Museum Of Contemporary Art Reviews | Glassdoor

Museum Of Contemporary Art Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Jeffrey Deitch
2 Ratings
  1. "Interesting Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gallery Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Museum Of Contemporary Art full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Museum was small, however, exhibitions were frequent and always interesting. After hours events were a pleasure to work also.

    Cons

    I have no negative comments.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2019-04-20
  2. "MOCA part time sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Museum Of Contemporary Art part-time

    Pros

    Discounts and free admission into the museum

    Cons

    You do not receive commission

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2018-08-24
  3. "Not the Dream Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Museum Of Contemporary Art full-time

    Pros

    It's a cool place to work from the outside-in. The pros are the artwork, the space, the location, and the great programming that the museum does. Unique and not like other arts orgs or museums you will ever work in.

    Cons

    The staff used to be great, but leadership changes have given rise to a very toxic environment. Organizational priorities will need to shift.

    Advice to Management

    Mentorship needs to be given from the top down.

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2018-02-27
  4. "sad tired building and poor leadership under vergne"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Museum Of Contemporary Art full-time

    Pros

    nice longtime emoyees amazing collection of art

    Cons

    mean people in curatorial and poor leadership cocky pr people

    Advice to Management

    get a grip and do something for the community

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2018-02-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not all it's cracked up to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Museum Of Contemporary Art part-time

    Pros

    - Supervisors really take the time to teach you about the art, and give you readings about artists on display. - There's a really great sense of community with the Gallery Attendants. All my coworkers are the nicest and smartest people I know. A really great group of people, I think the quickest I've ever made friends at a job.

    Cons

    - Pay is exorbitant for the work you do for MOCA. Honestly, it should be a crime to pay so little per hour for how hard you work. - Off of that, you're on your feet the entire day in this position. The hours aren't so bad except if this is your only job, and you're working 30+ hours, all other hours you spend off the job you'll be recuperating from the physical toll of walking but mostly standing for days literally....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay everyone $15.00 per hour.

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2017-07-31
  6. "O"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Museum Of Contemporary Art for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In my department we were like a small family. We all got along extremely well. I still keep in touch. We also had the opportunity to attend just about any event.

    Cons

    I can't think of any. I really enjoyed my stay there. I would go back if I was not committed to my current job.

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2017-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Manager in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Museum Of Contemporary Art for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lovely people, creative environment, lots of networking in the arts sphere, lots of events to attend and galleries to connect with. I enjoyed my time working at the Museum

    Cons

    Pay Grade lower than national average Difficult to get time off Commute was long, parking often difficult Location of museum is not convenient.

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2016-08-29
  8. "I assist talented young student with their art work to make it better if their is mistake being made."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Museum Of Contemporary Art part-time

    Pros

    Well I receive community service hours for my high requirement and meet new people that has amazing talent.

    Cons

    Well working with young kids it not a easy thing where a person need to have a lot patient to do this type of job.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2014-07-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great to work on art and culture projects, no room for advancement and elitism culture rampant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Museum Of Contemporary Art

    Pros

    Access to some of the best contemporary art collections Ability to attend exhibition openings Great networking with peers passionate about art Great health benefits compared to what I've received

    Cons

    Poor senior management Elitism culture No room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Nurture your younger employees because they are the ones who want to learn and are excited about coming into work. Senior management feels corrupt and privileged.

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2012-01-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A fine place to work if you can laugh at snobbery."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Museum Of Contemporary Art

    Pros

    Interesting work and staff, helps to keep reality in proper perspective.

    Cons

    Misperception that working at a museum is "glamorous"

    Advice to Management

    Humility should be demonstrated top down.

    Museum Of Contemporary Art2010-12-06
Found 12 reviews