned a blind eye even with multiple complaints. Upper management is tone deaf to the needs of those in the field expecting more but providing little support other than more conference calls. Multiple conference calls a week/day pulled time away from other job duties. It was a lose/lose from the outset. Dysfunction in leadership is not addressed and this was a highly toxic work environment. In a couple years the entire staff has turned over. Highly NOT recommended.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2019-10-09

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    November 13, 2019People Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your time with MDA. We agree that we have many good and talented people here at the organization, all of whom are devoted to our incredible mission. However, we are saddened to hear there weren’t more positives during your time with the organization. In regard to your comment about abusive behavior from management, MDA strives to provide an environment where employees feel they’re valued, treated fairly and respected. We can assure you that our Human Resources team takes reports of abuse and harassment very seriously and do not tolerate that kind of behavior at any level of the organization. If an issue has been reported, it is HR policy to respond promptly and provide the best possible solutions. Yes, MDA has seen many changes over the past few years. But as with all organizations, change is necessary for growth and progress. Our goal is to be more strategic, centralized, accountable and collaborative by building on a culture of gratitude, inclusion, innovation and high performance. We are encouraged by the recent advancements in research and clinical care in the neuromuscular disease space, and believe we have the right team in place to best serve our families and mission.

    Continue reading
  3. "Administrative Assistant Full Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Bernardino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping families obtain services they need

    Cons

    Not organized headquarters or upper management

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2019-02-14

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    April 16, 2019People Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at MDA. We agree that helping families obtain the services and care they need to live stronger, more independent lives is one of the many pros of working here! Although you didn’t share much in the “Cons” section, we’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at culture@mdausa.org. We wish you well in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various Positions 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interaction with the families they serve - you get to know who you are helping Lots of programs, so it is never dull - changing work environment Interaction with the local team (can be) fantastic

    Cons

    Over the past year or so, it became obvious that upper management did not care about the employees and morale dropped significantly across the country They quickly and rashly have been cutting or changing programs, making it hard to hit goals Upper management does not seem to care about the families as much anymore Expectations were often unrealistic - "You missed goal last year, let's increase it by 10% this year!"

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2019-01-24

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    April 16, 2019People Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with MDA. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoyed supporting our families and various programs we offer. Our organization strives to provide an environment where employees feel they’re valued, treated fairly and respected. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t feel supported by management and the resources we have available. We are always working to improve our culture, resources and expectations.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Care & Clinical Services Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time

    Pros

    Positive environment/culture, fun and engaging work

    Cons

    Overworked, work-life balance, poor upper management communication

    Muscular Dystrophy Association2018-10-03

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    November 28, 2018People Business Partner

    Thank you for your review. We agree the mission allows for very engaging work and is one of the main positives to working with MDA! We are sorry to hear about your poor work-life balance as this is not the standard we wish to set as MDA encourages flexible work arrangements, has generous PTO, sick and holiday time and even pays for employees to be off on their birthdays and work anniversary! So we can help address this promptly, please email us at culture@mdausa.org or reach out to your local People Business Partner.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time

    Pros

    Working with families and medical professionals. Generous time off.

    Cons

    Lack of clear communication with upper management, conflicting directions, double speak, no ability to make decisions without being second guessed- micromanagement at an extreme level. No job security and frequent personnel cuts. No regard for staff challenges at local level. Leadership out of touch, ambivalent towards family needs. Weakening family services. Toxic environment among staff and between local staff and national management. Staff pressured to write positive reviews to offset negative ones

    Muscular Dystrophy Association2018-10-11

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    November 28, 2018People Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with MDA. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoyed the benefits, like our generous PTO and the ability to work closely with our families! When decisions are made by leadership many factors come into play. One of them is the way it will impact all of our employees. We often have to make long-term business decisions that could have implications in the short-term. As with many organizations including non-profits, changes are necessary for growth and progress. We are proud of the many achievements made through our dedication to research and our employees’ dedication to improving the lives of those we serve. Thank you for the time you spent at MDA and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great benefits, generous with holidays and vacation days -Love the mission and working with the families

    Cons

    Terrible upper management, lots of restructuring and closing of offices. This is NOT a good time to be with MDA. MDA in the past has always set themselves apart from other non-profit organizations in the way that they provide local services to families with a neuromuscular disease. I predict that in the the near future we'll only offer research and do a big walk every year. MDA doesn't have the national partnerships like they used to and the new CEO has decided to discontinue several large fundraising programs that some areas excelled in doing. There is no support for the "boots on the ground" and a disconnect between the health care team and the fundraising team.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2018-09-04

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    October 19, 2018People Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy the benefits like our generous PTO and the joy of working with our families! We care very deeply for our employees and are saddened to hear your outlook on the future of MDA which is not the outlook shared by leadership. We encourage you to provide further feedback by emailing me at culture@mdausa.org or reaching out to your local People Business Partner for assistance. Thank you for being a valuable member of the MDA Team!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Sinking Ship - Zero Longevity at This Point - Don't Walk, Run Away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Was a company with longevity. Great PTO and benefits package, and of course the mission.

    Cons

    5 years ago, restructure, layoffs, office closures, and new CEO, now 5 years later, new CEO, and doing it all over again. Pretty soon they'll be no one there left. I was with MDA for many years. During that time I never got a pay increase. I was always told there was "no money". I stayed loyal to MDA, in spite of the fact that technically I was getting a paycut every year thanks to the cost of living increases. Watching upper management bring in all this new senior talent for serious bank is disheartening to those of us that have been working our butts off to support this mission.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2018-02-05

    Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

    February 5, 2018HR

    Thank you for the incredible 8 years you have shared with MDA, we cannot thank you enough for helping to further our mission and serve our families during that time! We agree, we have a great mission, PTO and benefits package as well as Summer Hours and Holiday time! As with every organization, restructure can be a difficult decision and not one to be taken lightly. This is an important moment in MDA’s history. With recent advancements in research and clinical care for neuromuscular diseases it is vital that MDA be structured appropriately to meet the needs of today’s families, Care Center teams, researchers, partners and supporters. We appreciate all of our staff who have helped us get to where we are today, thank you again and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Senior Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Our mission and families. Wonderful skilled fundraising staff and many ways we all can make an impact.

    Cons

    Inconsistent and poor culture, fundraising staff are micromanaged. Poor upper management practices. Our greatest asset is our employees and staff is overworked, underpaid, not considered.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2017-11-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A lot of room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Muscular Dystrophy Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO is generous and relatively flexible.

    Cons

    No room for advancement, limited diversity, unavailable and lack of knowledge from upper management. Unable to perform job duties due to lack of resources, outdated software. Lack of integrity-told to lie in order to solicit donations.

    Continue reading
    Muscular Dystrophy Association2017-08-28
Found 42 reviews