KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Music House School of Music

Engaged Employer

Music House School of Music

Add a Review

Music House School of Music Reviews

Updated May 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 16 reviews

4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to work!

    May 18, 2022 - Guitar Instructor in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The admin team is A++ and have an immense amount of resources and overall organization to keep lessons, teachers, and students excited and involved in the Music House community.

    Cons

    Teaching music to a vast array of student ages and ability levels can get complicated no matter where you teach music and Music House is no different in this case. The constant evolving is a Pro in my book but I can see where that could be jarring if typical stagnant music lessons is the environment you are coming from.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Community Assistant

    Mar 24, 2022 - Community Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun and great learning environment, understanding team

    Cons

    hours, small admin team, not much room for advancement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Solid Expectations

    Sep 17, 2021 - Voice Instructor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community, they've filled out my schedule with talented and curious students. I also like the opportunities to get involved with the community, whether they be for students or teachers. The teachers are amazingly skilled musicians and the administrative staff is extremely organized and efficient. They honor your time here.

    Cons

    Since there are always new students, programs, and events, some of it can get overwhelming with how many things you need to balance in a part time job.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A great place to teach

    Jul 29, 2021 - Guitar Teacher in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well thought out business model, regularly attracts new students, all scheduling and communication taken care of by admin staff, strong leadership vision, get to work with students in different formats (band setting, group classes, private lessons), lots of supplementary material to help students. There are always some very promising students in the band program.

    Cons

    Sound treatment between certain rooms is not ideal. The suburban communities the Music House is located in have very little culture, so many students are starting from scratch. The curriculum can be a good structure for the students but can also make things a little rigid in private lessons. Teachers have to sign a no compete agreement,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Positive atmosphere

    Sep 11, 2021 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Admin staff does a good job of filling schedules and handling all scheduling, recruiting, etc. Opportunities to work with students beyond private lessons (group classes, summer camps, student performances) Facilities are clean, fun and positive work environment. Person-to-person relationships between admin staff and teachers are positive. Company policies and internal systems, while sometimes feeling overbearing, seem to improve student retention. Company policies are structured in a way that results in an extremely consistent weekly schedule. No teaching on weekends, leaving them open for gigs/other work. The "no rescheduling lessons" policy typically results in enough paid time throughout the week to take care of any emails or other administrative work. Admin team does a good job of maintaining a positive company culture. I can genuinely say that I like going in to work each day.

    Cons

    Private instructor pay is lower than the going rate, especially when you consider the amount the student/parent pays per month. It can be extremely frustrating as an instructor to be doing a large portion of the work week-to-week to help the student develop and not see an equal portion of the amount paid to the school each month. Part of the justification can come in the form of admin staff that are helpful, nice facilities in parts of town that would be financially out of reach for a lot of independent instructors, fully equipped lesson studios, and set curriculum for most instruments that can reduce the amount of outside prep work needed for each student. This isn't a typical lessons teaching gig, where the instructor sets the rate, schedule, and is in charge of the curriculum. Depending on how you prefer to operate, the systems in place either make sense and are worth the lower pay or will drive you insane. In my experience, making full use of the admin team as a support system for me as a teacher has been worth the lower pay, as I do not have to take my work home with me and I can truly focus only on teaching. Bi-weekly staff meetings that contain information that could be in an email can feel tedious.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An amazing and Supportive place to work!

    Jan 19, 2021 - Community Assistant in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From my first day working at Music House, I felt supported and appreciated my the administrative team as well as the teachers. Music House is a place where ideas are heard and encouraged and you will always be treated with kindness and respect. On top of that, you get to work for a really meaningful cause, music!

    Cons

    In my time at Music House, I haven't found a part of the job I don't enjoy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A great place to grow as a mentor and professional

    Dec 9, 2020 - Teacher in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very invested management always looking to provide more students and opportunities for their employees. I got connected to numerous fruitful gigs through my work at Music House.

    Cons

    With managerial investment comes oversight. In comparison to other lesson spaces it may feel like they are looking over your shoulder a bit. In my experience it was well intentioned and centered around the success of the students and staff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A True Community Where The Core Values are Never Lost

    Oct 12, 2020 - Community Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Music House is a true community that is always improving and mentoring those working in the building and coming for lessons. When you're here you're a part of a team that is making a change, you really feel like every task you do makes a difference and can see it play out all the way to the top. They're accepting and reliable, Music House recognizes that we are all human.

    Cons

    Evening/Late hours Nothing outside of that!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    It's hard to imagine working anywhere else

    Feb 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working at Music House for over 7 years. I love it! It's hard to imagine working anywhere else. There are so many positive things to say about this place so I'll focus on a couple of things I really appreciate. 1) The culture. Music House is such a vibrant and positive work environment. I feel constantly stimulated by the enthusiastic drive of the people I work with. 2) The opportunities. I have had the chance to hold down several roles since I began here. I started part time and soon after was able to take on roles with more responsibilities. 3) It feels good. It's a place where you feel constant gratification for the hard work that is done everyday. Again, it's hard to imagine being anywhere else.

    Cons

    The positives far outweigh any negatives

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Job Ever

    May 7, 2020 - Teacher in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super flexible schedule, awesome management, growth opportunities, if you love teaching and helping others grow, this is the place for you. You will have a team of support and resources to help you teach at your highest potential. The administrative staff only wants their teachers to feel supported and able to lead excellent classes. This is a place where music is about fun and exploration rather than perfection or limitation. Do not pass this opportunity! You will meet a lot of amazing people!

    Cons

    I only wish there were more full-time opportunities. I did not want to leave!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with Music House School of Music Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Music House School of Music? Share Your Experiences

or

Music House School of Music Photos

+ Add Photo
Music House School of Music photo of: Building the new stage!
Music House School of Music photo of: Old "Stage" with a crowd!

Have you worked here?

See All Photos