Museum of Chinese in America Reviews | Glassdoor

Museum of Chinese in America Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Helen Koh
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Meaningful work, great intern cohort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Museum of Chinese in America

      Pros

      I LOVED having a cohort of interns to work and hang out with, and I really valued the friendships I made with other interns over the summer. The day-to-day work is very flexible, self-driven, and fun.

      Cons

      Management not always clear with expectations, employees not always on the same page as one another

      Museum of Chinese in America2017-11-07
    • "Small community like environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Museum of Chinese in America

      Pros

      -Work place is a close knit community, with few employees -Employees there take time to mentor interns. -Supervisor takes time to actually teach the interns

      Cons

      -Very niche opportunity available at the work place.

      Museum of Chinese in America2017-10-20
    • "Summer internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Museum of Chinese in America

      Pros

      The internship program was well structured, including working time as well as several professional development sessions. Not only did I learn a lot from working in my department, I was connected to other staff members and gained a well-rounded museum work experience.

      Cons

      I didn't get an orientation from my direct supervisors. I wish that they could talk to me during the first days about what things needed to be done over the summer and what I wanted to achieve.

      Museum of Chinese in America2017-08-10
    • "Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Visitor Services Representative 

      I have been working at Museum of Chinese in America part-time

      Pros

      Good Learning Environment Great for knowledge building Good work/Life balance Great for college students

      Cons

      Limited Growth Within Limited Hours Can get a bit gloomy

      Museum of Chinese in America2016-06-08
    • "Great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Museum of Chinese in America

      Pros

      Fantastic environment. Great people. Everyone is always willing to help one another. Very chill atmosphere. Very cool museum. Great building.

      Cons

      Small so not a lot of room for growth. Understaffed so people are a bit stressed. Could be a bit "us vs. them" mentality.

      Museum of Chinese in America2015-05-22
    • "Positive energy and busy working environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Museum of Chinese in America

      Pros

      Friendly staff Opportunities to help out in various areas

      Cons

      Not so much room for intellectual growth

      Museum of Chinese in America2014-09-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "MOCA internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - External Affairs Intern in Yo

      I worked at Museum of Chinese in America for less than a year

      Pros

      Got to work with other departments, collaborative work, the people at the office are really wonderful, very even-keel and generally relaxed work atmosphere

      Cons

      There is a small stipend for full-time interns (over 40 hours a week). It is very small and not enough to support meals and transportation. Computers are outdated and very slow

      Museum of Chinese in America2016-02-18
    • Helpful (3)

      "Entrepreneurial and creative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Museum of Chinese in America

      Pros

      - small team so your input is highly valued - they value creativity and the ability to execute and deliver on projects and assignments - very supportive of career goals - beautiful space - great location between SOHO and Chinatown

      Cons

      - if you take on too many projects, the hours will fall on your shoulders, but you can always recruit a ton of volunteers since they are a non-profit museum and have a strong base of volunteers - there is a disconnect with the board of directors and the younger patrons of the museum in terms of what inspires them to be members of the museum

      Advice to Management

      - the board of directors at the museum should listen more to the existing staff and volunteers who are in the trenches - the board of directors also needs to stop focusing on the negative & uninspiring stories of members of the museum and focus on the positive stories of people that have believed in themselves and succeeded as a result - that is more inspiring

      Museum of Chinese in America2013-01-04
    Found 8 reviews